We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a perfect place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi to your Saves list
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Annunziatella, 46 | Amalfi Coast, City Centre, 84011 Amalfi, Italy (Formerly Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
GreenLeadersGold level
Halle, Belgium
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Just a perfect place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We spent one night at this hotel. It was faboullous! If you are in Amalfi, stay there.
It is a magic place, the staff is very frienly. And if you arrive by car there is a possibilty of parking your car. The view, the swimming pool, the breakfast, the rooms,... Great!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    58
    24
    17
    5
See reviews for
37
254
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

My wife & I booked the Convento for 5 nights to celebrate a significant Wedding Anniversary. We were not disappointed! We were greeted with great hospitality and genuine warmth. We were upgraded without asking and champagne on ice was waiting!
Our room was spacious with a great view and private balcony. Just like the pictures the Convento is smart and slick, but the staff make everything very personal, and we were looked after with real warmth. The food was excellent and service wonderful. Many pictures around the hotel capture the history of the monastery, adding to the atmosphere. This is a great base for exploring the Amalfi coast and the Hotel team are very helpful and knowledgeable in regard to places to visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mostar, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile







This place is magical, if you are planning to go to Amalfi, please stay here at least for one night. I don't think my experience of Amalfi would be so good if we stayed somewhere else.

And make sure you go to Ravello.

The only issue was breakfast, it was average for such a magical place. I was expecting more of Italian local food.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed here for honeymoon for a week on 6th May 2013. The hotel was a great location just 5 - 10 minutes walk into Amalfi down some steps. Our bedroom had a great view but for a 5 star hotel very small with limited storage space. Poor quality of towels in bedrooms for a 5 star hotel - one was so thin it ripped!!! Expect better quality from this hotel for the price. Our confirmation promised fruit and champagne on arrival - received the champagne but no fruit!! Fabulous views on terrace for breakfast; the pool opening time of 10 am was far too late for us who are early risers wanting to make the most of our time! I can imagine in the height of the season it would be very crowded around this area. We did not eat in the hotel restaurant for dinner preferring to walk into Amalfi for the atmosphere and choice of restaurants. We would return again for the location, staff were very pleasant, a unique quirky hotel in terms of converted monastery but not 5 star

Room Tip: If a special occasion would need to book a suite - ours was a de lux and we were not hugely impresse...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I feel that I have seen some fabulous places in my day, but this may just be the most magical place I've ever visited. It's hard to explain - the natural beauty of the Amalfi coast is stunning - but in addition, the juxtaposition of this diamond onto the setting is perfect. The atmosphere is unbeatable - contemporary and cool and friendly with no trace of pretension.

The view from our room was THE MOST ROMANTIC view I've ever seen - full yellow moon hanging brilliantly over the boats bobbing in the Mediterranean and pastel colored buildings hugging walls along the cliff they shared with the hotel. I could have stood there gazing forever. The room itself was comfortable and spectacular - the bed incredible - the bathroom generously sized. We spent each of our 3 nights there having at least one drink in the cute little bar. Dinner was great the one night we ate at the restaurant.

A convenient trip down the stairs to the area below provides an easy way to access the town and restaurants along the ocean. Staff was fantastic and friendly. Drinks prepared very well and the service absolutely top notch.

I cannot wait to go back. I really want to go again right now!!!!

Room Tip: They all seemed to have a great view. We stayed on the floor with the restaurant and bar and loved...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We were blown away by super-chic Grand Hotel Il Convento. This real-life 13th century monastery had been an important fixture in the history of Amalfi for hundreds of years and then run as a grand hotel for more than a century, until new owners and management came in and gave this historic site a bottom-to-top 21st century makeover. Now, the white-washed walls of the historic building are complimented by all-white furnishings and flax-colored linen accents, from the street level entry all the way up to the top floor dining room and right through to the cliff-hugging guest rooms. The hotel looks like it could walk down a Milan runway and certainly could serve as the backdrop for any fashion shoot!

How many hotels boast their own cloister, vine-clad arbor and functioning church? Add in the spectacular cliffside views of Amalfi from every angle and you’ll be hard pressed to want to leave.

We had a very interesting suite, consisting of three rooms (probably each originally a monk’s cell) on three levels, each separated by only a couple of steps – a living room, a bedroom and a killer bathroom with a huge white ceramic free-standing bathtub and a gigantic walk-in shower with a window looking out to the sea. As noted, the white-and-flax color scheme continued in the guest rooms. Rather than looking bland or austere, it was really quite hip – SoBe meets Amalfi.

