We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stella Maris

Stella Maris
Corso delle Repubbliche Marinare, 2, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
089/872463
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 95 restaurants in Amalfi
Price range: $29 - $60
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Farnham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food, good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

good food (especially the lemon tagliatelle), great location right on the beach, good service, perfectfor a quick lunch and also a relaxing dinner. went several times during our holiday.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    67
    50
    9
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fresh grilled seafood, tasty desserts, right on the waterfront in beautiful Amalfi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed in Amalfi 5 nights and ate here on the first night and returned three more times! The service was friendly and the location was amazing, but we would have eaten here again and again for the food alone - the grilled fresh seafood was absolutely divine.

The desserts were also great - panna cotta was really good, and my husband had something that was loosely translated into English as monk's breasts, which we never found again on our Italian travels, but which he still raves about!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Lovely Views and Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

At first I was a bit sceptical about going to this restaurant as it's set right on the beach at Amalfi and thought it would be geared up to tourists but it turned out to be fantastic. Beautiful fresh pasta, great service and lovely views. The only disappointment was the starter I had which was an anchovy and cheese toast where they had used white sliced bread, I was expecting some lovely Italian bread but the pasta that followed made up for it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

On a day trip to Amalfi we had lunch at the Stella Maris. We had the home made seafood pasta which was excellent. Our son had a pizza which had a light crisp base and was the best pizza he has had in Italy. We were served by he hotel owner but all staff were friendly and attentive. Great location with views of the sea and Amalfi town. Not cheap but good value for quality of food and service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Fantastically fresh and delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

In our 10 days in Italy, we had one of our better meals at Stella Maris. Perhaps it was the fact that the owner's son (Antonio) was on the premises and managing our table, but the food we had was delicious! We had a grilled catch of the day which was served whole, not over-cooked and properly seasoned. We also had a fantastic sweet shrimp pasta with cherry tomatoes, excellent fish filet and surprisingly good pizza. For a nice spot on the waterfront which could be touristy and serve poor food because of its prime location, Stella Maris is highly recommended.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stella Maris also viewed

Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
Capri, Island of Capri
 
Capri, Island of Capri
Capri, Island of Capri
 

Been to Stella Maris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stella Maris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.