We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the marina, very good service; fine food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Marina Grande

Restaurant Marina Grande
Viale della Regione, 4, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
+39 089 871129
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 102 Restaurants in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $90
Cuisines: Italian, Organic, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: We use locally sourced products and organic food.Our Philosophy:Producing food in a sustainable way, respectful of the earth and its inhabitants. Melding this philosophy with our passion we create healthy, savory meals, using the freshest ingredients gathered at peak season from our favorite local producers and organic food whenever possible. Our focus is flavor, freshness, taste. We think these priorities benefit you, our guest.
Daytona Beach area
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“On the marina, very good service; fine food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We went here based on an episode of David Rocco on a food/travel channel. I got the panzanella salad that they showcased on that episode (even though it was not listed on the menu). It was good but not great, portion was huge. My husband got the pasta with clams (red sauce). He commented about how much clam flavor the dish had. I had a pasta dish as well and loved how al dente it was. The service is excellent!! Good wine selection. Location is right on the marina in front of the local beach; you have to walk own a flight of stars to get to. Was very nice sitting right out by the water on a gorgeous night.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    511
    182
    42
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great meal, great view !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Another stop on our Mediterranean cruise was the spectacular coastal town of Amalfi. Bustling streets, restaurants, bars, ice-cream parlours, cocolate shops……these Italians know how to live !

Before long, lunchtime was upon us again. Having surveyed the surrounds, we opted to hit the beach and lunch at the Marina Grande.

The restaurant “Marina Grande” began life as a seaside bar in 1918 and then moved to its current location on Spiaggia Grande in 1935. Towards the end of the fifties, it evolved into a restaurant overlooking the wonderful expanse of water enclosing the historical centre of Amalfi. Waves break on the beach near the covered terrace while you taste the best of our local cuisine.
“Humility, respect for the ingredients and the culture of nourishment…” is the philosophy of the Marina Grande.

The result is traditional food based on Italian heritage but truly innovative in its presentation. Dishes are created not with overpowering flavors or spice but are savory and light, with rapid cooking methods that retain the integrity of the fresh taste.

Lunch consisted of an entree of local clams and mussels cooked in a spicy tomato and wine sauce. An abundance of herbs and garlic always present, marries perfectly with the delicately cooked seafood. Main course was soon upon us. Spaghetti vongole. In Italy, you never get tired of this dish. Simple in its construction, pleasing to the eye and an explosion of taste in the mouth. Vongole, most delicately cooked in white wine, garlic and herbs, tossed with zucchini flowers proudly straddling the pasta. What more could I ask for.

Our combined rating: 4.5 / 5, a double thumbs up :)

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Just ok. Nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Went there for dinner on a recommendation from our hotel. We were not impressed. The place is very touristy and the food is nothing great. Would not go back.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
Level Contributor
1 review
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Had a few dishes here, It is a pretty impressive place with fantastic food and the view is amazing! The staff was really nice and you can look out on the water as you eat on the Balcony.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

The view and service were great, the food good, a little bit overpriced but still worth it. We will be back

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Marina Grande also viewed

 
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Restaurant Marina Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Marina Grande, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.