We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking views!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi to your Saves list
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Annunziatella, 46 | Amalfi Coast, City Centre, 84011 Amalfi, Italy (Formerly Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Breathtaking views!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights after staying in Capri for 1 night at La Minerva. I felt sad leaving Capri and thought it will be hard to beat the hotel in Capri, but my experience was otherwise.

We drove to Amalfi (from Sorrento) and firstly missed the hotel entrance: it's directly after the tunnel entering Amalfi. so the car park is directly to the right. The porter was very friendly and parked the car for us and took us to the lift.....the first lift ! Coming out of the lift, we were greeted by friendly Pietro who took us yet to another lift to the 5th floor - Reception.

Arriving in the reception and going out onto the balcony - breathtaking views ! Photos can show you a lot but being there on the balcony overlooking Amalfi and the harbour is a special personal experience.

The hotel has been renovated beautifully. It still has the feeling of being a convent and yet being a modern hotel at the same time. Rooms are spotlessly clean. Bed is super comfy and again, slept like a log. Views from the bedroom - uncomparable. The hotel has so many different rooms to visit: camera room, reading room, little chape on the 4th floor, balconies, lemon grove, infinity pool, breakfast balcony, rooms high up on the room - it just has so many places to explore.

The dining room is grand. The breakfast is lavish, it even has prosecco!

The seating room is so cosy as if you're in a proper living room. There's also a huge book / folder in the seating area in front of the dining room that holds all information about the hotel, including its history, and all sorts of recommendations for restaurants, day trips etc. It's definitely worth a read.

There's a walkway down to Amalfi from the hotel and it goes through the lovely narrow streets in town. It's an exciting walk into town as first you go down the mountain cliff and all of a sudden you're walking past people's homes - very unique experience.

The hotel service is friendly and professional, like a 5* hotel, though Pietro at Reception was very friendly and helpful especially that I had so many questions about the hotel and about recommendations for restaurants etc.

We stayed here for 2 nights and it's definitely the most unforgettable hotel I've ever been to. It's unforgettable because of the views, the unique building itself and how its been preserved, the fact that it is after all a listed building (and apparently the hotel only has license for 35 years to run it as a hotel) - this is a very special hotel indeed.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    59
    24
    17
    5
See reviews for
37
256
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

My husband and I stayed here on the second stop of our mini tour of Italy. It was our first time in Italy as a whole and we took the train from Rome to Sorrento and then a bus from Sorrento to Amalfi. The train ride was smooth and easy. The bus ride was....not quite as smooth. When the bus arrived it was fairly large but was pretty packed so we had to stand for most of the ride. Then, I embarked on what was, hands down, the most twisting, turning drive of my life. When they say the roads are narrow and they weave like crazy...they aren't kidding. I was actually suffering from motion sickness by the time the hour long bus ride ended - I narrowly escaped revisiting my breakfast. Halfway through the trip, we were weaving through a small town with particularly narrow streets and the bus ended up having to stop for a little while because the driver knocked out one of the side mirrors. All in all though, it was an experience.

When we arrived in the center of Amalfi we took a taxi from the city center to the hotel. It was, literally, a 5 minute ride. However, walking up the road, with traffic, and luggage would not have been ideal. The other alternative, a series of stone steps from the town up to the hotel, would have been equally difficult. The hotel almost seems to be growing out of the cliff side so while it's not part of the habitat - it sometimes seems as if it is. Also, I would agree with another reviewer who mentioned that if someone hadn't been standing outside, he would have missed the entrance to the hotel. It's tucked on the side of the road and not very obviously so you have to look closely. Once inside, there were a couple of elevators to take to get to the main lobby.

When we arrived in the lobby, we were greeted by the friendly desk clerk with a glass of the famous Amalfi Limoncello (tasty!) and shown to the waiting area while they took our passport and checked us in. It was all very easy. Another interesting item to note is they never asked us for a credit card to hold for incidentals. Now, maybe that is common at a 5 star hotel but - as a solidly middle class kind of gal - this is my first stay at a 5 star. That's never happened before. :)

The hotel itself and the grounds are beautiful. It's interesting what they've done with the decor because it comes off as both modern and also reserved - in a monastic sort of way. I absolutely loved the monochromatic white one white tones - it gave it a crisp, clean, peaceful feel. The views are absolutely stunning. Let me repeat that. The views are absolutely stunning!! The terrace off the lobby overlooks the sea and the edges of the town below and it's like something out of a postcard.

We stayed in a room on the 5th floor and the room decor itself didn't disappoint either. The door itself looked a bit like driftwood yet somehow still fit. the room matched the rest of the hotel in terms of the monochromatic white detailing. I loved the detail of the crystal light sconces next to the bed. They were lovely. The room was small yet spacious - we had a king sized bed (two put together) that was average in terms of comfort. The wardrobe was very roomy and had the mini bar and a safe tucked away inside it. There was also a desk and chair as well as two side chairs and a mini table for eating, talking, whatever. The bathroom was fantastic - it was nearly the size of the main room. I wanted to get the blueprints for that bathroom and build one of my own at home. It had a huge soaking tub that fit both my husband and I, towel warming rack, fully stocked vanity, fluffy robes and slippers and huge bay style windows that opened to overlook the amazing window. (There were similar windows in the main room, as well). The surfaces were travertine - from the floor to part of the wall, to the sink vanity, etc. Take note however, that the plug in the bathroom is only for electric shavers so you can't plug in a dryer if you bring your own. The main room also had the same quirk (it's quirky to me anyway) as other Italian hotels where you had to put your room key in a slot in the wall by the door in order to turn on the lights. I still don't totally get why this is - but I kept forgetting that and not understanding why the lights wouldn't turn on.

