We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food & off the Beaten track so you can relax” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taverna Buonvicino

Taverna Buonvicino
Largo S. Maria Maggiore, 1-3, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
+39 089 873 6385
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #9 of 92 restaurants in Amalfi
Price range: $35 - $76
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food & off the Beaten track so you can relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Located in a tiny, quite piazza next to a small church and with amazing food, this is a great way to spend lunch and take a break from the busy main streets of Amalfi. It's a short walk through some very thin streets as you get away from the crowds and the noise. Peaceful spot and the food is very fresh and perfectly prepared. - J&H

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    152
    72
    17
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great spot for a nice dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This was our 'let's go out for a nice dinner' choice during our 4 days in Amalfi - I happened upon it while making a wrong turn down the little alley near our hotel. I spoke to the primary waiter who was very friendly so we made a reservation for the next night. We ate outside on their quaint patio and had a mixed seafood appetizer followed by a whole grilled fish for my wife and and grilled skewers of seafood for me. Everything was delicious and the service was exceptional. Highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalfont Saint Peter, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Italian food bellisimo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We ate at a few restaurants during our stay in Amalfi and they did vary a bit. There were two restaurants that stood out while we were there and this was one of them. We had talked to one of the waiters there beforehand and he was very friendly and could tell us all about the food that was served in the restaurant. In fact we were so impressed that we decided to go there on the night of Steve's birthday which was the 6th of August. They had little lights which made it look really pretty and the waiter that we had already spoken to was very attentive. The food was delicious and you could tell it was freshly cooked. There were also some Italians eating there always a good sign. Unfussy menu, excellent service and gorgeous food. What more can you ask for. sara shipton Chalfont St Peter England

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Must go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

This is a must go for whoever wants an authentic experience, in an authentic place, with authentic food, and authentic people. I cannot say what to recommend, from the wine, to the soup appetizer, to the pasta.... And God forbid the "spigola all'aqua pasta " or the "delizia al limone" ( the best in Amalfi). Great value too. Strongly recommend you drop here, it will certainly be a highlight of your Amalfi experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salerno
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“the top!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Last Tuesday I had a great lunch in this restaurant. I was there with 3 friends. The temperature in Amalfi was 35 degrees, but fortunately we got a table outside with shadow, and the chilly wind made our lunch very enjoyable. The waitress was lovely, and we eat very good food. I was impressed in particular by the starter (mixed cold seafood) and secondo (fried mixed fish). The cake was delicious (a slice of delizia al limone). Everything was served professionally (all plates at the same time), we always got clean forks and they never put pressure on us to complete our meal. To be repeated!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna Buonvicino also viewed

 
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Taverna Buonvicino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taverna Buonvicino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.