We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Great Hotel !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Maria Luigia

Save Saved
You added Villa Maria Luigia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Villa Maria Luigia
Mauro Comite, 48, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
€69 (EUR)
Ranked #6 of 29 Amalfi B&B and Inns
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Great Hotel !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We came upon this hotel just by chance - having been almost forced to leave the hotel we had booked online due to the extremely rude manager there. Anyway, as soon as we stepped in, lost and bewildered,we were greeted by an extremely pleasant girl at the reception, Roberta. She offered to book us immediately in reasonably priced rooms suitable for our large extended family. From there on it was comfortable and pleasurable all the way. The clean, well-sized rooms, the breakfast on the terrace with panoramic views and the extremely helpful and cheerful staff, all contributed to making our stay in Amalfi memorable. Thank you all at Villa Maria Luigia !

Room Tip: All the rooms are quite good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    99
    41
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
24
95
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lyon, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

From your room' balcony you can dream of boats leaving Amalfi to conquer the world thousand years ago.
Rooms large& well decorated, nice garden & terrace ( where you take the-included- breakfast)
Excellent location to explore the peninsula & islands

Room Tip: rooms with seaview of course ( but garden/mountain view are cheaper & may be quieter ?)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jodhpur, Rajasthan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Villa Maria Luigia in August 2012 to celebrate our wedding anniversary. I had requested them at the time of booking to provide me the 'Aurora' room (with the most amazing view) and the hotel staff obliged.

The location is brilliant, the staff is extremely courteous and the location is FAB. One cannot go wrong with this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights. The staff is very helpful and nice. This hotel is a 20 minute walk from downtown Amalfi, if you decide to walk back to the hotel at night there are some areas that don't have any sidewalks, but the cars are usually very careful and we didn't have any problems walking to/from our hotel, also a bus stop is steps away from the hotel. We booked the sea view room which was great, the area where you sit for breakfast is fantastic, you have an amazing view of the sea. The breakfast was also good, specially if you go early in the morning. The room was clean and big. The beach was closed at the time we were there so I can't comment on that.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Although just a 20 minute walk downhill to the centre of town, this place is definitely worth what you pay. The service was fantastic, the staff worked all day and night to make every guests stay so wonderful. Our room had a side view of the ocean but was very beautiful nonetheless. Breakfast was on a stunning terrace with breathtaking views of the ocean. The room was kept very clean and was very comfortable. The only small drawback was a lack of a shuttle service back to the centre of town with luggage to catch the bus back to the train station / airport. We will return and will hopefully find a swimming pool to greet us!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkenberg, Sweden
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Our group of 10 people stayed for 6 days and the stay greatly exceeded our expectations! We were warmly welcomed by the staff and we all enjoyed our stay. Excellent service, nice and clean rooms perfectly overlooking the cost area of Amalfi. Great stay – great people.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Villa Maria Luigia was a wonderful stay. The views opening up to the Mediterranean Sea cannot be done justice with words-- the hosts were hospitable and the breakfast was great! Have coffee american style or a macchiato.

However my one qualm is that its on a relatively busy street, where you can hear the motor bikes zoom by and the Sita bus will honk as it rounds the corner. It is perfect if you are a sound sleeper because the walls are relatively thin as well, but if you need silence sleeping, this is not for you. It is a good 15-20 minute walk along roads that sometimes have no sidewalks (and they drive FAST in italy), but if the weather isn't too hot it is a wonderful walk. A bus from town to the hotel is 2.50 euro and you can usually buy tickets at small shops. The cab from center of town is 15 euro, or apparently 20 on Sundays due to the 'lift' they give, but not sure if we were scammed or if that is standard.

Overall enjoyed my stay and loved my visit to Amalfi! Thank you Villa Maria for introducing me to all the beauty Italy has to offer.

Room Tip: Ask for the balcony rooms, and there is no access to the beach but may be able to ask hosts on how t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Maria Luigia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Maria Luigia

Address: Mauro Comite, 48, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Maria Luigia, belonging to the Amendola family, is the result of a careful and refined renovation of an elegant villa dating back to the 900's. The villa, with its wonderful views, is situated just over than 1km from the center of Amalfi, away from the chaotic Piazza Duomo. Its position allows you to reach the historic centre quickly but offers peace and quiet when you want to relax. And it is with the same elegance, cordiality and experience and a touch of sobriety and Mediterranean modernity that "Villa Maria Luigia" is launched as the ideal destination for those wanting to stay in Divine Amalfi and to be pampered surrounded by comfort and cordiality. Admire the unique views of the Amalfi Coast and Cilentana with the giddy sensation of being suspended between the sky and the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Venere, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo and Travelocity so you can book your Villa Maria Luigia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Maria Luigia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.