We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a view ! ! !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Annunziatella, 46 | Amalfi Coast, City Centre, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #7 of 30 hotels in Amalfi
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“What a view ! ! !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

A wonderful experience in an amazing piece of history. It is not for everyone, but it is certainly a memorable experience. The hotel, perched so high on the hill above the lovely town of Amalfi provides a fantastic buffet breakfast and the rooms are quite spacious.

Access to the private beach via boat is also a very special extra pleasure.

There are many corridors and nooks and crannies to discover and it is an adventure to find your way through the whole hotel......but worthwhile and certainly an enjoyable stay :)))

And then there is the view from the pool deck.......amazing ! ! ! ! !

Room Tip: Get a room with the best of views to enjoy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    209
    52
    21
    14
    4
See reviews for
32
224
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beaumont, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We loved this hotel when we were in Amalfi in 2011, so there was no question when we returned in August 2013. Spent a day simply enjoying the hotel and that view. Food is very good and the service is out of this world. The last night we were there it started raining. Everyone watched from the glorious terrace until the bottom fell out and then we all moved into the dining/seating area. The staff was terrific working with everyone and their dinner needs. Many of us were sitting around talking not wanting to move to the dining tables and the staff never missed a beat and served us right where we were. I love the lemon cake in Amalfi and even though it may not be on the menu each night the staff was always able to find us a piece. Such a wonderful relaxing place with great service and staff. We will always stay at the Grand Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I am very sceptical about any 5 star ratings and in my time as a tripadvisor contributor find it extremely difficult to assign 5 stars
In this case I cannot fault anything within this Hotel
From the exceptional staff (Delfina and Francesco are amongst the most personable and can do people that I have ever met) through to the facilities - they are without fault
The position of the Hotel is fantastic, a short stroll to the centre of town, a private beach reached by a private vessel and first class meals that would rival any Michelin rated restaurant
Seriously folks this Hotel should not be looked past and I would recommend it to any discernible traveller

Room Tip: Must have a seaside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

First time for us In Amalfi coast!!!!!! Best experience ever. We loved to stay at the Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi.
The view is just spectacular and is a such quiet place.
Service and food was excellent. The members of staff very friendly and very professional. We enjoyed our breakfast early in the morning especially with our lovely waiter Paolo!!!! So professional and always available. For sure we are going to come back soon. Thank you to make us very happy during our holidays!! Xxxx

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

we stayed 3 days in this hotel in August. fantastic location. near the center of the country. beautiful pool and private beach. breakfast and staff are super . The cocktail bar is great and the cocktails delicious as the staff . restaurant with very good food and excellent service. i raccomendet it .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

The history of the place is amazing: a real "convento" up in the mountain, right in front of the sea, fully renewed without losing the location former spirit.

The room and the bathroom was very good, the pool up in the mountain in front of Amalfi's bay amazing, the breakfast at the hotel's balcony very charmy, and the reception service pretty welcoming.

What they could have done better: the check-out service. We needed to stay 2 more hours than the regular check-out time and they were very unflexible and a little unpolite.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

If you're looking for a place on the Amalfi Coast that has friendly, OUTSTANDING service, this hotel is for you. My wife and I travel frequently and consider ourselves hotel snobs. Even at the "greatest" hotels, we havent had attentive service like this. Beautiful grounds, terrific relaxing pool, views that are amazing, and a beach that is semi private where the hotel sets up a short boat ride to get you there. Say hi to Claudio in the snack shop at the beach.
Keep in mind, the rooms are on the smaller side, especially the closets. I read all the reviews before I booked, so I knew the small quirks of the hotel. But everything outweighs the slight negatives. Thanks to the Convento for providing life long memories on our wedding anniversary.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi

Address: Via Annunziatella, 46 | Amalfi Coast, City Centre, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 30 hotels in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi has been and continues to be one of the most significant monuments of the entire Amalfi Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Splendia, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.