We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view ..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi to your Saves list
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Annunziatella, 46 | Amalfi Coast, City Centre, 84011 Amalfi, Italy (Formerly Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
GreenLeadersGold level
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great view ..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Great hotel ..great view of the sea. Service is good too. the only down side is the long stairs you need to climb to reach down town ..
Breakfast on the terrace is an experience on it's own ..the concierge team can arrange EVERYTHING ..

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    59
    24
    17
    5
See reviews for
37
256
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Beautiful hotel. We stayed here august 2013, which we thought would be peak season but it was surprisingly private and felt quiet. The rooms are converted beautifully, but are not huge due to it not being a purpose built property. the bathroom was incredible. The views are to die for. The balconies in most rooms are not huge (i.e. you can not sit out on them) as a agin the building is not purpose built but they are lovely to stand and have a drink on and admire the view. the are many other private places you can sit outside with a drink other than you balcony! I think more expensive rooms have larger balconies. The pool area is lovely but the pool is not huge, but it is not a pool made to swim lengths in but to relax and take in the amazing surroundings. The restaurant food is very nice, although so are most restaurants in Italy!! Breakfast is wonderful, sat out on the terrace. This hotel is very expensive but does feel like a wonderful treat.

Room Tip: Standard rooms do not have balconies at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

This hotel is a former monastery, and they have kept the simple white walls and minimalist decor, which adds to the overall elegance of the hotel. It is absolutely gorgeous - built into the cliff, as are most of the buildings on the Amalfi Coast. There are flowers everywhere! The staff was amazing. They got to know you by name and always greeted you by name, which is no small feat with a large hotel! Everyone was warm yet professional and always took the time to talk with you and get to know you. Marcia and Pietro gave us the warmest hugs and kisses when we left. Considering how warm everyone in Amalfi was, perhaps this wasn't so unusual, but it still added to one of the best experiences I've ever had. The breakfast buffet was extensive and the pastries were to die for! We had lunch and dinner in the hotel only when we got there. It was pricey, but was to be expected at a hotel of that caliber. Everything was fresh and delicious. Our room was simple, but provided us with everything we needed and a view of the ocean and surrounding cliffs to boot! The beds were very comfortable. The tub was deep and very relaxing after a day of sightseeing. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a luxurious experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Pros: wonderful views and location. hearty breakfasts. Comfy rooms - we had a terrace though the hotel has many public spaces for views. Facial and massage in spa were good. Friendly staff.

Cons: no tea or coffee making capabilities in room or iPod stations which I would expect for 5 star. Exorbitant parking fees.... Googleprivate parking instead. We did and paid eur 14 pd nearby instead of 25. Aactually, you don't need a car at all along the coast. We wldnt have one if we went back. The other con is that although the breakfasts were hearty, the cheese and ham options were not commensurate with 5 star (more akin to cheaper supermarket cheese).

Room Tip: 101 was vg.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed at this hotel during our recent stay in Amalfi and loved it. Everything was as described on the website. The hotel and rooms have beautiful views and the hotel is centrally located in Amalfi. All the staff was extremely helpful at all times and always very nice and polite. Our room was also very nice with a quiet location, plenty of clothing space and a large bathroom. We will absolutely stay in the hotel again and will recommend to any friends traveling to the area. We ate dinner at the hotel our first night and it was fantastic. One of the top 5 meals we had over 10 days in Italy.

Room Tip: Room 805 is very private and has a large bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We are just back from Amalfi and this was one of the hotels we considered staying at so we were eager to have a look and see if we had chosen correctly to stay somewhere else. We also wanted to check it out for future trips to Amalfi. We were going to go to the bar for a drink. You enter the hotel from the road and have to get the lift up to the main hotel. There was no-one there to show us where to go so we thought we would investigate further. As the lift doors were closing the doorman came running towards us demanding to know what we were doing. We explained we wanted to go to the bar, and he said that was impossible. When we asked why he replied that the bar was closed. This was clearly a lie as it was not even 9pm. I don't know why we weren't good enough for this hotel (despite the fact we were staying 5* just along the road) but I can't stand attitudes like that. I name dropped the bar manager as we'd been talking to his wife earlier that day and she said we should definitely go. This seemed to give us the go ahead to go to the bar but after being treated like that there was bo way I wanted to stay there so we left. Rude, stuck up, pretentious, I'm so glad we opted not to stay there after all.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Superb location with stunning views over Amalfi and the coast. We were lucky enough to have an excellent private balcony but the hotel provides lots of pubic space to enjoy the views to. The breakfast terrace is peaceful and beautiful and serves delicious melt in the mouth pastries. Rooms are small but clean. No tea or coffee making provided in rooms but everything else was there and in good working order. No problem whatsoever with Wifi. The hotel staff were friendly and attentive and spoke English very well. The hotel could do with publishing it's GPS co-ordinates as a little difficult to find if arriving by car after dark as we did. Look for the entrance just before the second tunnel on the right as you leave Amalfi town. Valet parking is a bit costly at 25 Euro's per day but necessary. Hotel can only be entered via two lifts too take you up the cliff side. We did see a guest in a wheelchairs so disabled access must be possible, though you could not have accessed our room due to the stirs if frail elderly or disabled. Wonderful time of the year to visit (mid October) as still warm but not as crowded as in the summer. If comparing with 5 star in a major city then no it is not but comparable, but if you keep in mind that you are in an old coastal resort and you are paying for a clean well presented well sited hotel with very pleasant staffing you will not be disappointed. We will most definitely be thinking of visiting off season again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi

Address: Via Annunziatella, 46 | Amalfi Coast, City Centre, 84011 Amalfi, Italy (Formerly Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi has been and continues to be one of the most significant monuments of the entire Amalfi Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, NHHotels, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.