We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the top!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taverna Buonvicino

Taverna Buonvicino
Largo S. Maria Maggiore, 1-3, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
+39 089 873 6385
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 94 restaurants in Amalfi
Price range: $34 - $74
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Salerno
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“the top!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Last Tuesday I had a great lunch in this restaurant. I was there with 3 friends. The temperature in Amalfi was 35 degrees, but fortunately we got a table outside with shadow, and the chilly wind made our lunch very enjoyable. The waitress was lovely, and we eat very good food. I was impressed in particular by the starter (mixed cold seafood) and secondo (fried mixed fish). The cake was delicious (a slice of delizia al limone). Everything was served professionally (all plates at the same time), we always got clean forks and they never put pressure on us to complete our meal. To be repeated!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    207
    104
    19
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vicenza, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Charming Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Found this little gem by losing ourselves in the little side streets of Amalfi. The atmosphere was warm and comfortable, the staff was friendly, and the food and wine were tasty!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Hidden in back alleys, a nice pause for a drink”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This place really is hard to find, we came accross it by accident and decided to pause for a drink. The young man serving us was very friendly and polite with very good English and we enjoyed talking to him.

We called mid afternoon so not a time to eat, the waiter suggested a carafe of house wine (a blend of Falanghina and something else). This was very pleasant and refreshing, sitting under an umbrella in the little square outside was a lovely change from the other busy streets in Amalfi.

When we asked for another couple of glasses we were presented with a half carafe, no charge!!

The bill was Euro 6, unbelievably cheap. We paid the young man Euro 10 and thought we had the bargain of the day.

If we visit Amalfi again we will try to find this place again, possibly for lunch next time.

If you stumble accross Buonvincino, pause at least for a drink..
Highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“A decent restaurant spoiled by indifferent service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

You find this restaurant up some stairs near the cathedral. It has a little outside terrace and a reasonably sized interior. We weren't welcomed terribly well and though the evening was coolish, the air con was on and it made the place rather draughty.

The waiter eventually came to the table and we ordered our meal. After some minutes the waiter passed our table and dumped a brown paper bag rather unceremoniously on his way down to the other end of the restaurant. My wife and I looked at each other and wondered if he'd forgotten his shopping. Anyway, it turned out to be our bread.

My wife had marinated fish which was well presented but over-lemony. Before we had barely drawn breath, the main course was served. I can't think why they did this; the kitchen wasn't very busy that evening and it would have been nice to relax for 10 or 15 minutes. I had pasta with peas, broadbeans and a mixed salad. My wife had Saltimbocca and spinach which she said was OK. Neither main course was memorable. With a bottle of water and a half litre of house wine the bill came to 55 Euros not including tip.

It's a pity that our meal was spoiled by amateurish service but I think the kitchen is capable of turning out some decent food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good enough to go back on a second night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We had stumbled across this restaurant on a wonder through the maze of little streets just a little way up from Duomo. There is also a little lane no wider than a doorway just up from Duomo on the right that leads to it. The menu appealed as it was not just a standard menu but had a bit of a twist. The waiter was very friendly, told us what his favourite dishes where and helpful with explanations of the menu. The food was wonderful with great flavours and textures. We ate at another restaurant the following night but decided to return again on the 3rd night to have the squid and potato salad again which was served warm and to try the pasta with lemon sauce that the waiter sang lyrically about. And it was excellent meal again, the lemon pasta being such a simple dish with home made pasta light cream sauce and lemon and lemon zest but it was one of those dishes which you can't stop eating. Highly recommended

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna Buonvicino also viewed

Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast

Been to Taverna Buonvicino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taverna Buonvicino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;