We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Amalfi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Caterina Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Santa Caterina Restaurant
Amalfi, Italy
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 93 restaurants in Amalfi
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Best in Amalfi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We've had the pleasure of eating at the finest restaurants in the Amalfi Coast and Italy, and this ranked as my husbands favorite! He had the best pasta dishes ever...their famous lemon linguine and fresh ravioli were simple, yet superb, and he's a tough customer, since we live in NYC and he's used to the best! The service was lovely, the views outstanding and the overall atmosphere was incredible! Don't miss this gem of a restaurant!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    24
    6
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“A special occasion place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Stayed at the Santa Caterina for a week. Excellent hotel with outstanding service and views. The restaurant is definitely on the pricey side and would, in my book, be somewhere to spend a special evening rather than eat in on an everyday basis. Candlelight dining on the terrace overlooking Amalfi and the bay, with exemplary service is something that needs to be experienced. The food was very good but not quite at the same standard as the venue and waiting staff deserved, in my opinion. Extensive wine list with well-kept wines but little under €40/bottle. You will be lucky to get through dinner for under €100/head and possibly 50% more dependent on what you drink. If the exclusivity is within your budget then eat here regularly, otherwise keep it for a special occasion.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A MAGICAL EXPERIENCE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We were fortunate enough to have dinner at the Santa Caterina. The reception was very welcoming and friendly. We had a wonderful aperitif on the magical patio with the most amazing view of the sea and Amalfi. Candles were lit everywhere and the service and drinks were outstanding.

The ride down on the lift, to the dining room at sea level, was an exciting experience.

The meal was delicious and the service impeccable. Can't wait to go back..................

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Just popped in for a quick drink ...and what service we received!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

The Santa Caterina is without doubt my most favourite hotel set in my most favourite part of the world and have therefore stayed many times. So when my wife and i learnt that the cruise we were on was actually dropping anchor just outside Amalfi, a quick trip to sit on the wonderful terrace with a glass or two of Prosecco had to be done.

We havent stayed there for at least three years, but immediately the head doormen recognised us and we received the most warmest of Italian welcomes from the terrace manager, Franco.

After consuming our fill of fizz, olives and nuts, i asked if they could call me a taxi to take us back into town - they wouldnt hear of it and escorted us to their shuttle bus.
Thank you all at the Santa Caterina and we will be returning hopefully next year

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
337 reviews 337 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“winning cuisine with gracious service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Its an upscale meal of the many restaurants in the area I have visited. Certainly among 3-4 of the best for the area. The service was gracious and the wine list was well put together. I very much enjoyed the fabulous setting and beautifully prepared food. A most relaxing meal

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santa Caterina Restaurant also viewed

Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast

Been to Santa Caterina Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Caterina Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.