We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eat Here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Pizzeria Il Mulino

Ristorante Pizzeria Il Mulino
Via delle Cartiers 36, Amalfi, Italy
+39-089-872223
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 94 Restaurants in Amalfi
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Eat Here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed in Amalfi for four nights in July; the first night we got into town we were tired and hungry, unwilling to put much effort into finding a nice, reasonably priced place to eat; as such we got suckered into one of the tourist trap restaurants right in town that had okay food for a very steep price. The next night we found this list restaurant about 5 minutes up the main road and it was a revelation. The homemade seafood pasta was the best meal that we had in our two weeks in Italy and not too expensive either. We ended up coming back the next night and the owner gave us free appetizers. I would definately recommend this restaurant, particularly if you are looking for good food at a reasonable price.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    52
    11
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Turin
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Out of the way but well worth it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Keep walking up the hill away from the shops and you will eventually get to Il Mulino. I have eaten here several times and have never been disappointed. The food is good wholesome homemade and plentiful. The family always make you feel welcome and are attentive. Prices are more than reasonable and you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Very good home made pasta”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We had dinner at this restaurant just outside of the center of Amalfi. it's nothing fancy, but the home made pasta was very good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montecastrilli, Italy
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Awful experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We only went here after looking at the TA reviews. The place was shabby and unattractive and the food was awful. We live in Italy and this wasn't authentic Italian food as it was so bad. It wasn't cheap and to top it all the night we were there there was a blazing row going on between one of the waitresses and another member of staff for ages and no one bothered to apologise. My advice avoid!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good place, good food, and further from the bustle of Amalfi's center”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We ate dinner at this place on our first day at Amalfi. It is a bit further out of the center of Amalfi, but it is worth it: it feels a bit less touristic (but of course probably all the guests are tourists) than other restaurants in Amalfi, and prices drop sharply the further you go out of the center - not different in this case too.
So like almost every place in Amalfi, they serve the usual Italian dishes of pastas and pizzas with good choice of products from the sea (though we didn't take advantage of that...).
We began with tomato salad and roasted peppers for starters. both were seasoned well and good-sized.
For mains we ordered gnocchi and pasta with olives and capers. Again, it was prepared well and portion size was pretty generous.
Our desert was a lemon cake, which was good too, but below the high level of the other dishes.
We ordered a carafe of hose white wine to accompany the meal, and it was a good one too (and very cheap!).
If you look for a place to eat in Amalfi, take into consideration this lovely small restaurant. It is recommended. Note that they are not open all day (probably certain hours for lunch and for dinner).

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Pizzeria Il Mulino also viewed

 
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Ristorante Pizzeria Il Mulino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante Pizzeria Il Mulino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.