We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure perfection” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Caterina Restaurant

Santa Caterina Restaurant
Amalfi, Italy
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 95 Restaurants in Amalfi
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Pure perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

Service is impeccable in this exquisite restaurant that belongs to the hotel. Beautiful Amalfi tiles decorate the floors, and their beauty simply takes your breath. As do the views from the balcony...The food is perfect, fresh produce, tender meat...I had stuffed zucchini flowers stuffed with ricotta, dipped in batter and deep-fried. Main course was veal with oregano and lemon, dessert traditional neapolitan "baba" soaked in rum and stuffed with fresh fruit. The place to be for a romantic evening...

  • Visited October 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    6
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A truly fabulous experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

I tried to book into the Santa Caterina Hotel, for myself and my husband in September, but to our huge disappointment it was fully booked. We eventually stayed in Ravello, however we couldn't resist eating at the Santa Caterina Restaurant. We have eaten at most of the 5* hotels on the Amalfi Coast but for us the Santa Caterina is by far the best. The exquisite food, superb service and outstanding location, are second to none. We have had lunches and dinners on the upstairs terrace with amazing views and have also had lunch in their restaurant down by the pool, equally beautiful. All in all a fabulous experience which we would highly recommend. We can't wait to go back there.

  • Visited September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Ultimate dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014

If you want the classiest, most beautiful restaurant experience in Amalfi; this is your place! Located in the five-star Hotel Caterina, you will see painted ceramic floors, antiques, history and a view that will take your breath away. The food was delicious. My husband ordered the bean/pumpkin soup as a starter and it was to die for. Be sure to go to the veranda for an after dinner drink to have the best view of the Amalfi coast, by far!

Visited September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Wonderful views and wonderful view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

The hotel Santa Caterina is a beautiful hotel and restaurant. With parking being at a premium on the coast it was so easy to just leave the car with the parking valet. We booked in advance. The view over the terrace was wonderful, a pianist played lovely music all night. The food was excellent and so fresh probably just caught that day as I had fish. Well worth a visit excellent value and not as expensive as you would imagine for a place like this. If you go there web page it gives you examples of the menu.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
556 reviews 556 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
307 helpful votes 307 helpful votes
“Great location for a great meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

I just love sitting on the terrace at Santa Caterina as the evening goes on. The light starts to dim over Amalfi and the view is just amazing. The menu and food is great with an impressive wine menu. Service is great.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santa Caterina Restaurant also viewed

Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Santa Caterina Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Caterina Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.