We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value for Amalfi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Doria

Save Saved
You added Hotel Doria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Doria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Giovanni 70, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Great Value for Amalfi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

I found the hotel to be a great value considering that it's near the Amalfi town. It has a free shuttle, free wi-fi, free break fast, free parking. You'll need to make reservations for the shuttle as it fills up. With a little planning, you can have the Amalfi town experience without a car.

Staff was attentive and courteous. I would stay there again if I had to do over.

Bonifacio Araneta

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    36
    13
    8
    4
See reviews for
25
54
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

This was good value at 120 euros per night for sea view room, but a bit peeved when they later charged 10 euro extra per night for the baby, when we had brought our own cot and then they didn't even provide baby with own towel!

A bit out of the way - it's 3.5km but about 15 minutes+ drive to Amalfi, and there's really nothing to do/see/buy within walking distance of the hotel. The breakfast is OK but the dinner (20 euros) is quite ordinary. No bar, and they don't do lunch or room service.

Friendly enough staff, but looked very cross when the baby pushed a plate onto the floor and it broke, even though I apologised profusely.

Room Tip: Not worth staying here unless you pay for a seaviw
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChiaraeClaudia, Proprietario at Hotel Doria, responded to this review, July 10, 2011
Dear Madam, first you begin by saying that 120 Euros for a room with sea view, are a good price, but then when we asked you to pay for the baby, you say that our hotel is not good?
So, if you hadn't charged the baby, everything was fine? As you can read on Booking.com children from 0-3 years, must pay 15 euros a day, in a crib provided by us. We do not accept children who sleep in the middle of the bed with their parents .Because you had brought the cradle, we charged for the baby only 10 euros a night, because your stay was only 1 night. How do you write "baby pushed a plate onto the floor and broke it", then your 10 euro also served to buy back the plate!
If you well remember, we have prepared dinner for your baby at about 18.00 and you asked for room service, and we served you dinner in the room? isn't it a good service?
If I book a room and I have a baby, I book a triple or I'm prepared to pay something extra for the baby.
You say that there was nothing around the structure, maybe before to book, you have read that the property is located 3 km from Amalfi, or you missed it?
At lunch kitchen is close, sorry! But you had a car, so the nearest restaurant is about 800 mt. You say that the bar was closed, No, the bar is not closed, just ask, but you did not ask for anything, even the towels for your child. It happens a distraction, but if you had asked, I would have served immediately. You never asked for anything ...
As you know Madame, a room like that (sea-view balcony) in the center of Amalfi, would have costs the double + 20 euros for the parking.
Best regards
Daniela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

We stayed with our 2 little children in this hotel, and honestly feel we could not do any better.
THe staff is friendly, caring and provides reasonable prices for everything from food (Dinner was awesome) to room rate per night. Transportation is provided all day, and the ride to downtown Amalfi is about 10 minutes through the nicest panoramic views.

The staff truly cared about well being and helped us with tour organizations to other nearby islands, and transportation back to international airport cities.

Many Thanks to Angela and Daniela who made our tour just a joy! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

Matt

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napoli, Italia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

This hotel lists itself as "pet friendly" on many websites, but we were blatantly insulted for bringing out dog. They allow pets to stay in the room, but not on the shuttle service or in the hotel. The shuttle service is important at this hotel, as it is in the middle of nowhere, so not being able to take our dog with us meant we would either have to leave him in the room or stay at the hotel. I've never had an experience like this when traveling with a pet before. Also, for people not traveling with pets, this is inconveniently located. It is also situated on a curve with a lot of traffic, and every bus and truck that traverses the curve honks its horn, so don't expect a good night sleep. Finally, the "free wifi" doesn't seem to be accessible from most locations in the hotel. I would never stay here again, and cannot recommend it to anybody. Extremely overpriced for its location and service.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChiaraeClaudia, Responsabile reception at Hotel Doria, responded to this review, June 29, 2011
Meanwhile, I want to point out that on Venere.com and other portals is written that we accept small pets for free.
This person arrived with a big Aski :
1) He has not even bothered to inform us,
2) he has not raised the issue whether a dog so big would have to pay or not ,
3) I became aware of the presence of the dog only after the check-in.
Dear sir, it is true, we are animal lovers, and accept them for free, however, everything has its limits.
When you left, we had to clean the room with gloves and mask...and think that your wife was pregnant!
The dog poop thrown in the trash in the bathroom, there was a big stink.
This does not mean that we are not animal lovers,This means to be civilized people!
we have had many dogs and cats at the hotel, and we never had any problems.
If you own a pet, you can not expect that everyone wants to share your love for animali.It's 'forbidden to enter the dining room with an animal because do not exist only you, but there are other people like you who pay, and who need different from yours.
Have you ever wondered if someone in the dining room was allergic to the fur of your dog? Perhaps he loves animals,but he is simply allergic to! We must learn in life to be humble and selfless, because there is not only you and your needs!
The dog in the shuttle can not 'go for the same reason, but you have a car, and no one prevents you from taking it.
Our hotel is located across the street, you knew it, it is clearly written on the webside!
The wifi works and it's free! .... Obviously you wanted to find fault in our hotel because you are not gone down that we have banned from entering the dog in the dining room.
But you have not written in your review that we have served you breakfast and dinner on the terrace, just for you and your dog, in exclusive, you were lucky!
Good luck and remember, we are animal lovers, but having a pet does not mean humanize it, and not only you exist in this world!
Daniela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

