We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Il Mulino” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Pizzeria Il Mulino

Ristorante Pizzeria Il Mulino
Via delle Cartiers 36, Amalfi, Italy
+39-089-872223
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 94 Restaurants in Amalfi
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Il Mulino”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Discovered on our last night in Amalfi via trip advisor and enjoyed a fantastic dining experience. A very family friendly ristorante above the town centre ( near the paper mill). Delicious seafood risotto, pasta, mussels and calamari dishes. Great wine recommendation too!
Definitely worth a repeat visit.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    107
    52
    11
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Ristorante Pizzeria Il Mulino, Amalfi, June 2013.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Came to Amalfi for a half-day trip whilst staying in Naples. Stumbled upon this place after a 10 minute walk from the beach front where the bus dropped us off. Despite being so close, this part of town was fairly deserted. Had the escalopes with ham and cheese, and the girlfriend had steak with garlic and tomato sauce. The escalopes were alright, but the steak was really nice. Good price, I'd recommend.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, UK
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant in Amalfi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We recently had a holiday and out of 5 nights in Amalfi we ended up eating at Il Mulino three times which is unusual for us. We were staying at the Villa Lara just at the end of town so it wasn't more than a five minute walk for us to get to this restaurant but that wasn't the only reason for our repeat visits. Whilst it looks quite basic from the outside, the food and service are excellent. It is a lovely family-run restaurant with the son, Vincenze (I think this is his correct name spelling) serving. He was very pleasant and service was always excellent. The food was superb - I always wonder how good octopus will be cooked, but here the octopus in chilli was melt in your mouth and very tasty. The pasta dishes are simple and tasty and everything is well priced. Loved eating here and would highly recommend it to anyone visiting Amalfi.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent home cooking fairly close to the center of Amalfi but far from the crowds!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Totally worth the walk. We went back twice during our 5-day stay. The food is excellent. Service is good. We love the gnocchi and the octopus. A real family-run gem with fantastic food. Nice option for a quiet dinner away from the crowds. A must try for dinner it you are in Amalfi!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Worth the Walk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Most of the trattorias in Amalfi have similar offerings. The food, service and prices vary, but the menu doesn't change much.

This one has better than average food, home made pasta is very good as was the anti pasta. The service and atmosphere weren't all that special, our dinner was somewhat spoiled by a larger Intrepid group arriving 10 minutes later.

Tried to go back two nights later, Tuesday Night, it was closed.

If you are trying to find the restaurant, keek walking up the hill until all he shops stop, then walk another 200 meters.

Food and prices were good

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Pizzeria Il Mulino also viewed

 
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Ristorante Pizzeria Il Mulino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante Pizzeria Il Mulino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.