We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money in a beautiful setting!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Maria Luigia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Maria Luigia to your Saves list
Villa Maria Luigia
Via Mauro Comite, 48, 84011 , Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
€59 (EUR)
Ranked #14 of 36 Amalfi B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Excellent value for money in a beautiful setting!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Although just a 20 minute walk downhill to the centre of town, this place is definitely worth what you pay. The service was fantastic, the staff worked all day and night to make every guests stay so wonderful. Our room had a side view of the ocean but was very beautiful nonetheless. Breakfast was on a stunning terrace with breathtaking views of the ocean. The room was kept very clean and was very comfortable. The only small drawback was a lack of a shuttle service back to the centre of town with luggage to catch the bus back to the train station / airport. We will return and will hopefully find a swimming pool to greet us!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelRoxT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Falkenberg, Sweden
Level Contributor
94 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Our group of 10 people stayed for 6 days and the stay greatly exceeded our expectations! We were warmly welcomed by the staff and we all enjoyed our stay. Excellent service, nice and clean rooms perfectly overlooking the cost area of Amalfi. Great stay – great people.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cenneth U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Villa Maria Luigia was a wonderful stay. The views opening up to the Mediterranean Sea cannot be done justice with words-- the hosts were hospitable and the breakfast was great! Have coffee american style or a macchiato.

However my one qualm is that its on a relatively busy street, where you can hear the motor bikes zoom by and the Sita bus will honk as it rounds the corner. It is perfect if you are a sound sleeper because the walls are relatively thin as well, but if you need silence sleeping, this is not for you. It is a good 15-20 minute walk along roads that sometimes have no sidewalks (and they drive FAST in italy), but if the weather isn't too hot it is a wonderful walk. A bus from town to the hotel is 2.50 euro and you can usually buy tickets at small shops. The cab from center of town is 15 euro, or apparently 20 on Sundays due to the 'lift' they give, but not sure if we were scammed or if that is standard.

Overall enjoyed my stay and loved my visit to Amalfi! Thank you Villa Maria for introducing me to all the beauty Italy has to offer.

Room Tip: Ask for the balcony rooms, and there is no access to the beach but may be able to ask hosts on how t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingbug95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Anse, Saint George, Grenada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

My girlfriend and I spent 2 nights at the Villa Maria Luigia. We originally found the place via TripAdvisor and like most things from the site it greatly exceeded our expectations!

We were warmly welcomed by the staff who were extremely flexible and patient with us. We had seen the some of the pictures of the ocean view rooms online and had requested one when we originally booked our stay. Without complication, we were given a great room, that was very clean, free Wifi, and most importantly had an amazing view.

The hotel provides a wonderful breakfast each morning including a great selection of tea (for her) and an amazing cappuccino (for me). This breakfast was a huge deal being that it was delicious and saved us a ton of money, by not having to go into town for a 5 Euro cup of coffee.

One of the best things about the Villa Maria Luigia is you do not have to drive! It is a 10 minute walk to Amalfi were you can get the Sita (city bus) or a water taxi to any of the neighboring cities. If you haven't had the experience of driving along the coastline from city to city it is needless to say a nerve-racking experience. Having a hotel so close to one of the hub coastal cities was very much appreciated.

Really the only quasi-negative thing that I could say about this place is that there are very few restaurants within a 5 minute walk. There are very close neighboring hotel restaurants but when your on a budget and want to go were locals go, there are limited options. Also, walk back up the hill from Amalfi, though by no means is it far, is not something you want to do at 10 pm when your tired and hungry. We did find a little bar about 5 minutes away that actually served a pretty good pizza, and since we went on a saturday night, got to enjoy some pretty good local people watching as well.

