We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel in a very nice spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi to your Saves list
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Annunziatella, 46 | Amalfi Coast, City Centre, 84011 Amalfi, Italy (Formerly Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Very good hotel in a very nice spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

This is an old cloister, and one of the most beautiful hotels in the world. It's located - litterally - in the rock wall of Amalfi about 100 meters above sea level near the Amalfi harbour. Five star service starts in valet parking, which is something you'll really appreciate in Amalfi coast. Our room (201) was very modern and extremely nicely decorated. Only drawback is, that there are no separate showers in the room but you'll stand in the bath tub. Our room had a nice balcony with chairs we sat to sip wine and look yachts coming and going. There is a very nice pool area and a separate spa (with gym). Service is very polite and good, as you'll expect in this kind od a luxury hotel. The restaurant 'Dei Cappuccini' is fantastic, one of the best in Amalfi region, Michelin star level.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    64
    24
    17
    6
See reviews for
45
264
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

I was disappointed with our hotel in Amalfi, Breakfast on the terrace was nice and the best part of this hotel. Not a single drawer to unpack, not a mirror in the bedroom and only 1 luggage rack, they claimed they did not have any more. Small windows as they are from the orignal convent, floor was marked and dirty in our room. The beds were extremely hard. I felt this hotel was totally over priced, and would not book again.
The redo was done very cheaply, they cut corners and it shows.
Personally, I felt the contempoary design did not fit the structure of an old convent. It was more like a cold dormatory. It is a miss... sorry!

Room Tip: I think I would choose a room that is on the 4th or 5th floor close to receptionor you taking 2 diff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

My boyfriend and I traveled to Amalfi for a 5 day 4 night vacation in late September 2011. It was a perfect time to go, the weather was not too hot and the coast wasn't crowded with tourists as it is in the summer months. We made most travel and excursion arrangements through the concierge at the hotel. We simply emailed them before arriving. They organized a private car to pick us up from the airport. The gentleman who picked us up was very nice and extremely informative. He made recommendations and explained a lot of things to us during the hour long ride from the airport. The drive to and from Amalfi is on very windy, narrow roads and the experienced Italian drivers know how to navigate these roads so they aren't afraid of driving fast. This can make some people get car or motion sickness so let your driver know if you have these issues. The entrance to the hotel is literally built into the side of the cliff. Its a discrete glass sliding door with the name of the hotel and a small parking area on the opposite side of the road. From the main entrance, you take 2 elevators up to the main check in desk which is also where the restaurant, bar, patio, and pool areas are. The hotel is a beautifully renovated convent that uses modern architecture to respect the historic structure. Our luggage was taken at the main entrance and put in our room later than afternoon. We checked in and had a delicious lunch on the patio under a canopy of bougainvilleas (the mozzarella is to die for) while our room was prepared. The room was a decent size for a European hotel. The bed, although plenty big for the both of us, was quite stiff but I generally find this true of most hotels in Europe. The room also had a desk, two night stands, and wardrobe with hangers, etc. The best part of the room is the view from the two windows in the bedroom. Our room looks right out onto the ocean. Every morning we would wake up to the sun shining over the sea. Just breathtaking. And at night, the view of Amalfi from the top of the cliff is like a fairy tale. The street lights dot the main square of the city and the reflection of the moon and the lights from the boats dance off the water. The bathroom was a standard size with a toilet, bidet, tub with shower, large sink, hair dryer, and window with a gorgeous view. The infinity pool is at the very end of the patio area. It's a gorgeous view and has plenty of space for sunning. The best thing about this hotel was definitely the help from the concierge. She booked almost all of our activities. We arrived on day one and talked to her about what we were interested in doing and she made some recommendations and got right on making the reservations and appointments. She also recommended some amazing restaurants (Da Gemma was my favorite). We tipped her for taking care of us the entire time we were there. She was our go to. A couple things to keep in mind: the hotel is not directly in the center of Amalfi but it's only a short 8 minute walk into town. The walk is down a steep stair case that is poorly lit so wear comfortable shoes. To get out of the hotel, you can either take the two elevators or you can walk down a series of descending steps and sidewalks. Another thing to be mindful of is the cost of extra fees, breakfast is not cheap (about 25 euros/person) and laundry service is pretty expensive. Of course, neither of these are necessary so it wasn't a big deal for us.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venezuela
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Beautiful as maybe just a few are, breathtaking views and very caring and helpful personnel.
On the low side, my room was categorized as a Junior Suite (#406) for around 650 Euros a night, and was abiut a standard size room, with very limited space for luggage and maybe the only distintion from a normal room was a tiny closed balcony with two hanging chairs.
Free WiFi was available only near the lobby, and in the room there was only a single point of wired internet and far from the small desk in the room, for a 10 Euros per day charge. COME ON, I am paying 650 Euros, so please, give it for "free" or charge me 660.
The room decor was simple yet spotless but the pillows were cheap and very stiff, and the air conditioned was poor.
They had a nice detail sending a Champagne bottle to the room for my wife's birthday.
If you plan to stay there, avoid room 406. Not worth the price.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 6 nights from 21stMay. We are lucky enough to stay in some of the best hotels in Europe and I have to say that this hotel surpassed our expectations. The staff, room, food and the view were fabulous. We would not hesitate to recomend to anyone thinking of staying here to explore the region. The breakfast was wonderful and along with the infinity pool, the 12 Century Cloister and the beauty of Amalfi, we can not wait to return.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

