We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great family-run restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Risto

Risto
Piazza dei Dogi, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
089 872625
Improve this listing
Ranked #91 of 102 Restaurants in Amalfi
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A great family-run restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Amalfi is full of restaurants which, whilst friendly on the surface, appear to hustle tourists. This restaurant is different, run by a couple and their (adult) children. Quiet, almost diffident, but excellent food and good value. We returned there a couple of days later for lunch, and were greeted as old friends - which was nice.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    9
    2
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Forest, California
1 review
“A hidden gem.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

I had mixed sea food salad. So fresh and delicious. My husband had spaghetti bolognese, again, freshly made. We spent 13 days in Italy and this was the best food we ate. I would return in a heartbeat. Staff were very friendly. We went there when we noticed our tour guide eating there.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“a hidden little gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

Not on the main square or main street but in a little piazza just off. Small, only about 4 or 5 tables. Fresh cooked pasta ..large portions. Very reasonably priced.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Ain, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Molto Buono!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Risto is a small quaint little place off of the main piazza in Amalfi. We stopped in for a little refreshment and were treated like we were the only people who visited. No doubt you'll enjoy your time here!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Friendly family service and fresh local food..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

The owners were very friendly (even though they don't speak English) and seemed to really care whether or not we enjoyed our meal (more than I can say for a lot of the other restaurants in Amalfi). I had the special - seafood risotto, and my husband had scallopine al funghi. Cover charge was 2EU per person.

The risotto (10EU) was fresh and crisp tasting (no cream base) with cherry tomatoes, fresh octopus, mussels and clams (vongole). It was low on seasoning but they provide that for you to add to your taste. The rice was slightly aldente and it did not have cheese, so was very refreshing and light, not at all heavy - similar to a paella.

The scallopine al funghi (12EU) was delightful with a buttery mushroom sauce and so, so tender. No cream in the sauce so again it wasn't too heavy.

We ordered the mixed vegetable salad (5EU) to share which was beautifully grilled and marinated capsicum (peppers), eggplant (aubergine) and pumpkin.

All served with fresh, chewy bread.

Overall, it was really nice and we would go there again.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Risto also viewed

 
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Risto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Risto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.