We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi

Save Saved
You added NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Annunziatella, 46 | Amalfi Coast, City Centre, 84011 Amalfi, Italy (Formerly Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
GreenLeadersGold level
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

My boyfriend and I had an excellent experience at Convento di Amalfi. The location, service, room, and views could not be beat. The hotel is romantic and clean and the staff is extremely helpful. It was an easy and quick walk down to the city center and ferries to other points along the coast. Would definitely stay here again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    56
    23
    16
    4
See reviews for
36
241
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

a great hotel
beautiful view
excellent service
it rain a little bit so i would recommend coming a little earlier in the month
an amazing building inside the mountain
beautiful things to see
we took a boat to Capri and stayed there for a day and were happy to return at evening to the hotel
the hotel staff helped us plan our days

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

The Grand Hotel Covento was away from the crowds in Amalfi, and had an air of tranquility that was only surpassed by the beauty of the views of the coast. The 10 minute hike down the narrow path to the village was safe enough to climb up after a big meal and a few bottles of wine. The endless pool was a pleasure to relax at. i would stary there again. All hotels are a hike to the center city. The breakfasts were awesome at the hotel, though we didn't dine there at night since we wanted to experience the area. The hotel staff was very helpful

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montréal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

If you want a peaceful environment where you can relax comfortably, enjoy a panoramic view of the harbour and Mediterranean Sea and have an easy access to the hectic activities of a busy tourist town, this is the place to stay on the Amalfi Coast.

Fantastic buffet breakfasts and dinners on the terrace. Meticulous cleanliness everywhere. Attentive, friendly and useful staff (almost all speak English). Direct access to Fulvia Clapier, the cheerfull General Manager.

Valet parking available at 25€ per day, but a car is not very useful on the Amalfi Coast. The hotel can arrange to pick you up at the Napoli train station and you can visit the Amalfi Coast from Sorento to Salerno by public buses, tourist double deck coaches, pubic or private boats or with a private chauffeur.

Room Tip: I believe all rooms have a sea view, but if you also have a balcony overlooking the sea, it is fanta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

When we arrived at the hotel we were assisted across the busy road by a member of staff who assisted us many times during our stay which was greatly appreciated.While we waited for check in we were given a welcome cool drink on the terrace overlooking Amalfi and what a fabulous view it was.
Our room was on floor three, two floors below reception. We had a wonderful view of Amalfi below us. The room was crisp and clean with a comfortable bed ,curtained off wardrobe area which we found quite useful not having to open or slide doors and the bathroom was well equipped but a bit small. Dressing gowns and slippers were provided and an array of toiletries (but I wish they had replaced the bubble bath which I used the first day ).
We quite liked the blandness of the interior as mentioned by an other reviewer as It reflected the buildings past history and added to the atmosphere. Our buffet breakfast was taken on the beautiful terrace and we returned there in the evenings to enjoy the twinkling lights below .We did not eat dinner in the hotel but enjoyed lunch in the bar beside the infinity pool .
It was a short walk into Amalfi either along the road (no footpath) or via steps down to the marina area. There is a shuttle bus throughout the day.This is a lovely hotel and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Ma.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Wonderful location , love the small town of Amalfi. Wonderful staff, the General Manager Fulvia Capier was very attentive. She greets every guest and walks the grounds speaking to everyone and knows what is going on with each group. The view is to die for.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodinville, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We had a wonderful 5 days at this hotel - Fantastic breakfast buffet, amazing staff, lovely terrace and pool overlooking the port of Amalfi. Still has the cloister area from when the space was a monastery. Really enjoyed the dinners and bar service on the terrace. Very helpful concierge while changing flight plans. Room was wonderful - light and airy - nice bathroom. Hotel was fully booked but it felt very private - never crowded

Room Tip: We had a junior suite on the 3rd floor which added a living space - Great view of the bay, no balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi

Address: Via Annunziatella, 46 | Amalfi Coast, City Centre, 84011 Amalfi, Italy (Formerly Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi has been and continues to be one of the most significant monuments of the entire Amalfi Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Splendia, Tingo, Venere, Otel, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.