We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, perfect self catering accommodation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amalfi Holiday Resort

Save Saved
You added Amalfi Holiday Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Amalfi Holiday Resort
Via M. del Giudice, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Excellent location, perfect self catering accommodation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Seasoned travellers to the Amalfi coast will know that there's no end of holiday type options available to this glorious part of the world. On this occasion we were enjoying a perfect girls holiday!! We booked in January for a July break and the resort was practically full by then. When searching for accommodation our wish list was:

1.Self catering
2. Steps from the Piazza
3. Nearby shops
4. Walking distance to the port for transfers to the hidden private beaches

Amalfi Holiday Resort ticked every box and did not disappoint!

We were also very happy to find a resort that allowed a 5 night booking - many resorts insist on 7 nights min stay in high season.

Having read reviews about the lack of reception, we were not surprised to find no management or reception, and our wait on the street for entry into the apartments was not worrying, although really not ideal. The steps up to the apartment with luggage is not for the faint hearted so don't travel heavy unless you've a strong man to carry your bags for you Lol!

The pool is a true asset in Amalfi town - genuinely a very rare luxury. Although small, it's perfect for cooling down and the sun loungers dotted around the pool are comfortable and much used.

This really was a fantastic location and we had the best girls holiday ever here, so we will most definitely return annually all going well!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    7
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
21
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I would thoroughly recommend staying here. The apartment was lovely and pool a joy to onsite - not something even every hotel has in Amalfi. The apartments are super, very clean, cool and airy. Susy and Lino, the proprietors are most welcoming, although ring, text or email them with your arrival time on the day, so they can be there to organise your bags and you to the apartments.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Spacious and well appointed apartments with a great pool and outdoor area. Catered extremely well to our family of 5 with three children under 10 years old. Close to the heart of town but far enough away to be part of the residential area and very quiet and relaxing. Nothing is further than a 5-10 walk away. A little hard to locate from the ferry port when pulling suitcases as it is hard to gauge distance up the street and which town entry point to take. Take the street opposite the Flavia Goia statue with the gelataria on the left hand side corner and head up the main street for 250m until you go under the reddish building that spans the street. After the first walk it appears easy! Would stay again!

Room Tip: You must have the contact details for Suzy and Lino before arriving. There is no dedicated reception...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We (2 adults, 2 children aged 9 and 12) spent 3 nights here. The apartments and the resort grounds are beautiful, and it is a fairly short walk to the town centre. The swimming pool was picturesque and very clean. The apartments are tastefully decorated and spacious.

However, the resort did not appear to us to be well managed. We would have given it a 5/excellent rating but for this.

I made our reservation via booking.com and arrived at the resort at the time we had indicated via booking.com when we made the reservation. There is no reception, all you get to is a green gate at the top of a set of stairs. The gate was locked. There was a buzzer, which I rang, but to no avail. I pleaded with the shopkeeper opposite for help and he managed to push the gate open (with quite a bit of force!). I entered the resort and spoke to some of the guests, but there was no sign of the owners/managers. There was no way of checking in. My family was still in the car which was parked in the midst of a very narrow pedestrianized road.

So we went to lunch down by the port and I managed, with the help of a very kind waiter, to call the owner on her mobile (one of the guests at the resort had given me her number when I broke in). I arranged to meet her in 20 minutes at the front gate of the resort but when I arrived there was nobody there - again!!!

In despair (and with my family parked in the pedestrianized road - again!) , I walked down the street and met Salvatore, the lovely man who manages the car park that the resort uses. He is a great guy. He took our car into the garage where we had prearranged parking (I dread to think of what happens if you haven't prearranged this....). He then took us into the resort and let us into our apartment. That guy deserves a raise - or maybe he should be paid to run the resort as well as the car park.

The owners did eventually turn up later that day, to get our passports and payment.

So in summary this is a really good place to say, well located, and beautiful, but if you do decide to stay here make sure that you have a mobile phone that works in Amalfi, as well as the mobile phone numbers of the managers. As I said above, were it not for this issue I would have rated the resort as a 5.

Also, as a final note, you will need to bring or buy your own soap, there is none provided. And a couple of rolls of toilet paper if you are likely to exhaust the one provided.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Stayed here last minute as the hotel we had booked apparently hadn't been booked, doh!

They thankfully were extremely helpful as everyone in southern Italy seems to be and by the time we had walked up the steps to reception had booked us in with these guys just 20 meters away for the same price we were due to pay.

This is more of a place where you stay for more than a few days as the rooms are apartments equipped with kitchens and living rooms. Tastefully decorated and very clean. The pool is a bonus as these are hard to come by in Amalfi.

Suzy and Lino were wonderfully receiving and extremely helpful.

Can't fault it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portsmouth
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Just returned from 4 days in Amalfi attending a family wedding! Apartments perfect for us! 2 family groups. Suzy gave us a lovely welcome. Apartments were spacious, well equipped, cool, central location but not noisy! Swimming pool and outside area topped it off for us. Great to sit with family on terrace areas and boys loved the pool. Would also recommend salvatores taxi service, who collected 9 of us from and to Naples airport.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire, England
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We chose the Resort as our "rest" end to a three week train jaunt across Europe and were very pleased with the choice.
Most key points have been mentioned. The pool is great, the apartment well equipped and the location fantastic at the top of the main Amalfi street. A welcome bottle of wine was a nice extra touch as was letting us use a spare room to shower after we had formally checked out of ours.
While not the cheapest place to stay, we will certainly consider again if we return to Amalfi.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Amalfi Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amalfi Holiday Resort

Address: Via M. del Giudice, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty lodging in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Booking.com, Agoda, Tingo and Priceline so you can book your Amalfi Holiday Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amalfi Holiday Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.