We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven in Amalfi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Da Maria Trattoria Pizzeria

Da Maria Trattoria Pizzeria
Via San Lorenzo D'amalfi, 14, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
089 871880
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #16 of 92 restaurants in Amalfi
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Readington, New Jersey
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Heaven in Amalfi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Spent a few hours in the town of Amalfi while on tour in Italy. Had a fantastic lunch of margarita pizza followed by the local fish. Fabulous!
It was the perfect addition to a wonderful day!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    128
    72
    16
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Quiet haven off a busy square”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Had lunch here after recommendation from hotel. The entrance is small and not particularly remarkable but the inside opens up into a large airy room at the back. There was background music, but the atmosphere was completely different from the busy tourist filled Duomo square outside. The pizza was one of the best I have had anywhere (Campagnola if I remember rightly), full of flavour but mild and not at all salty. All the customers appeared to get a small free lemon sorbet afterwards, whatever they had had. Wish we had heard about it earlier in our stay. Prices very reasonable.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Great food and friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We ate here based on a recommendation in our guidebook and from our hotel. On arrival we were warmly welcomed. We selected a bottle of local wine and it was brought prompty along with some hot garlic bread. The menu had plenty to choose from. We shared an antipasti of ham and mozzarella and then a primi of pasta with octupus, both were fresh and tasty. Then my partner had a pizza which was very good and I had a selection of fried fish which was all well seasoned and fresh. For dessert we had the lemon cake and tiramisu which both seemed homemade and were excellent. We were brought complimentary shots of limoncello which was nice touch. The waiter was very friendly and attentive throughout our meal. Overall we really enjoyed our food and the buzz of the place. As we were leaving we were given a little bottle of limoncello to take away which rounded off the evening very well. Highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great - best in Amalfi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Received a great welcome in this family run trattoria. So good we went four times. Lovely pizzas and the seafood pasta was excellent - had it twice.Very generous portions and good house wine. Some lovely touches for our loyalty. By far the best food we ate on this holiday. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Looks small from the outside...but when you enter the restaurant it is beautiful. The food is amazing and so are the wait staff. This is real italian cooking.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Da Maria Trattoria Pizzeria also viewed

 
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Da Maria Trattoria Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Da Maria Trattoria Pizzeria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.