We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amalfi Holiday Resort

Save Saved
You added Amalfi Holiday Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Amalfi Holiday Resort
Via M. del Giudice, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Amalfi
Stamford, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Stay here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I would thoroughly recommend staying here. The apartment was lovely and pool a joy to onsite - not something even every hotel has in Amalfi. The apartments are super, very clean, cool and airy. Susy and Lino, the proprietors are most welcoming, although ring, text or email them with your arrival time on the day, so they can be there to organise your bags and you to the apartments.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    13
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
24
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Spacious and well appointed apartments with a great pool and outdoor area. Catered extremely well to our family of 5 with three children under 10 years old. Close to the heart of town but far enough away to be part of the residential area and very quiet and relaxing. Nothing is further than a 5-10 walk away. A little hard to locate from the ferry port when pulling suitcases as it is hard to gauge distance up the street and which town entry point to take. Take the street opposite the Flavia Goia statue with the gelataria on the left hand side corner and head up the main street for 250m until you go under the reddish building that spans the street. After the first walk it appears easy! Would stay again!

Room Tip: You must have the contact details for Suzy and Lino before arriving. There is no dedicated reception...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We (2 adults, 2 children aged 9 and 12) spent 3 nights here. The apartments and the resort grounds are beautiful, and it is a fairly short walk to the town centre. The swimming pool was picturesque and very clean. The apartments are tastefully decorated and spacious.

However, the resort did not appear to us to be well managed. We would have given it a 5/excellent rating but for this.

I made our reservation via booking.com and arrived at the resort at the time we had indicated via booking.com when we made the reservation. There is no reception, all you get to is a green gate at the top of a set of stairs. The gate was locked. There was a buzzer, which I rang, but to no avail. I pleaded with the shopkeeper opposite for help and he managed to push the gate open (with quite a bit of force!). I entered the resort and spoke to some of the guests, but there was no sign of the owners/managers. There was no way of checking in. My family was still in the car which was parked in the midst of a very narrow pedestrianized road.

So we went to lunch down by the port and I managed, with the help of a very kind waiter, to call the owner on her mobile (one of the guests at the resort had given me her number when I broke in). I arranged to meet her in 20 minutes at the front gate of the resort but when I arrived there was nobody there - again!!!

In despair (and with my family parked in the pedestrianized road - again!) , I walked down the street and met Salvatore, the lovely man who manages the car park that the resort uses. He is a great guy. He took our car into the garage where we had prearranged parking (I dread to think of what happens if you haven't prearranged this....). He then took us into the resort and let us into our apartment. That guy deserves a raise - or maybe he should be paid to run the resort as well as the car park.

The owners did eventually turn up later that day, to get our passports and payment.

So in summary this is a really good place to say, well located, and beautiful, but if you do decide to stay here make sure that you have a mobile phone that works in Amalfi, as well as the mobile phone numbers of the managers. As I said above, were it not for this issue I would have rated the resort as a 5.

Also, as a final note, you will need to bring or buy your own soap, there is none provided. And a couple of rolls of toilet paper if you are likely to exhaust the one provided.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Stayed here last minute as the hotel we had booked apparently hadn't been booked, doh!

They thankfully were extremely helpful as everyone in southern Italy seems to be and by the time we had walked up the steps to reception had booked us in with these guys just 20 meters away for the same price we were due to pay.

This is more of a place where you stay for more than a few days as the rooms are apartments equipped with kitchens and living rooms. Tastefully decorated and very clean. The pool is a bonus as these are hard to come by in Amalfi.

Suzy and Lino were wonderfully receiving and extremely helpful.

Can't fault it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portsmouth
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Just returned from 4 days in Amalfi attending a family wedding! Apartments perfect for us! 2 family groups. Suzy gave us a lovely welcome. Apartments were spacious, well equipped, cool, central location but not noisy! Swimming pool and outside area topped it off for us. Great to sit with family on terrace areas and boys loved the pool. Would also recommend salvatores taxi service, who collected 9 of us from and to Naples airport.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire, England
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We chose the Resort as our "rest" end to a three week train jaunt across Europe and were very pleased with the choice.
Most key points have been mentioned. The pool is great, the apartment well equipped and the location fantastic at the top of the main Amalfi street. A welcome bottle of wine was a nice extra touch as was letting us use a spare room to shower after we had formally checked out of ours.
While not the cheapest place to stay, we will certainly consider again if we return to Amalfi.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

We had read mixed reviews about the place so were a bit unsure about what we would experience at this resort. It was fantastic with everything working really smoothly. The apartment we had was large, spacious, well appointed and importantly for August had great air conditioning. The swimming pool was a 10 metre walk from our apartment and whilst small provided a great place to cool off when the need arose.

Our initial arrival was a bit messy with noone being there to greet us and us having to leave a message before the lovely Suzy turned up to give us our keys. This was a minor inconvenience in the scheme of things and was forgotten within 10 min of getting into our apartment!

The highlight for us (and this may sound very unusual) was the place we parked our car. It was a garage 30 metres from the apartment and the owner Salvatore was fantastic! He helped us with our luggage when we arrived and during our four day stay was a friendly face to talk to whenever we needed local advice. Salvatore spoke perfect English (10 years in USA) and so was THE person to turn to for any advice (who needs the local tourism office...)

We found Amalfi to be a great location and the resort was located in just the right place away from the major hustle and bustle of the town yet only a 7 min walk to the beach. Driving through the narrow street with pedestrians walking all around to get to the resort was something we will remember also for a long time.

Happily recommend this place to anyone looking for a relaxing break. We wished we could have stayed longer. We will be returning in the future.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amalfi Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amalfi Holiday Resort

Address: Via M. del Giudice, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Amalfi Holiday Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amalfi Holiday Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.