We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, easy to find, near main bus parking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taverna degli Apostoli

Taverna degli Apostoli
Piazza del Duomo, Amalfi, Italy
089 872991
Update restaurant details
Ranked #22 of 92 restaurants in Amalfi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
St. George, Utah
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good food, easy to find, near main bus parking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

This restaurant is about 200m from where all the tourist buses park. When staring at the cathedral steps, the restaurant is up at the top of the set of stairs which runs just to the left of the cathedral stairs. My wife loved her pasta, and I thought my "soup of the day" was good. The place is small, and has the charm of being able to look out at the people....looking at the cathedral. We enjoyed the fresh pressed lemonade, made with the local lemons.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    111
    66
    15
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vilnius, Lithuania
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Overrated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

It is on the side way from duomo with a fine view over piazza. Food was mediocre, my calamary were overcooked and hard like a gum. Fish of the day (sea bass) was too big for 1 person to eat, some 800 grms. House wine below average. Would go some other place away from main touristic traps.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Don't waste ur TIME AND MONEY”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Restaurant's surroundings r fascinating but I was offerred a really slow service, average food and poor wine and it resulted that they don't accept payment cards. After I had to obtain cash and brought it to a waiter, he wanted to compensate offering a limoncello shot (1€) - isnt't it too cheap to be better not offerred??

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuckfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Friendly, bustling, great location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We have demanding standards when we escape for a week in the UK to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Because it's January, it has to be warm and very comfortable. And it has to have big windows and a view in case we decide the weather's too awful to go out (as it was several times this year!) Shellseekers ticked all the boxes and is quite lovely. It has been thoughtfully appointed and beautifully decorated. It is small but feels much more spacious inside than you might think. The view is spectacular as you watch the waves surfing in across the beach below. For an out-of-season escape ( January: very out of season indeed) it fitted the bill perfectly, giving us a much needed respite from the daily grind. The opportunity to spend time doing nothing much except read, guilt-free, in such a setting was very welcome indeed. A few things that it would have been worth knowing about beforehand are included here. The chalet is about 100m from the road, along a narrow path, steep at first, that gets quite muddy when it's been raining. Don't expect your wheelie suitcase to be much use. And if you are less able you might struggle. Bring waterproofs: at one point we wore waterproof coats, overtrousers and walking boots just to get to and from the car! If you plan to go out at night, bring torches. We were able to enjoy solitude: but we came in January. In high season you could find yourself sitting down to a barbecue on the decking a metre or so from people doing the same in the chalet next door. Don't expect two bedrooms. The 'second bedroom' is more of an antechamber between the double bedroom and the bathroom: there is no door separating the one and a half single beds from the lounge area. Not a problem for us as we came as a couple and used it as a handy utility area, but if you have youngsters used to their own room they (and you) could be in for a surprise. And it was less clean than we would have liked when we arrived. I cleaned the bath whilst my wife cleaned the fridge. And we decided against using the microwave on the basis that it presented a health hazard. We mentioned this to the owner in response to her 'welcome' SMS, but got no response. A acknowledgement/apology would have been nice; a bottle of wine even nicer. Finally, at the time of writing, the path to the beach is closed due to landslip and subsidence. We chanced it but I don't know for how much longer that will be possible unless it's repaired. But not to be churlish, none of this spoiled our week, and I'd recommend Shellseekers (with the reservations above).

*********************




John Gandys bar
Ok, we were seduced by the sign proclaiming the 'best burgers in Exeter'. That an the fact that it was a cold day, we were hungry, and 'Bill's' further up the road had a queue out onto the pavement. Well it was a smart move. The bar (bistro?) has a nice ambience and a good mix of lunchtime customers. We both went for the beefburgers with a couple of added extras and although I'm not well versed enough to decide if they really were the best in Exeter, they were very good indeed. And the fries were amongst the best I've tasted anywhere. What set XXXX apart though was the cheery and enthusiastic guy who served us. I didn't get his name, but he was Antipodean and he made all the difference. From his friendly welcome through his attentive service, to his farewell as we left, we could have been long-time buddies. Go sample the burgers and fries!

Flaneur
We dined as a party of four at Flaneur on a Friday evening: having already eaten there as a couple we were keen to introduce some friends to this new Cuckfield bistro. Flaneur prizes itself on its French style, evident in the adjacent shop and the 'bistro' feel: scrubbed tables, painted chairs and everything carefully unmatching. We were warmly welcomed and looked after throughout the evening by Laura and Harriet, whose service was friendly, efficient and attentive without ever being intrusive. The menu is limited to four starters and four mains (including a veggie option), but changes regularly. Grilled halloumi was a well received starter: I had an excellent chestnut mushroom soup. Moussaka with a very good salad was one of the mains and was delicious, with another of our party singing the praises of a summer salmon and crayfish pie. For me though, the highlight was the lime and ginger cheesecake! (That and a very reasonably priced and easy-drinking Rioja.) It was a lovely evening with an atmosphere combining the intimacy of a small restaurant with the buzz of a pavement cafe ( and when it's warm enough, the full length windows open onto an outside terrace). Thank you to David and Caroline for bringing a little bit of the continent to Cuckfield!



Luna Conventa
The hotel is situated on a headland just east of the centre of Amalfi, in fairly easy walking distance from the town (though bear in mind there is no pavement!): entrance from street level is via a lift which takes you to reception, in one of the cloisters. The history of this wonderful building now begins to become clear as the cloisters surround a beautiful courtyard, set with tables and chairs: a fine spot for a pre-dinner drink. We were initially placed in room 12: a 'standard' room and though fairly small, it had a beautiful painted ceiling and one of the original arched windows. It was however right by the lift lobby, and being above a bend in the road was too noisy for light sleepers such as us. We asked for a move and this was facilitated the next morning without fuss. We were given room 7 which was ideal as we were then next to our friends. Again, a small room, but it did have a tiny balcony with views across the bay, and was much more peaceful. Breakfast was a generous buffet affair, with the option of sitting on an outside terrace on a fine morning. We loved this hotel: the service was polite, friendly and attentive and the hotel itself a real gem. We especially liked the tiled floors throughout, the painted ceilings in the restaurant, and the sense of history. It was also refreshing to note the lack of nagging notices in the bedroom and bathroom: the towels were changed regularly without the plea to consider the environment (which actually translates as a plea to consider the hotel's laundry bill!) Would return like a shot and recommend without hesitation.

Monday

We ate here having seen the recommendation in the Rough Guide and were very pleased with our choice. We sat outside: the restaurant nestles under the cathedral wall, close enough to the main square to pick up the bustling atmosphere but secluded enough not to feel hemmed in by crowds. We were made to feel very welcome and our helpful waiter took time to lead us through the menu. I had the local white fish in 'mad water' which was sweet and tender, but the main course was somewhat upstaged by the shared starter, a combination platter of marinated anchovies, mozzarella in lemon leaves, bruschetta, zucchini and sweet peppers - don't miss it! Thoroughly enjoyed our evening here!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic service and ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I went to this restaurant with my husband and friend and we were given a table outside. The view is amazing, the food was fantastic but what made it so special was how great and friendly and helpful the owner was who was waiting our table. He really made us feel treated very well and very much added to the whole evening.

I would definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone wanting a great meal in an incredible location with great service and a smile.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna degli Apostoli also viewed

 
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Taverna degli Apostoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taverna degli Apostoli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.