We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location in the main street” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Galea

La Galea
Via Lorenzo d'Amalfi 30, Amalfi, Italy
+39 089 872351
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 95 Restaurants in Amalfi
Price range: $26 - $57
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: La Galea restaurant is in the center of Amalfi, a few meters from the beautiful Piazza Duomo and his famous Cathedral.The restaurnt offers spacious rooms, with air conditioning, and an high quality italian cuisine. La Galea is a fixed destination of many tourists who choose every year the Amalfi Coast for their holidays.Dishes based on fish but also meat on the menu at this restaurant without losing sight of the tradition of local cuisine and local products. In addition you can enjoy a great neapolitan pizza.
England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice location in the main street”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Had a really good evening here, nice service, great food, good price and great location. Not near the sea but in the main thorughfare.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    80
    23
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Italy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Bought a bottle of their limoncello!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Stayed at Amalfi for 4 nights, the first thing was to find something "truly Italian" to eat. We were suggested La galea upon arrival. Since then, we were there for 3 dinners....the dishes were served perfectly, for example, the "frittura mista di pesce" wouldn't have been so tender and crispy if not cooked and served hot. Their pastas were very good-flavoured and abundant. Because they closed on Wednesdays, that was why we couldn't dine there the last night.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good food, RUDE waiter”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

The food is good for the price you pay, which is really good considering Amalfi prices. The service is not charged as in other places. As usual in turistic restaurants in Italy, the waiters tend to clear the table before you have ended your last bite, and while doing that, the waiter dumped my full glass of beer just saying "mannaggia" without even offering an apology. When I saw that in the bill they were charging me for the full beer that the waiter had dropped, I complained, and then the waiter, in the rudest possible way, brought a beer, served me a glass, and dropped the rest to trash in front of me. The price can be good, the food can be excellent, but everything can be ruined by a rude waiter!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Mountains National Park, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place in Amalfi.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

We ate here twice on our visit to Amalfi. We were recommended by the hotel and we weren't disappointed! The prices were great and the menu was appropriately varied. The dishes were delicious and with the 1/2 L of wine for €6 you can't go wrong!

We can definitely recommend the gnocchi at La Galea.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best pizza in Italy....no, the world!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stopped off for lunch here on our day touring the Amalfi coast on a scooter. We didn't really look too closely at the menu cos we were starving and the place looked busy which is always a good sign. Service was efficient and I ordered a pizza which was easily the best I have ever tasted! It had a lovely crispy dough and loads of Parma ham and rocket on top, truly delicious. My husband is a celiac and ordered an omelette which he said was lovely but it was quite small for him so I ended up giving him a pile of my Parma ham and rocket as I had so much. The price was reasonable and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Galea also viewed

Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to La Galea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Galea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.