We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Galea

La Galea
Via Lorenzo d'Amalfi 30, Amalfi, Italy
+39 089 872351
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 102 Restaurants in Amalfi
Price range: $26 - $57
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: La Galea restaurant is in the center of Amalfi, a few meters from the beautiful Piazza Duomo and his famous Cathedral.The restaurnt offers spacious rooms, with air conditioning, and an high quality italian cuisine. La Galea is a fixed destination of many tourists who choose every year the Amalfi Coast for their holidays.Dishes based on fish but also meat on the menu at this restaurant without losing sight of the tradition of local cuisine and local products. In addition you can enjoy a great neapolitan pizza.
Central Coast, NSW, Australia
Level Contributor
427 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 489 helpful votes
“Good value, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Four of us stopped for lunch here and we were very happy with the meal. Not too expensive, good quality typical Italian food, in a clean restaurant with a lively atmosphere. I'd recommend this spot if you are in Amalfi.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 1800hammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent food, friendly service, great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

The food here is delicious and the service is friendly and efficient. My mother and each had a pasta course that was huge, shared an appetizer and had 3 glasses of wine and the bill was only €30, which is about $45. We liked it so much we went back a couple of nights later. There's no outdoor seating (no room for it), but you can still sit by the open door if you want to people watch.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Isis0821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornhill, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Excellent!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

One of the best places to get food in Amalfi at a VERY reasonable price. Amazing pizzas and my son loved the mushroom soup.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lulag06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely pasta”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Had the ravioli with ricotta and prawns in a lovely sauce wonderful - came back for a second night and it was just as good

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bardonator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut
Level Contributor
204 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Pure Italian feel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We dined in La Galea twice during our stay in Amalfi. The mushroom soup and vegetable soup was very yummy. We tried the fish platters and the fried calamari and shrimps. They were very good. We loved the local house white wine we ordered. The dessert was very good also. The owner was so nice to offer us a Limoncello shot by the end of our meal. Cheers

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Xena1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Galea also viewed

Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to La Galea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing