We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the Walk” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Pizzeria Il Mulino

Ristorante Pizzeria Il Mulino
Via delle Cartiers 36, Amalfi, Italy
+39-089-872223
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 94 Restaurants in Amalfi
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Worth the Walk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Most of the trattorias in Amalfi have similar offerings. The food, service and prices vary, but the menu doesn't change much.

This one has better than average food, home made pasta is very good as was the anti pasta. The service and atmosphere weren't all that special, our dinner was somewhat spoiled by a larger Intrepid group arriving 10 minutes later.

Tried to go back two nights later, Tuesday Night, it was closed.

If you are trying to find the restaurant, keek walking up the hill until all he shops stop, then walk another 200 meters.

Food and prices were good

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    54
    11
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Truly magnificent cooking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

This is not a Michelin fine dining restaurant but a family Trattoria the last on the road out of Amalfi near the Paper museum. It has however some of the finest cooking I have experienced in Italy and I have lived for some months in Bologna. The son served us and mother is the cook. The price is excellent considering the quality and well worth the walk up the road past many of the overpriced joints near the waterfront. We passed through on a long walk and probably would not have stopped except for a recommendation. If I was staying in Amalfi I would return again and again. There are many temptations on the menu. Just try it!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A real gem!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Family run restaurant and the food is delicious! Try the homemade pasta if is amazing!
Worth the walk all the wSy up the hill. Would definitely recommend!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful, simple home cooked food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Competes for best meal in Amalfi; possibly Italy. True home cooked food prepared and served by wonderful and friendly family. Simple home kitchen table environment where you feel welcomed and are well looked after. Will not hesitate to return.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bewdley
1 review
“Fabulouso 10 out of 10”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Tucked out of the way a few minutes walk from the centre of Amalfi here is a restaurant offering excellent tasty food at a very reasonable cost. My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed an evening meal here and looking forward to our next visit. If you are looking for something to eat other than pasta and pizza then this is the place to go.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Pizzeria Il Mulino also viewed

 
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Ristorante Pizzeria Il Mulino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante Pizzeria Il Mulino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.