We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STAY IN AMALFI WITH STYLE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi to your Saves list
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Annunziatella, 46 | Amalfi Coast, City Centre, 84011 Amalfi, Italy (Formerly Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
LOOKING FOR BETTER DEAL?
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“STAY IN AMALFI WITH STYLE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

This is a wonderful hotel. Prime location, views, Modern luxury and a top-notch, friendly, helpful staff. We feel like we are friends with many of the people who work there. They always were attentive and very cordial. We will definitely choose this hotel again for our next visit to beautiful Amalfi

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    76
    26
    18
    6
See reviews for
62
339
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
96 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Really nice hotel with a view! Staff was friendly except some of the concierge. Location is pretty good up the mountains. View from my room was really good! Full sea view, lovely terrace with perfect view and restaurant is superb but rather pricy! Would love to go back again

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

My husband and I stayed in a range of hotels on the Amalfi Coast in September 2012, and I was most excited about Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi, which was the only 5-star we had booked on the trip. I was very dissapointed because of all the hotels we stayed at, it was the worst. Service was below average, the pool area (which had beautiful view and beautiful pictures on the website), was fine but what came as a shock was the unsannitary condition of the restrooms off of the pool. Compared to other hotels in the area, service was slightly below average (i.e., no special treatment or acknowledgement of our honeymoon stay there). Rooms are small, dark, not great views of the beautiful Amalfi Coast.

When asked for recommendations for where to stay in Amalfi and in the surronding areas, I would recommend all of the other hotels and would invest any 5-star hotel budget to one of the other beautiful hotels in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

The hotel is a 5 star that does not give all the services that should be associated to its category and price.

Some of the examples:

1. They don't have 24 hour room service

2. They don't have a restaurant/bar open all night

3. They don't change the sheets everyday

4. Apparently they use vinegar to clean the towels (and sheets) so they can be quite smelly (vinegar smell)

5. We came at 23.30 one night and they didn't have someone to recommend us what to do for tourism the next day, not to give a solution of where to eat around the hotel

6. I was there at the beginning of April 2014 and disappointingly the pool was closed (unexpected).

7. It does not provide coffee/tea amenities in the room.

8. The mini bar is very poor.

9. The bedroom towels and sheets do not seem to have been ironed so even if the room is cleaned up every day the appearance of the room

The manager heard our observations and told us they would take care about it for the rest of the stay yet nothing changed. The sheets and towels remained with the same funny smell.

Having said that, the breakfast and people that work in the restaurant are nice and the quality of the food is good.



El hotel no da los servicios de un 5 estrellas de su precio.

Algunos de los ejemplos:

1. No tiene servicio a la habitación 24 horas ni restaurantes abiertos toda la noche. Después de las 11 de la noche no hay opciones para comer en el hotel

2. Usan vinagre al lavar las toallas y las sábanas lo cual deja un molesto olor en ellas

3. El día que llegamos a las 11.30 de la noche el personal no sabía que recomendar de turismo al día siguiente. Tampoco sabía que lugar nos podía recomendar para comer a esa hora

4. No cambian las sábanas todos los días

5. A mediados de abril no tenían la piscina abierta lo cual fue decepcionante porque no la pudimos usar en los 5 días que estuvimos ahí

6. No ponen cafe o te en la habitación

7. El minibar tiene pocas cosas

El desayuno es bueno y Federica del restaurante es muy amable.

El manager nos escuchó y prometió hacer algo pero nada cambio. Una terrible experiencia para no repetir.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
80 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Breathtaking views. Difficulty to get across the street to the hotel, but the bellhops help you cross which was nice. Front desk was nice and helpful. We went on our honeymoon and I was very motion sick from the ride there, the ladies gave me lemons to smell as it is supposed to help with nausea. Very nice!!! We had their car service pick us up. Our driver was awesome! Very talented as the roads to the hotel are steep and very narrow. Breakfast was great. Grounds were awesome. Short walk to town where we went for dinner every night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

This was one of the most amazing hotels I have ever visited. My wife and I stayed here on our honeymoon and it was the highlight of our trip. The hotel is built into the side of a mountain with an amazing view of the sea. The rooms are nice, not huge, but this was not an issue when you opened the window and were able to look out across the sea. The hotel is very upscale, with great food and amazing views out of the terrace. The infinity pool overlooking the scenery is spectacular. The town of Amalfi is just about a ten minute walk away. There are a lot of steps to get down to the town, but it gave us an opportunity to walk off all the amazing food we ate in town. One of my greatest memories of the hotel is sitting out an the terrace after dinner just looking out on the amazing views!

Room Tip: All rooms look out on the water which is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Great hotel ..great view of the sea. Service is good too. the only down side is the long stairs you need to climb to reach down town ..
Breakfast on the terrace is an experience on it's own ..the concierge team can arrange EVERYTHING ..

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amalfi
0.6 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 30 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 stars 692 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#4 of 30 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 559 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#12 of 30 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#10 of 30 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 430 reviews
1.6 mi away
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Conca dei Marini
5.0 of 5 stars 238 reviews
6.1 mi away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#6 of 40 in Positano
5.0 of 5 stars 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi

Address: Via Annunziatella, 46 | Amalfi Coast, City Centre, 84011 Amalfi, Italy (Formerly Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi has been and continues to be one of the most significant monuments of the entire Amalfi Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Venere, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, NHHotels, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Splendia and Priceline so you can book your NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.