We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Pizza” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Da Maria Trattoria Pizzeria

Da Maria Trattoria Pizzeria
Via San Lorenzo D'amalfi, 14, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
089 871880
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 95 Restaurants in Amalfi
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
South Coast
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Best Pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Great restaurant, delicious food, every bit of it. We ordered a carafe of red wine which really wasn't very nice. When we mentioned this to a waiter the owner came over, wanted to know why we hadn't sent the wine back immediately agreed the wine was substandard and presented us with two huge glasses of delicious wine. He had such love and passion for his restaurant it can't fail to please you.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    119
    35
    16
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“The best in Amalfi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We visited Amalfi in 2007 and tried this place after reading about in the Lonely Planet, and we loved it so much we went back a few times during our stay in nearby Furore. Last month we were in Positano and we made sure to go back to Da Maria for lunch one day. It was still every bit as good as we remembered it! I would recommend you always get one of the homemade pasta specials, thought I'm sure the pizza is also very good. The service is so friendly and warm, and you will not leave without being entertained. The complimentary limoncello or lemon granita at the end of the meal is also a nice touch. We will go back again!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Great seafood at this cosy trattoria”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

The Ristorante Da Maria is located along the main road of Amalfi going uphill from the Cathedral piazza. Seafood is the restaurant's speciality. We had king tiger prawns, seafood pizza and mixed seafood platter at a cos of €49. The staff were really friendly and warm. It is a family run restaurant where the siblings cook and serve together. The pizzas are traditional wood fired pizzas and pastas are home made.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Delicious Food, Great Atmosphere & Excellent Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We entered as a large travel group and the service was outstanding! Our amazing host, wined and dined us, played a game with us and introduced us to his mother who still works there. We dined on a delicious meal. A local band came into play and we danced and laughed and danced some more. Gracious hosts, delicious food and wine. A definite stop to make for great food and entertainment.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buren
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent food,Amalfi atmosphere where locals and tourists meet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Pizzeria da Maria is one of the oldest restaurants in Amalfi. A real family restaurant, where brother and sister and cousins work together.Even mother Maria, who is over 80 still supervises the kitchen and the quality of the food.Locals say that the best pizza of Amalfi is coming out of the oven. But also delicious home made pasta and minestrone soup are fantastic.Of course fresh fish from the grill should be mentioned.And if you have a special wish, no problem , the staff will try to fulfill this request.And that is one of the key points: mario, Gerardo, Columba, Gino, Angela, Marko,Rosa and all the others will do anything to make the guest happy.Mostly live music during the evening completes a guaranteed tasteful and pleasant diner at a reasonable price

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Da Maria Trattoria Pizzeria also viewed

Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Da Maria Trattoria Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Da Maria Trattoria Pizzeria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.