We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best spaghetti carbonara ever!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Taverna di Masaniello

La Taverna di Masaniello
Vicolo Masaniello, 14 | Piazza dei Dogi, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
089871442
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 95 Restaurants in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best spaghetti carbonara ever!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

We had a great meal, best Spaghetti carbonara I've ever tasted. I enjoyed it so much we went back a few days later for another meal. Also the toilets were immaculate and the cleanest we had visited all holiday!


Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    274
    156
    38
    16
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“great value and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We found this on our last night in Amalfi and it was the best meal we had. The food was freshly prepared, nicely presented and delicious.The owner was friendly and welcoming and willing to accomodate the diners inside or outside by moving tables rearranging chairs etc. The only thing is be careful if you are sitting outside on the sloping street area as the man sitting beside us fell off his chair. Yes we would recommend this restaurant and will return if we are ever back in Amalfi.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boothbay, Maine
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Small, quiet...perfect!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

We were looking for a restaurant away from the busy, touristy area in Amalfi and had read TA reviews on La Taverna. We were so happy to find it and enjoy a lovely, quiet lunch. The food, service, and atmosphere were all commendable! Thank you La Taverna and thank you to TA reviewers!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service - real Italian cooking.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We ate here three times the food was so tasty. This is not a high end place but the food is great and they actually cook it Italian style.
Pizzas and Pastas are great - salads I am less enthusiastic about - but the entire Amalfi Coast needs to re-think how they prepare and serve their salads.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Best Pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

This little restaurant is just off the main piazza and so a little more quiet. They serve the best pizza in Amalfi

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Taverna di Masaniello also viewed

Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to La Taverna di Masaniello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Taverna di Masaniello, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.