We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good enough to go back on a second night” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taverna Buonvicino

Taverna Buonvicino
Largo S. Maria Maggiore, 1-3, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
+39 089 873 6385
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 95 Restaurants in Amalfi
Price range: $31 - $67
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good enough to go back on a second night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We had stumbled across this restaurant on a wonder through the maze of little streets just a little way up from Duomo. There is also a little lane no wider than a doorway just up from Duomo on the right that leads to it. The menu appealed as it was not just a standard menu but had a bit of a twist. The waiter was very friendly, told us what his favourite dishes where and helpful with explanations of the menu. The food was wonderful with great flavours and textures. We ate at another restaurant the following night but decided to return again on the 3rd night to have the squid and potato salad again which was served warm and to try the pasta with lemon sauce that the waiter sang lyrically about. And it was excellent meal again, the lemon pasta being such a simple dish with home made pasta light cream sauce and lemon and lemon zest but it was one of those dishes which you can't stop eating. Highly recommended

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    249
    123
    25
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. George
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Just perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Nice location, perfect homemade cuisine, nice people, good service, good ration quality/price. You have to try it, this is a great Italian experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous seafood!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We asked a local fruit and vegetable vendor where to eat lunch and she sent us to Taverna Buonvicino, which is just off the main street in Amalfi up a few flights of stairs. When we got there on the early side, we were told they were completely booked, but then they kindly set up a table for us outside. One of the owners, Enza, was so charming that I felt she was a long lost friend. When the first courses arrived we were all thrilled with everything from the local white wine, to the kind waiter, to the beautiful setting and perfect breeze. My second course was a perfectly grilled orata, and my mother loved her fritto misto. Meanwhile, Enza continued to be attentive and friendly as the tables quickly filled up, and we decided to return for dinner the following evening. I cannot imagine what the negative reviews are about as our experience was positive from beginning to end.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Maccus changed to Taverna Buonvicino”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

Unfortunately Maccus seems to have closed and has reopened as Taverna Buonvicino, we are not sure if this is run by the same people, although they have the same phone no. We turned up to a very pleasant looking square with high hopes due to the reviews of Maccus. We arrived at 9.40 (not late by Italian standards), the service was rushed and brusque to the point of surly. The menu didn't accurately describe the food. The starter plates were removed before we've finished eating. The main course was bland, lacking flavour and not very well cooked. Overall a very disappointing experience, there are far better restaurants in town with much warmer welcomes and better food. One to avoid.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“A Little Hard to Find but Worth Looking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We ate here one evening on a whim after finding it by accident exploring the side alleys of Amalfi. They sat us under a large unbrella in the square outside the restaurant. Our waiter went out of his way to speak English with us. The food was fabulous of course. Try and find it if you can!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna Buonvicino also viewed

Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Taverna Buonvicino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taverna Buonvicino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.