If you want to take your chances on a hotel giving away your reserved room even if you've already paid for it, this is the place for you.

On our week-long trip we had ONE night on the Amalfi coast, so I paid for an upgrade (through European Destinations travel) to Hotel Doria so that we could have the free car parking, free shuttle into Amalfi, but still have the beautiful cliffside sea-view room which you can't find just anywhere. After all, this is why we were spending $3000+ and traveling 6000 miles to get here. The fact of the matter is that we can stay in a noisy hotel overlooking a back alley of a small town anywhere in Europe. We had just stayed in one for 2 nights in Naples. We didn't need more of that; we wanted the seaside location and view and that's why I had chosen Doria.

Only, it never happened. We showed up at 8:00 pm on the day of our RESERVED booking (which we had ALREADY PAID FOR!) and were told by Angela, the girl at the desk "Yes, I'm sorry, but there has been a problem and we no longer have a room available for you. But it's okay, I have reserved a room for you at Hotel Amalfi in the Amalfi center."

No, no it's NOT okay to rob from us the ONE magical hotel view of our trip, that we have waited 8 years and saved up thousands of dollars to take. We complained and she said there was nothing she could do because they had already given our room away. How do you overbook a room that is ALREADY PAID FOR?? It seems to me that if that is the case, the room belongs to me for the night whether I am in it or not. Furthermore, the Hotel Doria was slightly more expensive than the Hotel Amalfi in our trip package, so we were actually getting DOWNGRADED.

She was pretty rude and unsympathetic about the whole situation, which capped off an already-bad day in which our car was sideswiped by a local in Pompeii. We had no choice but to go to Hotel Amalfi (owned by the same people). This also ruined our dinner plans for the evening since we had to park our car in their garage and could not drive to the restaurants we had planned on. They let us park for free (how kind!), and it is normally 35 euro/night (!!!), HOWEVER they wanted us to leave the garage at 11 am the next morning. Again, this really wasn't our plan, since we had planned on parking at Doria and taking the free shuttle into town to go hiking/sightseeing ALL DAY and then return in the evening for our car. We ended up talking them into extending parking until 1:00, but this still left us very little time to explore Amalfi, and forced us to spend some extra time looking for parking and extra money paying for it (in Atrani)

ON TOP OF ALL THIS, they are liars. We complained to our travel booking agency about the switch of hotels, and asked for a refund. They looked into it and told us that the Hotel Doria DENIED that we were moved to another hotel. Hotel Doria told the travel agency that we were UPGRADED to a superior sea view room as well as being given a fruit basket and bottle of champagne!

And yet... I have VIDEOTAPED PROOF that we were moved to Hotel Amalfi that night -- no sea view room, no fruit basket (they did provide a cheap half-bottle of prosecco). I'm not sure if I can post the link to the video here, but it is posted on the internet and you can contact me if you want more details or to see the video.

When I showed the online video to our booking agency, they acknowledged that Hotel Doria had LIED to them and they gave us a full refund for the night, as well as telling us that they were considering removing these dishonest hotels from their list of options.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

We stayed there for one night. The hotel is right on the main road. There is absolutely nothing around. To get to the sea you need to hike for a half an hour. It is very much overpriced, considering the location.

They advertise it as in a quiet location, but it is very noisy since it is right on the road. Also there is no sound proofing, you can hear what your neighbors are up to.
The rooms were nice by tiny. The breakfast was fine.

We also found the staff on the border line rude. We would not stay there again.

Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

We stayed at the Hotel Doria for our 10th Wedding Anniversay. The rooms where very nice, great view of the ocean. The only complaint, the showers were tiny to get into. I usea wheelchair and they went out of their way to make sure I enjoyed our stay. The staff at this hotel is fantastic. I would definitely stay there again if in the area.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Doria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Doria

Address: Via Giovanni 70, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Amalfi
#16 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Doria 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hotel Doria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doria Hotel Amalfi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Doria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.