We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good as always” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Capannina

La Capannina
Via Nuova 10, Amalfi, Italy
+39 089871128
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 100 Restaurants in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Dining on a budget, Doing business, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
ny
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good as always”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Have been here a few times and it's always wonderful. Sit in the main room not downstairs. Different atmosphere.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    232
    52
    18
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westland, Michigan
1 review
“A real treat off the beaten path”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Thanks to an encounter on the beach in Amalfi my friends and I found La Capannina -- in the hills above the village -- and enjoyed a truly wonderful meal.

Chef Carlo offered no menus but created a feast that was served family style. The courses included a plate of ham, salami and bacon, mozzarella and other cheeses, along with honey and jam, and vegetables. We were treated to an assortment of grilled meat.

Our dessert — a regional confection known as baba, small rum-soaked pear-shaped cakes, was unforgettable. We also had cheesecake with pears.

Eating here felt like we were eating at someone's home - comforting food and company.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Here you find the best food in Amalfi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

A group of us came here for a lunch during the vespa tour with “NapolinVespa” and were very impressed. It is a beautiful panoramic place, somewhat hidden away with a great selection of food and fresh ingredients. The staff was very attentive and seemed to know our meeting was important and did not rush us or bother us anymore than necessary. There is also a great wine selection. Highly recommended!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We had really good pizzas here. A lot of choices on the menu and we ate really well. Everyone enjoyed their food. Plus an amazing view across to Ravello.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Gorgeous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Me and my new husband visited this restaurant 3 times in our 5 day stop in Amalfi. We were staying down the road at the Grand Hotel Exelsior in which the food was a bit bland and boring. This place is a amazing! For one, I have coeliacs so am usually on a fish and salad diet in the holidays - but they catered for me fabulously providing gluten free pasta with beautiful home made sauces - and gluten free pizza! Me and my husband shared mussels for starter which were simply beautiful and tucked into amazing cheese and jams for dessert. Don't miss it :-)

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Capannina also viewed

Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to La Capannina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Capannina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.