We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and hospitality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Capannina

La Capannina
Via Nuova 10, Amalfi, Italy
+39 089871128
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #8 of 92 restaurants in Amalfi
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Worthing, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent food and hospitality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We love visiting Capannina each year because the food is especially good. Add that to warm and kinowledgable hospitality, and a wonderful view and you have a very pleasant evening indeed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    153
    29
    12
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wirral
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Very friendly, great views - and gave us free extras. The staff were very welcoming and grow most of the produce themselves.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Jamie Oliver needs to come here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

This is simply the best on the hillside of Amalfi. My family (me, my wife and now grown kids) have been coming here for 30 years. Domenico and his fantastically talented chef wife, deliver quite the most superb food you could ever want. You have to understand what to ask for. The two top subjects are the antipasto misto - ask for 'verdure miste' and then the choice of pizze. They are all good. Usually, the simpler and more local, the better. E.g. Napolitana, primavera, arrotalata. At the end of the meal, don't ask for limoncello, ask for finocchietto. That will correctly blow your mind and steady you for the trip home. Oh, by the way, your view is of Ravello and the sensational mountains above - which you can walk around, if you have the cogliones.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“In my 2 week stay in Amalfi this was the only place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

where i decided to go for meat - lamb chops (carre d'agneau). we had a lengthy ( and pleasant to me) discussion with the restaurant owner on the origins of the meat, and what side dish should accompany it. The choice was very right . M eat was juicy, tasty and prepared to the right point . Fish pasta dish - another of our orders - fusilli with fish and lemon - was really a revelation - different from lemon pastas we tasted in other places.

For dessert - they offered local fruits ( not to miss - great figues) and fondant au chocolat ..

Restaurant menu is very reasonably priced (11, i recall euros for my agnello!!), and as many times mentioned in reviews, has a clear emphasis on local products ( for example. rucola ( rocket salad) is wild grown, and other salads - from owner's brother garden.

so basically, when you are tired from amalfi and other seashore villages restaurants, serving so so food at exorbitant prices - Capannina is a nice choice indeed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRADFORD
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Best pizza ever!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Simply put there pizza is outstanding. We were looking for a restaurant with a real wood oven pizza and a small walk from our hotel we found La Capannia. Simply put this was the best pizza i have ever had in the 50 years. I cant speek to the rest of the menue , but if you want a home made authentic Italian pizza this is the place to go!! Great service and view too but its all about the pizza!!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Capannina also viewed

 
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to La Capannina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Capannina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.