We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Staff, Beautiful Location, Great Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Doria

Save Saved
You added Hotel Doria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Doria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Giovanni 70, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 31 hotels in Amalfi
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Amazing Staff, Beautiful Location, Great Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

We stayed at the Hotel Doria for our 10th Wedding Anniversay. The rooms where very nice, great view of the ocean. The only complaint, the showers were tiny to get into. I usea wheelchair and they went out of their way to make sure I enjoyed our stay. The staff at this hotel is fantastic. I would definitely stay there again if in the area.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    29
    12
    7
    2
See reviews for
18
43
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2010

We stayed 5 nights in Doria while vi visited Amalfi. Here are some pro and con's.
+ Fantastic views, really.
+ Free shuttle bus to/from Amalfi marina/centre in mornings and evenings (10 mins)
+ Mostly great service from staff, they where very friendly and helpful
+ Free parking - this is really important here if you have car.
+ The staff could help book tours, trekking between the villages/farms, restaurants.

- Small rooms
- Aircon worked partly, it kept room on 27 degrees when it was 36C outside.
- Rooms no 7 with teracce had a teracce but alomst no window (no view). Furinture on teracce really dirty and not cleaned and partly broken. But it was to hot for teracce drinks anyway.
- Details not working and anoyed us: mini bar price list was found in room - but no mini bar. Fridge that was alomst not working. Aircon has to be powerful, but wasnt.

For 110 EUR/night in July it was an OK choice, esp considering the included parking.

Consider a room with view it is spectacular, but it has a road between the hotel and the view.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2010

This is a very nice hotel about a 10 minute drive on a windy,curvy, narrow road with no sidewalks from the center of Amalfi, so it is definately not walkable, so you must take the shuttle or bring a car. It is far out of town and nothing nearby, so keep that in mind.

The reason I am not giving it higher marks is I booked the room in mid-season about two weeks before we were expected to arrive. I called the hotel before I made my online reservation that we were bringing a small child (under 2 years). The person at the hotel who answered my call said as long as the child was in our bed (i.e. did not need a separate cot), there would be no extra charge. However, when we arrived, we were charged 15 euros a night for him. It would have been nice to know this before. I feel like they had the upper hand as I had already paid a huge 60% deposit for the room and we were on the top of a mountain with nowhere else to go, so I feel I got swindled out of 30 euros. So call about any charges before you come and get it in writing!

Pros: This hotel is new and very clean. There is a shuttle bus that will take you to the center of town for free. The terrace on top of the hotel is wonderful for sunbathing. The view is spectacular. The breakfast is typical Italian: cereal, bread, coffee, cold meat, pastries, etc. The hotel is very quiet, as it is not in the center of town. There is a small parking lot on site. Speak English, Italian, etc.

Cons: Customer service could have been better. There is NOTHING nearby, no restaurants, etc. Charged my credit card for 60% of the stay before we even got there. 10 minute drive on a windy,curvy, narrow road with no sidewalks from the center of Amalfi, so it is definately not walkable, so you must take the shuttle or bring a car. It is far out of town and nothing nearby, so keep that in mind. Only 4 TV stations - 2 english news channels, one italian national channel, and something else.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashdod, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2010

Very nice hotel with wonderful service. The view from the room is unbelievable . The stuff is trying to please you and always with smile, always ready to help. The breakfast is a buffet and according to Italian standards is very good. Hotel provides shuttle to center of Amalfi and if you need a pick up not on standard time, they will always come to meet you. In front of hotel there is a American bar which opens from May and during our stay we hear the music from the bar, while it was cleaned up by the owner - Jazz. We found this hotel from WEB and were very happy to stay there. We will definitely recommend it to all our friend and we will be happy to stay there again and again. Thanks to the owner and stuff !!!!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2008

The hotel itself was great; nice clean rooms etc...

The only reason I did have an above average experience is that it is very much out of the way - there advert on venere.com gave me the impression it was just outside of Amalfi.

It's a 10 - 15 minute bus ride and forget walking (we did it once) - the roads are very narrow and windey and you'll have cars come within centimetres, and it will take you more than an hour to get into town (4km).

The main problem is that the buses (to Agerola) are very infrequent - more than an hour apart and the last one leaves Amalfi at 20:50. Forget the shuttle bus they advertise - it actually doesn't run at all (at least not when we were there in Oct).

In summary nice little hotel, but unless you have a car, I wouldn't recommend it.

  • Liked — Nice hotel, clean rooms, good breakfast
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bondcwb
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2008

We are from Brazil, and my wife and me stayed at Hotel Doria amalfi, for 4 days, in july/2008. It was one off the better surprises at this travel. We didnt have great expectations about this hotel, because of this the surprise was really good.
The hotel is totally new, and they did a good work specially in the details.
Very friendly staff, clean, confortable and a magnificent view of the sea and the Amalfi coast. Our room has a balcony where we could spend wonderfull moments just seeing the panorama. The hotel is about 3 km far from the Amalfi center, but the hotel provides a van to go to Amalfi Its a good idea because its hard to find a place to park a car in amalfi...

We recomend whithout restrictions this hotel, specially for the people to want join a relaxing place with a wonderfull view.

Excuses for my uggly english, but if you want to chat in portuguese, please send me an email.

Roberval

  • Liked — Very friendly staff, clean, comfortable and the wonderfull view
  • Disliked — just the roads in the amalfi coast... is hard to drive, almost and adventure
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Doria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Doria

Also Known As:
Doria Hotel Amalfi
Address: Via Giovanni 70, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Amalfi
#23 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Doria 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Hotel Doria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Doria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.