We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best sfogiatelle” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pasticceria Andrea Pansa

Pasticceria Andrea Pansa
Piazza Duomo 40, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 94 restaurants in Amalfi
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Best sfogiatelle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Love their sfogiatelle with lemon cream!!!
Had it in quite a few different pastry shop and this was the best.
Most of the other place only offer ricotta filling but I much prefer their lemon cream :)
the pastry was crispy !!
I miss it already... they should open a shop in london :)
It was 3.5 euro for take away .. a little pricier than other ones but I don't mind paying a little more for it!
We've also tried their lemon sponge cake - very moist!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    188
    72
    17
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“You pay for what you get!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I'd agree with most of the other contributors. This old-established pasticerria is in a great spot close to the very attractive Duomo for having an afternoon tea in the sun with a stunning cake selection. You can sit and watch life in the main square and enjoy a tea and cake for €10/head which in my book is OK for the experience. Service is classically Italian but certainly isn't pushy - go for it, you only live once.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Cakes Galore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

This delightful shop is a must to visit when in Amalfi. Delicious cakes and great place to sit and enjoy the atmosphere of the town centre.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach area
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best Pastry; great service; great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Dont let the reviews about it costing a little more to eat at a table outside stop you from doing just that. First of all, their pastries were excellent (and we are use to great Italian pastry from Boston/NY). I dont drink coffee but my husband was very happy with his. We got a table outside and we were never rushed to give it up. We took our time, ate several different pastries (loved the rum baba, a round thin pastry with delicious ricotta/choc chips inside mmmmm, etc etc). It was a beautiful evening, lots of people in the square to people watch, and a bonus piano concert that took place right next door on the steps of the duomo. Service is awesome, friendly. All I can say is it was worth every calorie!!! As a matter of fact, it ended up being our dinner that night. Went back for more the next day. So sit down, savor and take in all the sights around you. You wont be disappointed!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent pastry right in the central square”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

If you want to sample the regional pastry, go there and have anything. It's just fantastic. Sitting outside and having a coffee might be a little expensive by italian standards (which is to say you'll probably pay like anywhere else outside of Italy), but you're on the Amalfi coast and a coffee with sfogliatelle is worth more than a hundred stops at starbucks.
Sit down, watch people, wait for the boat to the beach and enjoy.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pasticceria Andrea Pansa also viewed

Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Pasticceria Andrea Pansa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pasticceria Andrea Pansa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.