We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for a great meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Caterina Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Santa Caterina Restaurant
Amalfi, Italy
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 93 restaurants in Amalfi
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
382 reviews 382 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
230 helpful votes 230 helpful votes
“Great location for a great meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

I just love sitting on the terrace at Santa Caterina as the evening goes on. The light starts to dim over Amalfi and the view is just amazing. The menu and food is great with an impressive wine menu. Service is great.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    24
    6
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful Restaurant for a Memorable Occasion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Recently had one of the best 5 star dining experiences I think I have ever had and I've had a few. For my friend's 60th birthday we dined at the Santa Caterina restaurant for dinner. What a wonderful place. As soon as we stepped out of the taxi we were greeted with a friendly smile and treated to a most memorable evening. All those candles lit in the lounge area where we had drinks to start with. Then we were escorted out onto the terrace and wow the view was simply breathtaking. Also the service was impeccable and the food was superb. What a magical experience and one that I will never forget. Sure the prices were expensive, but how often do you get to dine at an establishment as well known as the Santa Caterina and have such wonderful service and food. Certainly worth it for the special occasion it was.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Best in Amalfi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We've had the pleasure of eating at the finest restaurants in the Amalfi Coast and Italy, and this ranked as my husbands favorite! He had the best pasta dishes ever...their famous lemon linguine and fresh ravioli were simple, yet superb, and he's a tough customer, since we live in NYC and he's used to the best! The service was lovely, the views outstanding and the overall atmosphere was incredible! Don't miss this gem of a restaurant!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“A special occasion place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Stayed at the Santa Caterina for a week. Excellent hotel with outstanding service and views. The restaurant is definitely on the pricey side and would, in my book, be somewhere to spend a special evening rather than eat in on an everyday basis. Candlelight dining on the terrace overlooking Amalfi and the bay, with exemplary service is something that needs to be experienced. The food was very good but not quite at the same standard as the venue and waiting staff deserved, in my opinion. Extensive wine list with well-kept wines but little under €40/bottle. You will be lucky to get through dinner for under €100/head and possibly 50% more dependent on what you drink. If the exclusivity is within your budget then eat here regularly, otherwise keep it for a special occasion.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A MAGICAL EXPERIENCE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We were fortunate enough to have dinner at the Santa Caterina. The reception was very welcoming and friendly. We had a wonderful aperitif on the magical patio with the most amazing view of the sea and Amalfi. Candles were lit everywhere and the service and drinks were outstanding.

The ride down on the lift, to the dining room at sea level, was an exciting experience.

The meal was delicious and the service impeccable. Can't wait to go back..................

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santa Caterina Restaurant also viewed

Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Santa Caterina Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Caterina Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.