We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect holiday destination & hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi to your Saves list
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Annunziatella, 46 | Amalfi Coast, City Centre, 84011 Amalfi, Italy (Formerly Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
GreenLeadersGold level
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Perfect holiday destination & hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

Great hotel, we absolutely loved it. Spent most of our time by the pool with the fantastic view. Our friends come down from positano and to visit us and they cancelled their next location to stay here. It's just beautiful.
Unfortunately I misplaced/lost my wedding ring the day we checked out and I still havent heard back from the hotel. They wouldn't let me go back to the room to check for myself, just assured me the cleaners didn't find anything when they completed the room service, so just make sure you Tripple check everything before ou leave your room.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view with a balcony, the sunset's are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    59
    24
    17
    5
See reviews for
37
256
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

This is one of the finest hotel experiences we've ever had, but to be honest, that was partially because we got a discounted upgrade to a suite. I'm sure we would have liked the original room we purchased, but it was hard not to be blown away by the suite. We got commanding views of the Amalfi coast, and an extremely spacious room for the money. The service was impeccable from everyone involved, and we couldn't help but be impressed by the architecture of the convent. The complimentary breakfast spread was also top notch. I'm not sure if we could afford to pay full-price to have the full experience again, but if we could, we'll definitely return. A hotel this nice really helped make a long-planned trip to the Amalfi Coast.

Room Tip: If there's any way you can pay extra to ensure a room with a good view; do so -- how many times...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

We got the train from Rome and a car picked us up at the station in Sorrento. After driving for over an hour in VERY "roller coaster style" thrill ride (roads are very windy) we arrived at the Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi. It seemed we arrived in the middle of nowhere with a great view. You enter at a low level of the hotel. There was a small desk and I was thinking is this going to be another of these "5 Star Mini Hotels", we were told to take elevator to the 5th floor and someone from reception would greet us there, which they did. We went down a very long hallway to the reception area. There is a small desk there too with a large lounge just past it and a HUGE dining room. We were offered a complimentary drink which we accepted while we were checked in.

We were shown to our room shortly after - through a different elevator. The room was magnificent. It is very modern in a 12th Century building. The view from the window was breathtaking. There was a desk, and a day double bed and a King size bed. We were trilled to see that they even had a walk in closet which could easily store all our luggage. The FULL Marble bathroom was STUNNING. It was one of the nicest bathrooms I have ever seen. Absolutely magnificent.

The breakfast was good, and the Hotel staff friendly but not everyone speaks English very well, particularly the guys who first greets you in downstairs lobby which was kind of where I would think that it is needed most. After we had settled in the room and were ready to explore, we asked how to get something to eat as the restaurant only accepts reservations. He said he could get us a taxi. It cost 10 Euros for a 3 minute drive.

We later discovered that there is a staircase from the hotel to the town, but just FYI - staircase is steep and long. The Hotel is located on a hill with nothing beside it and walking down road to village is a death wish. The roads are extremely narrow and cars don't care how fast they go and are definitely not concerned about pedestrians.

There is very few parking spaces outside the hotel, so keep that in mind too.

The Vanishing edge pool is magnificent, with the edge looking like it flows into the ocean.

Unfortunately we did not get to experience the spa, but were offered a 10% discount coupon when we arrived and prices seemed pretty reasonable.

The restaurant is very expensive and again it requires a booking for both Lunch and Dinner. There are tons of places to eat in the village that are much for reasonable and accessible.

All in all, a magnificent hotel, rich in history with fantastic modern design, which I would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Don't think there is a bad room in whole hotel, but definitely get a ocean facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

we stayed at the deluxe double room with sea view, which had a little porch watching directly over the bay area and the main square of Amalfi.

the hotel grounds consists of a few beautiful gardens, an amazing infinity pool and connecting pathways which give a chance for a short romantic stroll. stunning architecture, beautiful interior design and a spacious and very comfortable beautifully-decorated room. luxurious bathroom.

the american-style breakfast includes a large variety of fresh baked goods served in a beautiful dining room that has an outdoor terrace overlooking the bay.
the hotel staff were welcoming and very helpful throughout the day.

the major downside of this hotel is the fact that it is located on a cliff, which requires you to walk about 10 mins to the town in one of two ways: (1) climb a steep stairway leading to the marina, or (2) walk on the main road through a narrow tunnel. but we highly recommend this hotel - it is worth the effort!

besides that, you cannot establish an internet connection (WIFI of other) from the room. it is only available around the hotel lobby using a user+password you get from the hotel reception.

Room Tip: the sea-view side is a must at this hotel thanks to the amazing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

We stayed here for a week in May. While the architecture of the hotel, its location and the views are undoubtedly beautiful, the management clearly think that that is sufficient. It is not.

Rooms are bare. The quality of the daily cleaning was haphazard and inconsistent; when we arrived there was an ashtray full of cigarette butts outside on our balcony! The whole room and balcony should be completely cleaned and tidied up perfectly every day, and frequently this was not done. The cleaners need to be trained properly.

Unless you speak Italian, the TV is essentially out of bounds. No movies on demand, no (or just one) English-speaking channels. Why have a TV? Of course we did not go to Amalfi to sit in our rooms and watch TV, but sometimes, after a long walk or after a big day out, it would have been nice to slump into bed (which was very comfortable by the way), order room service and watch a movie.

The "spa" is a joke! This is a newly renovated hotel - they could have done something special, for example a gym room overlooking the spectacular bay and a real spa centre. Instead there is one tiny gym room with secondary equipment and the air con wasn't even working. The "spa" is a tiny room with a message bed on it. Come on, this is not 5 star.

Finally, the breakfast was average at best. The coffee tasted weak; the fruit and cheese selection was ok but a bit bland and the hot food such as scrambled eggs was frequently cold (somethign I only realised after I had put some on my plate and walked all the way back to my table).

They need to have a complete re-think, and stop relying so heavily on their good looks.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

This hotel was absolutely gorgeous. We stayed here in September 2011 for our honeymoon and it was just perfect. The hotel is set up on the cliffs behind amalfi and has incredible views over the sea and amalfi coast line. There is a short 5 min walk down into amalfi where there is a a stairway down to the village. The hotel does offer a shuttle bus but we never felt it necessary to use this as it was such a short walk. Our room was lovely, very clean and quite spacious. Our only negative was the bathroom was quite small and shower not 5*. The breakfast was a wonderful buffet of hot bacon eggs, hams, cheeses, croissants of every variety, toast, quiche, cereal, fruit and cake! Different varieties of coffee are offered at breakfast and served at the table. The staff were all very friendly and answered all our questions with ease. We did not eat dinner in the hotel as we felt it was vastly overpriced. Our only other complaint is lack of business centre and limited internet access. However the overall experience was wonderful and a really lovely place to spend our honeymoon.

Room Tip: We had a sea view but no balcony so not sure this is worth the money?
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halstead, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

The hotel is in a great location overlooking Amalfi. Breakfast outside on the terrace is the perfect start to the day! Staff are extremely friendly, helpful and efficient. Our room was a little overpriced, but this was compensated by the great views and relaxing atmosphere. Would definitely go back again!

Room Tip: I think all rooms have a sea view, but check out the room size before you confirm booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi

Address: Via Annunziatella, 46 | Amalfi Coast, City Centre, 84011 Amalfi, Italy (Formerly Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi has been and continues to be one of the most significant monuments of the entire Amalfi Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, NHHotels, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.