We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Views and Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stella Maris

Stella Maris
Corso delle Repubbliche Marinare, 2, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
089/872463
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 94 Restaurants in Amalfi
Price range: $28 - $57
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Adelaide
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Lovely Views and Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

At first I was a bit sceptical about going to this restaurant as it's set right on the beach at Amalfi and thought it would be geared up to tourists but it turned out to be fantastic. Beautiful fresh pasta, great service and lovely views. The only disappointment was the starter I had which was an anchovy and cheese toast where they had used white sliced bread, I was expecting some lovely Italian bread but the pasta that followed made up for it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    54
    11
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

On a day trip to Amalfi we had lunch at the Stella Maris. We had the home made seafood pasta which was excellent. Our son had a pizza which had a light crisp base and was the best pizza he has had in Italy. We were served by he hotel owner but all staff were friendly and attentive. Great location with views of the sea and Amalfi town. Not cheap but good value for quality of food and service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Fantastically fresh and delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

In our 10 days in Italy, we had one of our better meals at Stella Maris. Perhaps it was the fact that the owner's son (Antonio) was on the premises and managing our table, but the food we had was delicious! We had a grilled catch of the day which was served whole, not over-cooked and properly seasoned. We also had a fantastic sweet shrimp pasta with cherry tomatoes, excellent fish filet and surprisingly good pizza. For a nice spot on the waterfront which could be touristy and serve poor food because of its prime location, Stella Maris is highly recommended.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great restaurant and friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We used this restaurant more than any other in Amalfi. Great serviced and very friendly staff. The food is fantastic whether you are having a full 3 course meal or just pizza. Great view or the sea too.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great view and very good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

The restaurant has an amazing view of the water and of the cliff. The food is very good, seafood pasta and grilled fish, and no [--] charges on the bill. Staff very professional and attentive. Overall a great lunch experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stella Maris also viewed

Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Stella Maris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stella Maris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.