All in all this was truly a great experience. I know that we plan on returning to the Villa Maria Lugia in the near future.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We spent 3 days at Villa Maria Luigia with a group of Italian friends and was our first time on the Costiera.
I have to say the location is perfect; just 1 km from Amalfi, with stunning sea views, a private garage for the cars and direct access to the beach through an elevator. The price per value of the vacation was excellent even though garage, elevator to the beach and beach space are services that have to be booked in advance and payed separately.
We did not book the garage, nor the elevator to the beach, nor the beach space because we had no clue of what our plans for the weekend were going to be and no idea of how crowded the beaches get on weekends, therefore once we realized that without these services it would have been a nightmare we asked the manager to book them for us on daily basis. Now here came the problem because the B&B does not have reserved slots for the elevator nor for the beach therefore even though the efforts of the management were incredible we did not manage to get to the beach on sunday; friday and saturday were fine.
It was our sole responsibility to book in advance and I do not feel that the hotel had any fault in how they took care of us and partially solved the issue but I suggest to all customers to get a booking for the elevator and the beach (not expensive at all) and if coming with the car you'd better book the garage as well.
If a suggestment to the management of the hotel can be given I would have preferred a higher price of the beach service but certainty of getting there. We spent only 15€ per person for the elevator and beach umbrella ecc when we would have easily payed twice as much but with the certainty of having a place on sunday as well.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Riccardo976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
b767heavy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 3 days for our 20th anniversary. The place was fantastic. The Aurora room had a world class view! The staff was extremely helplful. One hint leave your car parked at the B&B and take the local bus to Amalfi and Ravello, parking in town is at a premium.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank b767heavy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Our time at this hotel was wonderful with a not so good ending. A few days before arrival we emailed the hotel asking about the most economical way to get from the Salerno train station to the hotel, my boyfriend and I are both juniors in college traveling around Europe for the first time. We let them know we would be in late, they told us their would be a bus waiting from the train station to go into Amalfi and once there, to take the Positano bus up the hill. They also offered their transportation of 90 euro one way (20-25 euro more than a taxi,) when neighboring hotels offer this as an amenity.
Once we arrived, there was no bus. We missed the last bus by thirty minutes, we werent told about the time in which it stops running. We called the hotel after 30 minutes of asking where the bus was, the receptionist said "taxi." That was our only option, so instead of the 3.00 bus ride, we had to spend 80 euro to get to our hotel, which we didnt get to until 2 hours later. We checked in around 11:30.
The hotel is gorgeous and the staff are very friendly and waiting to accommodate your every need. The maid service is wonderful in the breakfast is simple, but good. The beach stairs is a 30 second walk and 450 stairs down, is a beautiful ocean. We enjoyed our stay at this hotel very much and it was really beautiful.
However, the night before we were leaving, we asked to talk to someone about the wrong information being given to us, we requested a 50 euro credit off our first night stay, a 112 euro cost for such an expensive, unplanned expense, and such a late check in (we were the only guests in the hotel.) They had a difficult time understanding what we were saying, and I still dont think they understood totally. The contacted "management" and they said it was "impossible," "your problem not ours."
We asked for the number, and they didnt give it to us. They didnt understand why we didnt make it a big deal our first night, at 11:30 in the evening, we told them we didnt want to make it a big deal, and it was late. We never got the number, or any other offer of accommodation.
This is a wonderful hotel, if you dont have any issues, however I have never stayed in a hotel that is more concerned about their money than guest satisfaction. I think this incident reflects on their "management," as being unhelpful, or not really caring about guest concerns. We weren't able to take a boat ride to Capri like we had planned because of this expense. The front desk staff was very nice and did try to help us out.

Room Tip: paying for a "sea view" room, doesnt include a balcony, its a side room with a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amalfivillamaria, Amministratore unico at Villa Maria Luigia, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
We are sorry for the incident,because we see revealed the sincere appreciation for the stay.
We want to mentioning some aspects of the episodes to make the situation more clear.
Customers were scheduled to arrive in Salerno at 21:00; it's not our fault they missed the last bus to Amalfi at 21:30, having arrived late.
There aren't hotels that offer free shuttle service from Salerno: they are 25km, and the run take abot 1 hour (one way). The cost is always approximately 80-100 euro, as well as for taxi service.
With regard to the discount demanded by gentlemen guests, we want to say that:
- even though the situation was outlined from day one, this was done only late in the evening of the day before the departure
- the tone used for the request was not friendly at all
The discount it was no asked, but they claim the discont.
In addition, there was feared the risk of being left a bad review (as if it were the weapon of mass destruction!).
You can't pretend what should be asked as a courtesy.
In addition, you can't have contact with the manager in the late evening; not having exposed their problem, in this case, played against them. If the request was made on the first day, for sure they could converse with anyone they wanted.
Our loyal customers who continuously return, do not lose the opportunity to express their appreciation for what we do, which often goes far beyond our tasks.
Basically, reading their appreciation, much less we understand the reason because on lose in banalities; would have been sufficient, on their arrival, they immediately revealed the problem.
We would accepted their request as many others, as it has happened on other occasions.
In any case, if the gentlemen guests would return to visit us, we will happy to organize for them a beautiful tour traveling in our beautiful Coast.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Ninfa
Hotel La Ninfa
#17 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 568 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#9 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 477 reviews
0.3 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 stars 733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#12 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 453 reviews
0.9 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
0.9 mi away
Hotel Amalfi
Hotel Amalfi
#24 of 29 in Amalfi
4.0 of 5 stars 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Maria Luigia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Maria Luigia

Address: Via Mauro Comite, 48, 84011 , Amalfi, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Maria Luigia, belonging to the Amendola family, is the result of a careful and refined renovation of an elegant villa dating back to the 900's. The villa, with its wonderful views, is situated just over than 1km from the center of Amalfi, away from the chaotic Piazza Duomo. Its position allows you to reach the historic centre quickly but offers peace and quiet when you want to relax. And it is with the same elegance, cordiality and experience and a touch of sobriety and Mediterranean modernity that "Villa Maria Luigia" is launched as the ideal destination for those wanting to stay in Divine Amalfi and to be pampered surrounded by comfort and cordiality. Admire the unique views of the Amalfi Coast and Cilentana with the giddy sensation of being suspended between the sky and the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Venere, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Villa Maria Luigia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing