We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Galea

La Galea
Via Lorenzo d'Amalfi 30, Amalfi, Italy
+39 089 872351
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 95 Restaurants in Amalfi
Price range: $26 - $57
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: La Galea restaurant is in the center of Amalfi, a few meters from the beautiful Piazza Duomo and his famous Cathedral.The restaurnt offers spacious rooms, with air conditioning, and an high quality italian cuisine. La Galea is a fixed destination of many tourists who choose every year the Amalfi Coast for their holidays.Dishes based on fish but also meat on the menu at this restaurant without losing sight of the tradition of local cuisine and local products. In addition you can enjoy a great neapolitan pizza.
Central Coast, NSW, Australia
Top Contributor
428 reviews 428 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 120 cities Reviews in 120 cities
371 helpful votes 371 helpful votes
“Good value, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Four of us stopped for lunch here and we were very happy with the meal. Not too expensive, good quality typical Italian food, in a clean restaurant with a lively atmosphere. I'd recommend this spot if you are in Amalfi.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    87
    24
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent food, friendly service, great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

The food here is delicious and the service is friendly and efficient. My mother and each had a pasta course that was huge, shared an appetizer and had 3 glasses of wine and the bill was only €30, which is about $45. We liked it so much we went back a couple of nights later. There's no outdoor seating (no room for it), but you can still sit by the open door if you want to people watch.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornhill, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

One of the best places to get food in Amalfi at a VERY reasonable price. Amazing pizzas and my son loved the mushroom soup.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lovely pasta”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Had the ravioli with ricotta and prawns in a lovely sauce wonderful - came back for a second night and it was just as good

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Pure Italian feel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We dined in La Galea twice during our stay in Amalfi. The mushroom soup and vegetable soup was very yummy. We tried the fish platters and the fried calamari and shrimps. They were very good. We loved the local house white wine we ordered. The dessert was very good also. The owner was so nice to offer us a Limoncello shot by the end of our meal. Cheers

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Galea also viewed

Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to La Galea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Galea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.