We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place, good food, and further from the bustle of Amalfi's center” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Pizzeria Il Mulino

Ristorante Pizzeria Il Mulino
Via delle Cartiers 36, Amalfi, Italy
+39-089-872223
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 94 Restaurants in Amalfi
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Haifa, Israel
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good place, good food, and further from the bustle of Amalfi's center”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We ate dinner at this place on our first day at Amalfi. It is a bit further out of the center of Amalfi, but it is worth it: it feels a bit less touristic (but of course probably all the guests are tourists) than other restaurants in Amalfi, and prices drop sharply the further you go out of the center - not different in this case too.
So like almost every place in Amalfi, they serve the usual Italian dishes of pastas and pizzas with good choice of products from the sea (though we didn't take advantage of that...).
We began with tomato salad and roasted peppers for starters. both were seasoned well and good-sized.
For mains we ordered gnocchi and pasta with olives and capers. Again, it was prepared well and portion size was pretty generous.
Our desert was a lemon cake, which was good too, but below the high level of the other dishes.
We ordered a carafe of hose white wine to accompany the meal, and it was a good one too (and very cheap!).
If you look for a place to eat in Amalfi, take into consideration this lovely small restaurant. It is recommended. Note that they are not open all day (probably certain hours for lunch and for dinner).

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    53
    11
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Had lunch here before going to the paper mill museum. Very nice restaurant. A pleasant, shady place on a hot day. The food was extremely good as was the service.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Authentic Italian home style cooking few minutes walk away from tourist town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Simple dining atmosphere, courteous welcome and polite service. Ordered veal with olive oil and lemon juice, seafood risotto, pasta with tomato, cheese and aubergine. Sensational flavour, generous portion filled with ingredients and is exceptionally delicious. Price is definitely cheaper than the restaurant in town centre.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Il Mulino, Il perfetto.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Home-style restaurant. Excellent food. Varied menu. Simple Italian restaurant without any unnecessary mannerisms, but the food is cooked and served with all the heart. Large dishes full of wonderful aromas and flavors. We enjoyed every minute. The restaurant is located up the main street of the bustling center of Amalfi (Need to go up until you reach the museum) but the meal is worth the walk.
Unlike the other restaurants we saw in Amalfi, this restaurant prices are cheap and good.
This undoubtedly recommended restaurant in Amalfi

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent for lunch and dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We went here based on Lonely Planet and TA, boy we were pleasantly surprised with the food and we returned two more times. All the dishes are simply wholesome Italian cooking with pure and good ingredients as it is supposed to be. The house wine is good too, for some reason ordering per ¼ is the cheapest so keep this in mind and everything was cooked especially the peppered mussels. In a village where everything tends to be overdone and overpriced this place is a breath of fresh air with unpretentious food at good prices.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Pizzeria Il Mulino also viewed

 
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Ristorante Pizzeria Il Mulino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante Pizzeria Il Mulino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.