We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The last room on the Amalfi Coast.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Doria

Save Saved
You added Hotel Doria to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Doria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Giovanni 70, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The last room on the Amalfi Coast.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

The hotel is situated high above the coast with a reasonably long drive to the town of Amalfi. We booked for 1 night on short notice and were given a room that should not have been a hotel room. Small, 1 window facing a rock at 1,5 meter distance, tv not working, tiny shower that makes entry a challenge for an adult and best of all an ineffective air con that cannot be regulated in the room. We asked for help but didn't get any feedback. At midnight at 30 degrees Celsius we considered sleeping in the car. The breakfast might be acceptable at a German motorway motel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    36
    13
    8
    4
See reviews for
25
54
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The hotel is located a 10 min drive from Amalfi. The rooms are okay and clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. They over a parking space (very important if you stay on the Amalfi coast). The best is the brilliant view from the room and the balcony. Outstandig.
The hotel overs a shuttle to Amalfi and back several times a day.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

If there wasn't the free shuttle, we would'nt have stayed there. The hotel is far away from Amalfi (about 15 minutes by car) and the shuttle is not working all day. The room had a lovely balcony overlooking the sea, it was clean and yet full of ants everywhere! Breakfast was ok. The staff not very welcoming. A bit overpriced.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

We stayed only one night, but we were given the best room (room 7): not only did it have a seaview, but it had a huge terrace. The room seemed quite new, in fact the hotel has been refurbished in 2008, and it was clean.
Very friendly staff, breakfast was more than satisfying. The hotel is not close to the center of Amalfi, but the hotel provides a free shuttle service every hour, and it only takes about 5 minutes to get to Amalfi. The last shuttle leaves Amalfi at 22:40. There's also a free street parking at about 10 meters from the hotel (which is quite impossible to find around the coast). So far, this has been the best hotel where we have slept, and only for € 70. Totally recomended!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

Although not in the centre of Amalfi, the hotel had a complimentary shuttle service which took/fetched from the city centre. As we were two couples, we shared a quad room which was spacious. It also had its own balcony with patio furniture, overlooking the sea. The breakfast was a delicious buffet. The hotel staff were also very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

I found the hotel to be a great value considering that it's near the Amalfi town. It has a free shuttle, free wi-fi, free break fast, free parking. You'll need to make reservations for the shuttle as it fills up. With a little planning, you can have the Amalfi town experience without a car.

Staff was attentive and courteous. I would stay there again if I had to do over.

Bonifacio Araneta

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

This was good value at 120 euros per night for sea view room, but a bit peeved when they later charged 10 euro extra per night for the baby, when we had brought our own cot and then they didn't even provide baby with own towel!

A bit out of the way - it's 3.5km but about 15 minutes+ drive to Amalfi, and there's really nothing to do/see/buy within walking distance of the hotel. The breakfast is OK but the dinner (20 euros) is quite ordinary. No bar, and they don't do lunch or room service.

Friendly enough staff, but looked very cross when the baby pushed a plate onto the floor and it broke, even though I apologised profusely.

Room Tip: Not worth staying here unless you pay for a seaviw
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChiaraeClaudia, Proprietario at Hotel Doria, responded to this review, July 10, 2011
Dear Madam, first you begin by saying that 120 Euros for a room with sea view, are a good price, but then when we asked you to pay for the baby, you say that our hotel is not good?
So, if you hadn't charged the baby, everything was fine? As you can read on Booking.com children from 0-3 years, must pay 15 euros a day, in a crib provided by us. We do not accept children who sleep in the middle of the bed with their parents .Because you had brought the cradle, we charged for the baby only 10 euros a night, because your stay was only 1 night. How do you write "baby pushed a plate onto the floor and broke it", then your 10 euro also served to buy back the plate!
If you well remember, we have prepared dinner for your baby at about 18.00 and you asked for room service, and we served you dinner in the room? isn't it a good service?
If I book a room and I have a baby, I book a triple or I'm prepared to pay something extra for the baby.
You say that there was nothing around the structure, maybe before to book, you have read that the property is located 3 km from Amalfi, or you missed it?
At lunch kitchen is close, sorry! But you had a car, so the nearest restaurant is about 800 mt. You say that the bar was closed, No, the bar is not closed, just ask, but you did not ask for anything, even the towels for your child. It happens a distraction, but if you had asked, I would have served immediately. You never asked for anything ...
As you know Madame, a room like that (sea-view balcony) in the center of Amalfi, would have costs the double + 20 euros for the parking.
Best regards
Daniela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Doria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Doria

Address: Via Giovanni 70, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Amalfi
#16 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Doria 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Doria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doria Hotel Amalfi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Doria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;