We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“winning cuisine with gracious service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Caterina Restaurant

Santa Caterina Restaurant
, Amalfi, Italy
089 87 10 12
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 102 Restaurants in Amalfi
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
New York
Level Contributor
517 reviews
254 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“winning cuisine with gracious service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Its an upscale meal of the many restaurants in the area I have visited. Certainly among 3-4 of the best for the area. The service was gracious and the wine list was well put together. I very much enjoyed the fabulous setting and beautifully prepared food. A most relaxing meal

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    7
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, good service, beautiful hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We had two very good meals here. The first one was on our first night in Amalfi. When the staff learned that we hadn't had time to buy coffee to have in our villa where we are staying, they sent us home with coffee and milk. The food is prepared with care and everything is fresh.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Spectacular view and heavenly service, but the food doesn't live up to the rest...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stopped for an impromptu lunch on Easter while driving down the Amalfi coast.
I've heard of this hotel's reputation and was anticipating something extraordinary.
We were very warmly greeted by everyone, from the gentlemen who took our car to the front desk reception to the maitre d'.
We ordered the special Easter lunch which included a chicory soup (delicious), a ravioli dish (starchy) and lamb (inedible).
The staff was really lovely and I wanted to enjoy the food more just because they were so kind and attentive. But the food was rather disappointing.
The view is out of a movie.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gex
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Wonderful views from conservatory restaurant.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

In March this year, the weather was not too good one day so we decided to have lunch in a beautiful restaurant. We chose the Santa Caterina because we were staying in an apartment also owned by the same people. We were really well looked after by some attentive waiters and an excellent Maitre D. We had a table with a superb view of Amalfi. We stayed there for ages and were not rushed at all. Yes the bill was high but I felt we had value for money. When I mentioned that I did not have an adapter for my telephone charger and needed to buy one, they gave me one free of charge. Could not afford to eat there every day but very good for a special occasion.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinhedo
Level Contributor
91 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Like the old days”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Exquisite service and a very good food. It seems that you are in old times when people (waiters) were more courteous and really concerned about your welfare. Not a cheap restaurant though but a different experience.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santa Caterina Restaurant also viewed

Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Santa Caterina Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Caterina Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.