We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location on the beautiful Amalfi coast.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Maria Luigia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Maria Luigia to your Saves list
Villa Maria Luigia
Via Mauro Comite, 48, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 34 Amalfi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
kent
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great location on the beautiful Amalfi coast.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

The B and B is based 15/20 minutes walk from Amalfi town, just above the coast road with spectacular sea views. The villa is elegant, and our room, Aurora is a corner room with a walk round balcony. It is spacious, fresh and comfortable. Garage space (chargeable) is available and is worth considering.
Breakfast was good, self service, fruit, cereals, yogurts, bread, cakes and was served on the terrace overlooking the sea - wonderful!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    47
    12
    2
    0
See reviews for
29
111
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Villa Maria Luigia was booked on the strength of the good tripadviser reviews & once again my fellow travellers come through with the right advice. The entrance is a little hard to find but no more than a lot of the properties on the narrow road. Once located a secure parking included in the great value price, being out of season for the coast. Bright clean airy room, good breakfast with spectacular views. The walk down to the township although hairy because of lack of footpaths most of the way, was not too taxing even for my wife who has some mobility difficulties. On return catch the bus back for 1.50 Euros, just tell the driver where your'e getting off. All the staff were great & very helpful organising a tour to Pompeii at a good value price and an early breakfast on two occasions. If we had known it was this good we would have stayed longer then four days we did.

Room Tip: We got the "Aurora" room. Great choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverton, Utah
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

The staff are pleasant and friendly. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, and the hotel is clean and the décor is appealing. The hotel is a 15 minute walk to the Amalfi town square. The view is AMAZING. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

The customer service in the Villa Maria Luigui was excellent. Front desk attendants were very nice, carried our luggage up the stairs, provided a map and helped us figure out bus options to Ravello and Salerno and boat transportation to Capri. One of the staff spoke English quite well and I was able to communicate with the others easily with Spanish. Between French and Spanish I could understand them and they were quite patient with me as I tried making my Spanish sound Italian. When they noticed we were using a blanket as an extra pillow, they left another pillow for us without asking.

Amalfi is a charming town in the middle of the beautiful Amalfi coast and this B&B is located high on the cliff overlooking the Mediterranean. There is an elevator from the garage that takes you to the reception area. From there, you take the stairs. The sweet smell of lavender was everywhere in the lobby/elevator area because of the plants lining the walkway. The views from our room and from the breakfast area were stunning.

The breakfast/lounge area itself is worth the visit – nice patio with a fantastic sea view. Breakfast included cappuccino and juice, yogurt, fruit, cereal, breakfast meats and cheeses and baked goods.

To get to the B&B from Amalfi is a bit of a walk (15 min or so) along a curvy road with a narrow shoulder, but we felt quite safe walking to and from the B&B. And the town is quite charming with excellent restaurants, the beautiful Duormo and lots of tourist shops.

The bed and pillows were comfortable, however the room was quite noisy. The traffic was constant on the street below and between the Mopeds and buses and the church bells regular ringing from the hill right above our room, it was a bit hard to get to sleep. We also heard the water running from the bathroom above us. We shut the window and shutters, which made the room a bit stuffy. A fan or air conditioning might have drowned out the noise and made sleeping a bit more comfortable. This was really the only negative, but if you are a light sleeper as we are, it could be an issue.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

This b&b is located within walking distance from the center of Amalfi. The employees and owners are very nice. My fiancé and I visited Amalfi in the month of July, the view from the terrace is speechless! On our lat day the wander showed us the whole hotel and told us their future plans to expend!!! Amazing amazing amazing, if your visiting Amalfi you must stay here. Thank you sooooo much for such an unforgettable stay!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed at this beautiful villa for a week in the middle of September. I loved the most the atmpsphere of this place - peaceful, calm with cosy italian decorations in design. We've booked the Aurora room which has 3 big arch windows overlooking the sea through which we could enjoy the sunrise every morning. For booking it's much better to contact the hotel directly - in our specific case the prices were much lower than any booking system offers. The room is very light with nice mediteranean furniture, always very clean.The staff - very helpful and breakfast - simple and fresh.
For the beach you will just need to cross the road. Though it costs 15 euro per person it's much better than any Amalfi public ones. In September there is not much people, the sun is very tender and the sea - refreshing. I honestly think - September is the best season for Amalfi and this villa is a perfect place to spend vacation on its coast.

Room Tip: Aurora room is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Alfonsa A, Ammninistratore unico at Villa Maria Luigia, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
We are really excited about the appreciation of Mrs. Tatiana. Rewards us for all our efforts to make the best possible holiday for our guests.
Discover the essence of the place and understand the correct approach to be adopted, allows the passing of the best holiday we can.
Actually, september is an incredible month for holidays in Amalfi, sun and sea are present in abundance, with no-frenetic rhythms of the high-season.
Renew the invitation to our guests to come back again in the near future.
Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, CT
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed one nite in the villa and were totally impressed. The staff could not have been more kind and generous with their assistance. The rooms were adorable and immaculate. The beach and the pool were beyond our expectation. It is an easy walk to Amalfi so the shuttle is hardly necessary as most of the way there is a small sidewalk. And the view was spectacular. I personally want to thank the staff for making our time in Amalfi perfect.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Maria Luigia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Maria Luigia

Address: Via Mauro Comite, 48, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Maria Luigia, belonging to the Amendola family, is the result of a careful and refined renovation of an elegant villa dating back to the 900's. The villa, with its wonderful views, is situated just over than 1km from the center of Amalfi, away from the chaotic Piazza Duomo. Its position allows you to reach the historic centre quickly but offers peace and quiet when you want to relax. And it is with the same elegance, cordiality and experience and a touch of sobriety and Mediterranean modernity that "Villa Maria Luigia" is launched as the ideal destination for those wanting to stay in Divine Amalfi and to be pampered surrounded by comfort and cordiality. Admire the unique views of the Amalfi Coast and Cilentana with the giddy sensation of being suspended between the sky and the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Villa Maria Luigia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Maria Luigia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.