We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This restaurant is obviously overestimated by reviewers” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Taverna degli Apostoli

Taverna degli Apostoli
Piazza del Duomo, Amalfi, Italy
089 872991
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 102 Restaurants in Amalfi
Cuisines: Italian, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
moscow
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“This restaurant is obviously overestimated by reviewers”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had dinner at this restaurant at the very first day of our stay in Amalfi this year because it was recommended at our hotel as good place for eating fish. This is our 7th stay in Amalfi and we really love this city. So we can compare this restaurant with others visited during our previous visits to Amalfi. We were very dissapointed, because my fish was not fresh at all, though it was a "fish of the day', and both I and my husband had some stomack problems caused by "local white wine", which we tried in this restaurant. So we think that this restaurant is apparently overestimated by the travellers writing reviews.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    98
    27
    16
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield County, CT
Level Contributor
171 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Genuine italian food done very well + a great location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Nestled right under the stairs (left side) of Sant' Andrea church in Amalfi this restaurant serves typical italian pasta and food. What they do is done very well and the food they serve is excellent.
We had a large group and both adults and children loved the food. A great place for dinner after a day of sightseeing and there are plenty of gelato stores nearby for dessert.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carluke scotland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Rip Off”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We had a meal at this restaurant and found the food to be average. The waiter tried to get us to have a starter each but we insisted on one to share. Just as well it cost 18euros. This was not on the menu and was suggested by the waiter. 65euros for vegetables and pasta is grossly overpriced especially when they refused to accept payment by card and insisted cash only which was advised at the end meal. If you don't want ripped off avoid this place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolzano-Italia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good, healty food in Amalfi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Taverna degli apostoli is located right in Amalfi's centre, right on top of the stairs to the wonderful cathedral: what a great place to est, listen soft music, est healty food. In the kitchen the motore cook traditional dishes, but with a bit of creativity: not many plates, but good quality and quantity. Really resonable price. You eat and, at the same time, you can watch people walkin, the little town bright in the night: amazing!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“I LOVE IT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Great quality home made food, excellent and friendly service, great location, right beside the Dom of Amalfi, with a nice yet more reserved view on the main square, soft jazz music was playing and I loved my Spaghetti al pesto di limone... superbe taste!
Will definitely head back there one day :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna degli Apostoli also viewed

 

Been to Taverna degli Apostoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taverna degli Apostoli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.