The staff of the hotel could not be nicer or more helpful, with excellent dinner and touring suggestions. They even gave us a private tour of the hotel church (which is kept locked for preservation purposes). The hotel offers a shuttle into town on the hour, but we quickly realized that we could walk into town on the main road (not recommended according to the doorman because of traffic) or down a flight of public stairs from street level to the marina and then a mere three blocks to the center of town. The stairs were not difficult at all (in either direction) and became our preferred way to have the freedom to come and go as we pleased without having to rely on the shuttle. But for those not so inclined, it is nice that the service is offered.

But there were also some glitches, especially the Internet. There seems to be a regional problem with the speed of the Internet because of interference from the mountains that surround the Amalfi Coast. But the hotel also requires going to the front desk to get new codes and signing back in every 24 hours and if you’re in the middle of work (as I was one day) when that 24-hour mark is reached, you are thrown out, you of course lose all your work and, in my case, a very important Skype call was dropped. That issue is separate from whether the Internet is slow and the hotel really needs to improve this part of its Internet service. Additionally, on the last morning, for some reason, the hotel (or at least the guest rooms) had no hot water. We thought the front desk’s reaction to the inconvenience was just a bit indifferent, which stood in stark contrast to the attentiveness to everything else. When one is paying over 700 Euros a night, something needs to be done when you can't shave, shower or wash. I'd also note that the spa treatments were not particularly good, with a massage that I could not wait to end.

Notwithstanding those issues, in the big picture, this hotel is fantastic. We are glad that the “great” hotels in Positano were booked because otherwise we would not have had a chance to stay at this “back-up” hotel. It will never be just a “back up” again!

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are sea-view but it is essential and worth the already high prices to pay extr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel-Air CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We have recently returned from our second annual vacation to the Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi. We returned to this jewel of Amalfi, an intimate World Class hotel and now consider it our new home-away-from-home!

Our return to the Convento was once again to celebrate our anniversary, and our second visit was every bit as special and memorable as our first Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi encounter and impression!

In fact, and in many ways, an even better Convento! We were always greeted with the “can do” attitude, beaming smiles and warm welcomes from morning to evening. The extraordinary courtesies extended by all is the “it factor” that will have us returning once again in 2014. Our expectations were exceeded on virtually every lever, from the preparation for our arrival, to our arrival, our two-week stay through to our depararture.

Every member of the staff at the Convento went beyond the call of duty with regard to each and every aspect of our stay. They know Amalfi and the surrounding areas better than anyone and provide the best recommendations for sites, restuarants ( although Chef Alberto at the Convento is one of the best and deserving of a Michelin!) as well as all the ins and outs of Amalfi either by boat, car or bus. The front desk staff of Antonio, Antonella Flora, Delfina will provide you with all you need.

The dining experiences at the Convento, whether inside the main dining room, outside patio or by the pool you can expect the exacting service we have come to appreciate. The culinary experiences by Chef Alberto are among the best we experience on the Amalfi Coast bar none!

The dining room staff headed by Maitre` d' Massimo along with the best Waiters anywhere, Be sure to visit with them all (Alfonso, Paolo, Francesco, Roberto, Giuseppe, Gaetano, Alessandra, Valentina, Federica, Antonio, Christian ) as THEY will make your experience memorable.

Excellence is a term used today by many in their marketing and promotion, and one that many fall short of performing from the beginning. This could not be further from the case at the Convento where every employee performed beyond expectation! Excellence Unparalleled!

We attribute all of these high standards of excellence by all of the Convento team which begins and ends with the exceptional Ms. Fulvia Clapier, the director of the Convento, where excellence has been defined, not an act, but a habit. Without exception, Director Fluvia Clapier and her extraordinary staff created an amazing ambiance which we did not think could be improved upon – however, it has and on every level.

The dining/service environment at breakfast, lunch and dinner, to the front desk, room attendants, and shuttle/parking attendants-- each and every one demonstrated a level of competence, excellence, dedication and courtesy rare in today’s machine-driven world.

And all with a marvelous attitude!

We can not wait to return and are already are making plans.

In short. If you miss this experience and it is an experience you will have missed something very special.

Room Tip: With regard to selection of a room, be sure to discuss all your preferences well prior to making you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi

Address: Via Annunziatella, 46 | Amalfi Coast, City Centre, 84011 Amalfi, Italy (Formerly Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi has been and continues to be one of the most significant monuments of the entire Amalfi Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Splendia, Priceline, Agoda, NHHotels, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Otel and Tingo so you can book your NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.