We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude waiters and below average food” 1 of 5 stars
Review of La Taverna di Masaniello

La Taverna di Masaniello
Vicolo Masaniello, 14 | Piazza dei Dogi, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
089871442
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 93 restaurants in Amalfi
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Rude waiters and below average food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

My girlfriend and I visited as the restaurant looked nice from the outside and the waiter outside was nice enough to give us directions to our hotel when we arrived. Once we sat down it all changed and they grumpy waiters took our orders. My chicken for the main course was pink in the middle and in a watery bland gravy with microwaved vegetables. When I asked for the chicken to be sent back the waiter "tutted" at me and mumbled.

He made me feel like it was my fault that the chicken was un-cooked.

Would never recommend anyone to go here and I got charged €50 for the privilege of this well below-par experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    219
    127
    29
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

The restaurant was recommended to us and it did not disappoint. We ate there every night. The pizza was excellent as was the pasta - we loved the "scialiatelli". Everything was fresh including the fish that we ate. Great service, friendly staff, very well priced. Our favourite restaurant during our travels in Italy. We would love to return!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This restaurant was booked for us by our private tour guide and it was just the kind of restaurant we would have chosen.
The food was excellent along with excellent service from the friendly staff.
Would strongly recommend the pasta with shellfish. My son would recommend the Tiramisu!
Would strongly recommend this restaurant if you are looking for a typical Italian bistro.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Must go there!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I only had one day in this darling town, so I am really glad to say we picked the best restaurant by accident. La tavern di Masaniello is nestled in a corner off of a quaint courtyard. I had one of the best soups yet on this three week trip though Italy. Loaded with fresh veges. I topped it with fresh parmesean cheese, which made it even richer.The pizza was house made to order. Fresh squeezed orange juice was not on the menu, but when we asked if they had it, no problem! The owner pulled about six oranges from the glass refrigerator case and made it for us. Wow! Super friendly staff.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
“Great Family Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We ate a terrific lunch here almost everyday we were in Amalfi. It is a warm, welcoming, friendly restaurant with delicious food. My boys inhaled the pizza every day. My daughter ordered the gnocchi with mozzerella sauce, no tomatoes, every day and always received a warm smile and a delicious meal. My husband and I enjoyed the fresh grilled fish of the day. Great food, friendly service, and a cozy atmosphere for a very reasonable price.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Taverna di Masaniello also viewed

 
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to La Taverna di Masaniello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Taverna di Masaniello, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.