Our first stay with the Convento di Amalfi was 10 exceptional nights of bliss in celebration of our 30th wedding anniversary. From the moment we approached the entry to the Hotel and were greeted by the hotel director, Ms. Fulvia Clapier, it was the beginning to one the most incredible experiences of a lifetime.

Housed in a 12th-century monastery, hotel highlights include a 13th-century Norman-Arab cloister, the “Loggia” and the “Passeggiata dei Monaci”, a breathtaking walk overlooking the coastline. The Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi, perched perfectly above sea level on a cliff top, enjoys spectacular views of Amalfi and the Mediterranean Coast.

It is also just steps away from the historical city center and the harbor of Amalfi. With only 53 rooms, the Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi has been totally refurbished and harmoniously blends modern comforts with the hotel's historic past. Among the numerous highlights, the hotel includes a panoramic restaurant, swimming pool, wellbeing oasis and fitness center, chapel and private parking.

The evenings are dreamy as they seranade on Friday and Saturday nights by the Italian duo of Leo and Frederico put you in the spirit immediately. The food is to die for with daily specials and a staff the enthusiastically presents with the warm southern Amalfi personality.

Excellence surrounds you in an understated way. It's sophistocated and easy. Just the best!

The harmonious and gracious staff of people who really make the Convento a very special experience provide a level of excellence rare in today's machine-driven world!

If you miss staying at this the finest of hotels in Amalfi you will have missed an unparalleled experience on every level.

Three things we would do differently. (1) Stay longer! (2) Not Drive. (3) Take Boats to all the locations on the Amalfi Coast.

You can access Revello by an inexpensive red bus from the square on the hour. Day trips to Positano, Sorrento, Capri and more are easily reached by boat and much preferred versus the harrowing drive along the beautiful coast.

We're already planning our return! It was that outstanding!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

We arrived at the hotel on honeymoon having spent the previous 5 nights in the Grand Hotel Tremezzo Palace on Lake Como, which is also 5-star. However, the difference in quality between the 2 hotels was marked. As a converted monastery, we thought the hotel would be bursting with character but the ultra modern white decor, poor positioning of the reception on the 5th floor and sheer size of the hotel make it soulless and sterile. We had a classic room, which was small with very limited storage space for clothes. The "fitness center" is poor and the "spa" virtually non-existent - the only evidence of the spa is an extortionate price list and a disused steam room. The leisure facilities appear an after thought in an attempt, albeit successful, to achieve a 5-star rating. We also found the staff to be rude, unhelpful and disinterested.

That said, the hotel is very well located in its proximity to Amalfi where we ate every night. Amalfi is a very pretty little town with some good places to eat about an 8 minute walk downhill from the hotel. Word of warning though - if the weather is even remotely cloudy boats do not run from Amalfi to Positano, Capri, Sorrento etc which leaves one a bit stranded - the bus takes 2 hours to get to Sorrento due to the winding roads and is v overcrowded.

We would come back to the Amalfi coast again but wouldn't stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi

Address: Via Annunziatella, 46 | Amalfi Coast, City Centre, 84011 Amalfi, Italy (Formerly Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi has been and continues to be one of the most significant monuments of the entire Amalfi Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Venere, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, NHHotels, Splendia, Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.