We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, but...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi to your Saves list
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Annunziatella, 46 | Amalfi Coast, City Centre, 84011 Amalfi, Italy (Formerly Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
GreenLeadersGold level
Boston
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very nice, but...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

This is very nice hotel with helpful staff, but in general we were a little underwhelmed by the whole experience. The hotel feels a bit sterile. And it's fine that it welcomes families with young children, but we wanted to sleep later than 7:00 a couple mornings which was hard to do with a mother chasing her son out in the hallway. The location, like almost anything not at sea level in Amalfi, is a little challenging. Be prepared to do some climbing. You would think the hotel would offer a shuttle to guests right through the evening hours, but it stops at 6:00. The staff's recommendations for restaurants were okay but not great. The room itself was nice and clean and all -- but for some reason we couldn't get the air conditioning any higher than 19 degrees C, which is chilly. Bathroom was fine with an okay shower. If we went back to Amalfi, we'd probably find a smaller, more intimate type of place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    58
    24
    16
    4
See reviews for
36
248
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

A beautiful hotel with an exquisite setting overlooking the harbor of Amalfi. A truly peaceful experience a couple of minutes walk from the wonderful hustle and bustle of Amalfi. The staff were always charming and helpful and the breakfasts on the terrace overlooking the views perfect. The Infinity pool was sublime. We would go back in heartbeat!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This gem has it all for a price... This newly renovated monestary combines a spectacular coastal view of the Amalfi coast with detailed luxury a notch above other luxury hotels in the region. The view from their infinity pool leads you into the Mediterranean Sea and you become one with the coastal landscape. Amazing! For the historical buffs, you can walk through their 13 century cloister, their chapel,and of course their monk trail. Their food is refined, their breakfast outstanding and their bar service almost perfection. Do expect very small rooms no matter of upgrade you select. You are staying in a monks room after all! Make this a special treat destination and allow yourself to get pampered.

Room Tip: Staying on the main floor helps you avoid the maze to the the restaurant and pool,
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

My husband and I travelled to Amalfi to celebrate our 10th anniversary with a quick three nights away from our children. What a treat. The Grand Hotel Convento was worth every penny. The hotel is stunningly gorgeous, the food was beyond delicious (breakfast was divine, especially when eaten outside on the terrace overlooking the town. The staff went above and beyond on all occasions. They were professional, attentive and very very polite. They made it feel as if it was a treat to have you there. Our room was on the 7th floor with an amazing view of Amalfi below and a comfy swing to sit in while I read my book and enjoyed the view. Although the weather didn't cooperate for us, my husband still dared to enter the pool - an infinity pool that has one of the most magnificent views you'll ever experience from a pool. I would come back here hands down. Make sure to explore the amazing grounds of the hotel - from the ruins and chapel to the monk's walk where you'll find lemon trees and beautiful flowers. There is nothing NOT to love about this place. Thank you so much for a wonderful trip.
A note: The walk down to town is quite easy for well-abled people (about 10 to 15-minutes), but if you don't like to climb or go down stairs, you might want to hire a taxi. We took one when experiencing monsoon-like rains one evening and they charged us 10 Euro for a three-minute ride!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony, we wished we had one to enjoy the weather more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Malling, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed here for our wedding in Amalfi and it did not disappoint.
Upon arrival we were greeted and shown round the hotel and offered a complimentary drink whilst our luggage arrived and we sat and admired the view across Amalfi.
The hotel location is a prime location (not right in the centre of town) but far enough to feel secluded and the view is fantastic.
Breakfast is continental with a fine selection of cakes for the sweet toothed.
Staff are well attentive and rooms are clean and crisp and although our particular room did not have a balcony, we had 3 double windows overlooking the sea and was not too far from the terrace area where we could sit and relax.

We did not eat at the restaurant other than the meal we had after our wedding. The food was fantastic and service excellent.

Amalfi and the Amalfi coast in general requires a degree of walking up/down steps to reach various parts, if you find this difficult then I suggest alternative destinations are sought when planning your holiday.

The hotel is not cheap but then this part of the world is not, so in out opinion the costs were in line with what we would expect to pay for a hotel of this class.

Our only negative comment (and this is no fault of the hotel) is that the number of guests of all ages who seemed to be permanently glued to their iPads throughout breakfast, during the day and evening. I would thought that with a hotel and view this good, the iPads could be left alone a bit!

Room Tip: Request a sea view to give the location justice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I agree it's pricy but worth every penny. The best hotel in the city. First class service, close to the center but away enough from the noise. Outstanding view, beautiful building and grounds. Large selection breakfast. The 7th floor sea view is a must, large comfortable room with 2 bathrooms. It's an experience by itself to stay in such a magnificent place.

Room Tip: 7th floor seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Fantastic views, cracking breakfasts, lovely staff, clean, tidy and understated.

If you can, shell out the extra pennies for a room with a balcony, the views are fantastic and provide you with a opportunity to take in Amalfi at your own pace.

Room Tip: Go for a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi

Address: Via Annunziatella, 46 | Amalfi Coast, City Centre, 84011 Amalfi, Italy (Formerly Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi has been and continues to be one of the most significant monuments of the entire Amalfi Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Venere, Priceline, Splendia, Otel, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.