We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Amalfi view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Annunziatella 46, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #7 of 31 hotels in Amalfi
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Amalfi view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

A definite honeymooners destination. Absolutely beautiful views from a very historic hotel (former convent built back in the 1200's) )perched high up on the cliffside overlooking the town of Amalfi and the sea. Close to town to take a nice stroll and far enough away to have your peace and quiet from the tourists.

Room Tip: All 52 rooms have beautiful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    174
    42
    20
    14
    3
See reviews for
28
190
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed at the Grand Hotel Convento Di Amalfi for 5 nights during our honeymoon. We were very happy with our choice of hotels and the service that we received during our stay. Out of several highlights, the staff was very friendly and accommodating. We were met in the lift foyer by a hotel greeter who personally escorted us through the hotel and out on to the incredible outdoor space where we were given two cocktails to sip while we enjoyed the amazing views. We were checked into our upgraded room with an enormous balcony, which had the most spectacular views from any room either of us had ever stayed. I had booked five nights pre-paid which provided a good discount to the regular rates, especially because of the book four nights get one free promotion.

The bed in our room was on the firmer side but we both got used to it after a couple nights and had no problem sleeping.

What I didn't realize during booking was how the location of the hotel could not have been better. Very convenient to get into town while enough removed to provide the most magnificent views from the rooms, dining, and pool spaces I could have imagined. We loved that we stayed in the town of Amalfi and would definitely stay there again.

The hotel had a clean, modern feel despite the property itself being several hundred years old.

There is a small fitness center space that while small, was more modern than I was expecting and had nice equipment.

The pool was fantastic. Amazing infinity edge overlooking the Mediterranean and because of its location it received sunlight for longer than much of the coast below. We would regularly finish up our days lounging poolside and enjoying the views.

The breakfast was free yet fantastic! We loved it. We had breakfast at the hotel every morning we could and sat outside to enjoy the views.

As warned the internet connection was a bit precarious, some of the days it worked great yet a couple others not so much.

Service was good, our room was turned over regularly and every wake up call was received on time.

Overall we loved this hotel and would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: You can offset the higher cost of nicer rooms by prepaying and/or staying longer. It's worth it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We started the morning in a Tuscan Villa. After driving to Florence, catching a train to Naples and finally a hire car we arrived at the front door of the Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi. Architecturally this place is amazing. From the street level entrance you are whisked up through five storeys of solid rock in a passenger lift (just be careful crossing the road as it's right next to a tunnel). You then proceed along the old convent halls to reach the reception which opens up onto the long terrace and ends in an infinity pool. The views are spectacular. The terrace is also covered in lemon trees and flowers making it feel like a hanging garden perched on the side of a cliff overlooking the water. The only downside of this are the mosquitoes.

We were fortunate to receive an upgrade and our room had serious dimensions. Even the bathroom consisted of a separate area for the shower/sink and then a bathtub and toilet. Marble throughout and only the finest toiletries. Sadly the shower leaked - a common fault with many of the hotels we stayed in during our trip. But all this was forgotten every time you opened the window and looked out at the view. The only shame is that the original windows are so small - with a view like that you would almost want the entire wall to be made of glass.

What we liked:
- The Room: Large, spacious and modern with an underlying sense of the old architecture of the convent.
- The Pool: The view alone is enough as many have commented. Now picture yourself in an infinity pool looking out at that view. Enough said.
- The Old Convent: Don't forget to visit the unrenovated part of the convent with its columns and partially crumbled walls.
- The Food: The food was great, including a very broad selection of breakfast options and solid dinner options.
- The Staff: Although it's a large hotel they made us feel welcome and were attentive to any requests.
- The Gardens: You start to get a sense for why there's limoncelo for sale EVERYWHERE.

What we didn't like:
- The Size: It's almost too big for it's own good - when you travel around the levels and down the halls you get a sense for how large the hotel is. Not for those seeking a more intimate setting.
- The Wi-Fi: The included free wi-fi was rubbish and only worked in the lobby. A major let down for international travelers who rely on wi-fi to avoid astronomical data charges.
- The Housekeeping: Generally good but would benefit from an evening turn down service.
- The Location: This is a tough one. Given where the hotel is located you get the spectacular views but it also means you need to travel a fair distance and play frogger with the traffic to reach the town.

Overall, a unique hotel in a spectacular location. Definitely worth visiting during a trip to the Amalfi Coast.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

This hotel was amazing on so many levels. It was expensive but worth every cent. The views from the room were sublime. The outdoor terrace and pool area was magnificent. It was a little awkward navigating to the rooms, however this and the history of the hotel added to the charm.
The staff weren't as friendly as some of the other Italian hotels we stayed at, but there was no major issues. A truly relaxing and beautiful hotel.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Such a great place to come while keeping the birthday celebration and Italian adventure going. Rooms were somewhat smaller in comparisons to other five star properties previously stayed at on this trip. The drive was a bit of a roller-coaster and dreadful traffic night and day ( made the 405 look okay) but the views are phenomenal. Loved the array of color palettes at every glimpse. Our hotel infinity pool was a great treat after being in the sea. Nice sunbathing. Short boat ride away from Positano and Capri. History everywhere. An amazing hotel to come back to after boating. Ravello is a must visit for the day while being on in Amalfi.

Excellent breakfast. The staff was very friendly and helpful for advice - dining, exploring, shopping, boating, etc. The view from my room window was enough to say I don't know when I am leaving this place, lol. Such much historical value (ancient monk monastery) beautiful lemon and lime groves, shaded, romantic, peaceful places to lounge. Definitely one of the must do’s of Italy.

Room Tip: Every space on this property is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We have just spent a couple of days at this hotel, perched on the cliff above Amalfi. This was our second visit . It is the perfect place to be on a get-away-from-it-all break. So peaceful no matter how full the hotel is. The staff was so pleasant ; service with a smile, ready to give friendly advice when asked.
We found the minimalist, white décor so refreshing in contrast to the record hot temperatures outside. We couldn’t think of a more peaceful and serene place to stay when planning to visit Capri, Sorrento, Positano or Ravello; all so crowded at this time of the year.
We were tempted to just sit in the shade of the bougainvillea or fruit-laden lemon trees down the monk’s walk or soak in the infinity pool, sipping fresh, iced-lemon watching the activity of the boats in the little harbour below rather than venture out in the heat. So spectacular and so pleasantly different to any other hotel we have ever stayed at. We will be back yet again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

The first thing that hits you when you arrive on the Amalfi coast are the breathtaking views of the ocean, mountains and the towns. This hotel has views in abundance. The layout of the hotel is a bit awkward. You have to take up to three separate lifts to get to your room from the hotel's lobby.

We had a sea view room with a balcony. The room was clean and comfortable.

I think the prices at the hotel bar are at the 'very expensive' end of the hotel spectrum. This is a bit unfortunate because I would have enjoyed a few more drinks at the hotel bar, overlooking the stunning town of Amalfi. I recall beers being around the 7 euro mark.

The hotel's beach (accessed via a 10 minute boat trip) was very good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi

Address: Via Annunziatella 46, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 31 hotels in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a 12th century monastery featuring a 13th-century Norman-Arab cloister, the Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi is found on the "Loggia" and the "Passeggiata dei Monaci" (panoramic walk overlooking the amazing Costiera Amalfitana; probably the most painted views in the world).The Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi has been totally refurbished and harmoniously blends modern comforts with the hotel's historic past. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Hotels.com, Splendia, Tingo, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Otel and Priceline so you can book your Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.