We had the breakfast buffet each morning we were there. They had an excellent assortment of meats, cheeses, fruits, pastries, hot foods, juices, coffee and espresso drinks. I would highly recommend eating breakfast on the terrace if the weather is nice. It's unbeatable. We didn't eat dinner in the restaurant but we did order food service (steaks) that were fantastic - albeit pricey (this is room service at an upscale hotel, after all).

The reception staff were wonderful, they had lots of suggestions for things to do in the area and even tried to organize a tour for us to Pompeii. It ended up being cancelled because of the weather but they took care of all the details. My husband also had a bout of food poisoning during our stay (not from eating at the hotel) and the staff was wonderful in terms of explaining the type of medicine to get from the local pharmacy, etc. I also took advantage of an onsite massage while I was there. It was decent - not the best I've ever had but certainly not bad either.

Now for the less than stellar items:
*Internet Connection - The in room internet is only paid. It would be nice if it were complimentary, given the price of the hotel rooms. There is free WiFi available in the lobby but it's pretty patchy and you have to essentially sit in one place. Not ideal, but not entirely unreasonable given the size and design of the hotel.
*Room Alarm/Light - In our room - there was some kind of small, flashing red light located directly over the bed. Maybe a smoke detector?? I'm not quite sure. Lucikly we were fairly exhausted at night or that might have really bothered me.
*We had an issue the first night with the toilet running all night. We closed the door and you couldn't really hear it but still...

We had a wonderful time at this hotel and would definitely recommend staying here.

Room Tip: I don't think it's possible to get a bad room. We had one of the smaller rooms and were stil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zurich
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

Spectacular place. Spectacular view. Small room. Wonderful outdoor facilities. Good Food. Very nice service. But pricey for being a NH hotel and an Italian resort (in may). No wifi in the rooms in case you need. But for a weekend i would go back with my lovely one. Tipp: if you go there by FrecciaRossa, then get off in Salerno and then get the boat (7 minutes walk from the train station). It will cost you 7€...instead of 120€ with a car pick up...

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012 via mobile

Stay here for the views, the frills, and the grand experience. You're poised atop Amalfi, with an epic overview of the coastline, city, and the beautiful blue waters.
Unobstructed views take on a whole new meaning here-you're 1000 feet above the shoreline.
Pluses: the view, the service (Crisculo Antionella at the front desk was wonderfully helpful and kind), the hotels monastery roots, and the gym (yes an actual European hotel with a real life gym).
Cons: perched atop a hill, access to the buses and port requires either taking a shuttle operated by the hotel (once an hour) OR traversing a long hill/set of stairs, which can be rough for fat Americans (fine if you don't mind the workout); the continental breakfast included was so-so at best; the 200 sq ft room had horribly small bathrooms, ie door hitting ur face/knees when on the toilet; very firm mattress; poor maintenance of the property's outdoor facilities, ie, cobwebs in ladies room of the pool, worn pool furniture, etc.
It's clear money was put into the renovation, they just need more staff to support the expansive facilities. Maids were always cleaning the interior facilities and the rooms though, so that's a huge plus.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

Excellent hotel setting overlooking Amalfi with the levels of service you'd expect at this price bracket. Stay relaxing in the hotel grounds during the day until the last of the coaches, buses, sea ferries have left Amalfi.

Has reasonable gym facilities - treadmill, bike, some free weights, and a multi-purpose machine.

The food and decor is very NH but the architecture is totally unique.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

This converted convent is nestled into the hillside above Amalfi and offers stunning views of the coastline and the town. The grounds are absolutely beautiful--the main lobby area is connected to an infinity pool that overlooks the ocean by a lovely colonnade shaded by cypress trees and lemon groves. The rooms are spacious, spotlessly clean and elegantly decorated in muted colors. A lavish breakfast (which I believe comes with most of the rooms) is served on the hotel's outdoor terrace and includes a delicious array of pastries, fruits, savory items, cereals, and fresh squeezed juices. The staff is pleasant and helpful--the front desk staff helped us make reservations at nearby restaurants and also suggested places to visit in town. We loved staying here and would highly recommend this hotel to others who are visiting Amalfi!

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

Many hotels on the Amalfi coast have great views, but you just can't beat this. It has a jetliner view of Amalfi and the coast. The hotel is an easy walk from Amalfi. The staff -- including the valets who put their lives on the line every day -- were very friendly and helpful. Even for a 5 star, the breakfasts were spectacular. Our room was large and clean. The public areas are 5 star all the way. My only gripe is that free wi fi is limited to 30 minutes at a time. For what you pay and expect, there should be no limit.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi

Address: Via Annunziatella, 46 | Amalfi Coast, City Centre, 84011 Amalfi, Italy (Formerly Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi has been and continues to be one of the most significant monuments of the entire Amalfi Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, NHHotels, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.