We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good restaurant in a very nice position” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Pizzeria Sant'Andrea

Ristorante Pizzeria Sant'Andrea
Piazza Duomo, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
+39 089871023
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #57 of 94 restaurants in Amalfi
Cuisines: Pizza
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Salerno, Italy
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“good restaurant in a very nice position”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

The restaurant is one of the oldest in Amalfi and is located in the beautiful main square, just next to the main steps of the Cathedral. Because of this, the view you get is just beautiful and the athmosfere very pleasant and relaxing. It's a very touristic place, but I do not mean that in a negative sense, after all most of the restaurants in Amalfi are usually packed by tourists. Food is usually good (I have been several times), prices are very reasonable, taking into account the position of the reaturant. You can spend a very nice evening there. Recommended

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

56% Recommend
    19
    22
    15
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Daytona Beach area
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Decent food;great for people watching”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

My husband and I ate here twice during our Amalfi stay. I had the same thing both times ( when you have a winner, stick with it). I had a simple dish of spaghetti alio olio (with a little crushed red pepper) and it was very good. The pasta was cooked perfectly al dente both times. Again, a simple dish, very tasty, cooked perfectly. Great outdoor sitting area where we could get off our tired feet, take our time, enjoy the people watching right there in the square and catch a nice breeze coming off the water. Service was good too. Sorry I cannot vouch for other dishes. My husband had the pizza and it was just ok but remember, it is surprisingly hard to find good pizza, even in Rome-unless you are in the Naples/Sorrento area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
305 helpful votes 305 helpful votes
“Try their homemade scialatielli!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

After visiting the Sant'Andrea church we were famished and happened upon this quaint little restaurant right in Piazza Duomo. The location couldn't be better to relax and enjoy Amalfi's popular city center. Yes, there is a cover charge, so if you are vehemently against cover charges, run away, but it's not that much and the food and location are worth it.

Most restaurants and pizzerias we ate at on our two week trip to Italy all blend together. I can't remember 95% of them. The Ristorante Sant'Andrea stood out because of the quality of their homemade scialatielli which I tried on the recommendation of our server. I have NEVER eaten such a tasty pasta in my life. I've eaten more noodles and pasta in my life than I care to recount, and this place's scialatielli was just unforgettable. I ordered it with frutti di mare (seafood), and honestly, I can't even remember what the seafood tasted like because the scialatielli was so delicious. It was the perfect thickness, firmness, and consistency. My son--who ate pizza for two straight weeks at every meal--thought his pizza was outstanding as well. I can't remember what my wife and daughter ordered...too busy eating the scialatielli. It was so good, I took a picture of the menu just so I would remember the name of the restaurant. Definitely worth a stop when visiting Amalfi.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“I loved my Auberjine pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

The location is simply perfect just next to the stairs of Saint Andrea. We were lucky enough to enjoy the breeze outside on our last day in Amalfi by lounging for lunch in this restaurant. A wandering live band came along also and started playing right next to us some nice musical Italian sounds, the food was delicious. Prices were ok, but I didn't like that they charge you extra 4 euros per couple for the church contribution, and no questions asked. Anyway you have to pay it whether you like it or not.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Touristy spot near Cathedral but food was decent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

One of the many touristy-looking restaurants around the Squares near the Cathedral. We were on a day trip so just dove in for lunch and hoped for the best.

Service was fairly low key but efficient and polite.

Two beers, one Octopus salad and one Prawn Cocktail came to Euro 40. Both dishes seemed fresh and were very tasty.
We noticed one or two other diners had Pizzas, which would have easliy fed two people, so a lot of food was being left and wasted. If you are really hungry travellers we suspect this place would score highly!

We would return here but then again Amalfi is full of restaurants to try.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Pizzeria Sant'Andrea also viewed

 
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Ristorante Pizzeria Sant'Andrea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante Pizzeria Sant'Andrea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.