We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The staff is the key” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Maria Luigia

Save Saved
You added Villa Maria Luigia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Maria Luigia
Mauro Comite, 48, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #10 of 32 Amalfi B&B and Inns
Trois-Rivieres, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“The staff is the key”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

After risking my life in the amalfi coast by car (road is thin), Arrive at this small hotel. First of all, there's no parking. The city keep them for the residents. If you are lucky you can park on the road but at your own risk. So, expect 18 euros more to park in the villa. The view is amazing but you got to understand that every hotel has the pretty same view. So the difference is the staff. There were really helpful and friendly. They offer good advice about the center. Your about 20 minutes by foot to downtown. Don't go there by car. You can go by taxi or bus but its expensive so take your foot! Dont take the economic room, its very small. Attention: THERE'S NO POOL AT THIS PLACE!!! We were trick by the photos. You got to pay 10 euros and they bring you to a beautiful and relaxing pool with the sun until 7pm (because of the mountains). If you want the public beach you can take the 400 stairs or pay 16 euros to take the elevator. Sun until 4 or 5 pm. So I reccommend the pool! The breakfast is delicious. They have good pastry and they prepare good coffee. I suggest to do what i did: go to a market in napoli and buy wine, drinks and food because its very expensive in amalfi (they know that there's a lot of tourist) The room is clean the bathroom is spacious. They offer shower products. There is a mini bar. You have to go there one time in your life. I reccommend this place because it's not so expensive but be prepare to pay some extras for the pool and the parking.

Room Tip: Make some provisions before going to amalfi, don't take the economic room,
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amalfivillamaria, Ammninistratore unico at Villa Maria Luigia, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
We wish to thank our gracious guests to have enjoyed our daily effort to enable our clients to devote themselves fully to the much-desired relax of
the holiday.
Unfortunately, the problem of the parking is real in Amalfi: there are not enough parking spaces also for residents. Therefore we suggest you to book
parking at the competitive price of € 18,00 per day, given that the public car park in the center has a fare of € 5,00/hour.
Our daily clearly evident intention is to better expose to customers information about our structure, in order to make more informed them on that they choose. Let's numerous efforts to inform in detail about everything we offer to our guests;so we reiterate the notion that it is always
preferable to visit the direct website of the hotel and proceed from there to the reservation. This is because the information that we display on our
website are always the most detailed possible than any other, because we are to publish the contents; on the other -channels-, we are not
responsible for what they said, where the contents are different respect that we have communicate them. Other -channels-, often by necessity of space, do not publish all the information we provide to them, inevitably leaving out some details that are rather important information for guests.
Just about the pool, as you can read on our website, it is clearly indicated in all languages ​​which is a service agreement and payment (with
the price) reached by internal shuttle service free of charge to approximately 1km, placed on the terraces above the villa a short air
distance. The same for the beach, always in agreement and payment (€ 15.00 and € 16.00) that we offer as a service to customers at no profit margin
for us.
We emphasize that services are guaranteed only if booked directly on our site and, anyway, if requested at time of booking.
We thank our guests for having enjoyed the breakfast that -was- continetale over time, but enriched with numerous products more and more
appreciated by the international guests that visit us.
Enthusiastic for having appreciated the effort of our staff, we hope to have you back with us again at Villa Maria Luigia in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    102
    41
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
26
100
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chandigarh, Chandigarh, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

This is a beautiful property. Great view of the sea. lovely breeze. Huge rooms , especially the ones with the balcony. This is an ideal place , as Amalfi town is about a 15 minute walk, which is very good especially after you've consumed all the cheese. Great place for big groups. And yes, excellent staff. Pretty and Smiling faces. And nice breakfast. Will stay here, if ever I go to Amalfi again.

Room Tip: The one with the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsbruck
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Very nice B&B with wonderful views and just a short walk down to Amalfi!
Room was very clean and nice, breakfast nothing special - but we love to have a cappuccino and brioche at a bar somewhere anyway!
We would definitly stay there again in Amalfi.
By the way we are thinking about travelling the Amalficoast next time without a car - as its easy to go everywhere by bus or boat!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We were here last fortnight for 3 nights after having a terrible stay across the road at Al Nipha. Do make it a point to stay at Villa Maria for a great experience. Enjoyed every minute here.

Karan from New Delhi, India

Room Tip: All sea facing ones are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We came upon this hotel just by chance - having been almost forced to leave the hotel we had booked online due to the extremely rude manager there. Anyway, as soon as we stepped in, lost and bewildered,we were greeted by an extremely pleasant girl at the reception, Roberta. She offered to book us immediately in reasonably priced rooms suitable for our large extended family. From there on it was comfortable and pleasurable all the way. The clean, well-sized rooms, the breakfast on the terrace with panoramic views and the extremely helpful and cheerful staff, all contributed to making our stay in Amalfi memorable. Thank you all at Villa Maria Luigia !

Room Tip: All the rooms are quite good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

From your room' balcony you can dream of boats leaving Amalfi to conquer the world thousand years ago.
Rooms large& well decorated, nice garden & terrace ( where you take the-included- breakfast)
Excellent location to explore the peninsula & islands

Room Tip: rooms with seaview of course ( but garden/mountain view are cheaper & may be quieter ?)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jodhpur, Rajasthan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Villa Maria Luigia in August 2012 to celebrate our wedding anniversary. I had requested them at the time of booking to provide me the 'Aurora' room (with the most amazing view) and the hotel staff obliged.

The location is brilliant, the staff is extremely courteous and the location is FAB. One cannot go wrong with this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Maria Luigia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Maria Luigia

Address: Mauro Comite, 48, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Maria Luigia, belonging to the Amendola family, is the result of a careful and refined renovation of an elegant villa dating back to the 900's. The villa, with its wonderful views, is situated just over than 1km from the center of Amalfi, away from the chaotic Piazza Duomo. Its position allows you to reach the historic centre quickly but offers peace and quiet when you want to relax. And it is with the same elegance, cordiality and experience and a touch of sobriety and Mediterranean modernity that "Villa Maria Luigia" is launched as the ideal destination for those wanting to stay in Divine Amalfi and to be pampered surrounded by comfort and cordiality. Admire the unique views of the Amalfi Coast and Cilentana with the giddy sensation of being suspended between the sky and the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Villa Maria Luigia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Maria Luigia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.