We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Da Maria Trattoria Pizzeria

Da Maria Trattoria Pizzeria
Via San Lorenzo D'amalfi, 14, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
089 871880
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 95 Restaurants in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“WOW!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

What can I say about this place but fantastic!! The food was really good. There was three of us and we ordered pasta to start and pizza for main. I have to say the food was one of the best Italians I've had.
The owner Mario is a fantastic host who really made us feel at home. He is a really funny guy. We are So glad we went to this restaurant. Thankyou Mario for a wonderful time.
Paul, Raj and Raj

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    142
    47
    18
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Readington, New Jersey
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
“We had to go back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

While spending a glorious week in Sorrento - we made the trek down the Amalfi Coast Drive to go back to our favorite place in Amalfi!! Da Maria!! We ate there in April this year, and just HAD to go back!!!
It was worth the trip!! We sat at the same little table outside, even had the same waiter!! The place is charming...the service is great...and the food is sinfully FANTASTIC!!! At the end of our meal, the owner came out to talk to us. He was so sweet – and seemed to be truly touched that we made it a point to come back again. He even bought us a souvenir bottle of limoncello as a keepsake of our beautiful visit back to Amalfi! We made a friend that day!!
When you go, you MUST order the Spaghetti al Vongole!!! Hands down the best I have ever had!!
Buon appetito!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Like Family....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Travelling by myself on a second visit to Amalfi, I followed the locals and ended up meeting Mario and his staff who welcomed me like family. I stayed for 5 days in Amalfi this trip and had all my main meals at this restaurant. The standard of food was exceptional and served in a friendly manner If you are looking for a friendly establishment with excellent english speaking hosts than pay a visit to this Trattoria...thank you Mario for providing a wonderful send off on my last night in Amalfi.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Il cibo...così cordiale”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

We love Da Maria. It was recommended to us by our hotel's concierge and of course we used Trip Advisor reviews as well. We enjoyed it so much that we had dinner there two nights. The restaurant is cozy, busy and frequented by the locals. It's a family run restaurant and one of the owners gave us a tour of the back room of the restaurant with photos and memorabilia of the family.
Everything is good and we were pleased to be given an unsolicited dessert one night and a free limoncello on our second night. The pasta is homemade and the sauces are delicious. I loved the tomato arugala salad... "rocket salad". This restaurant can get crowded so go early or late. Friendly, delicious place.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amalfi Favorite!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

I had some of the best pizza I have ever had here! The fresh seafood was also to die for! The service was top notch and the location is right in the thick of things. I would recommend going multiple times as I did.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Da Maria Trattoria Pizzeria also viewed

 

Been to Da Maria Trattoria Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Da Maria Trattoria Pizzeria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.