We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“villa with stunning views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Maria Luigia

Save Saved
You added Villa Maria Luigia to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Maria Luigia
Mauro Comite, 48, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #10 of 32 Amalfi B&B and Inns
Brisbane Australia
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“villa with stunning views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Booked this through Venere, and specified the room we wanted in this villa complex situated 15-20 min (walking) from Amalfi... Like all the coastal properties its perched precariously above the cliffs with incredible views Room 102 is a corner room, with views from a 2 sided balcony to die for. We enjoyed the walk (uphill on return from Amalfi) so if you dont , look elsewhere, or endeavour to work out the local bus system , which never seems to run to schedule ( like most things in Italy)
HINT = if arriving in Salerno on a Sunday ,and looking for a bus transfer to the Amalfi coast, try and pre book bus tickets , as everything closes down from 12. We ended up sharing a cab with another couple but still paying $70 per couple to get here. The bus drivers couldnt give a damn , no ticket no ride. !!
Back to the villa, there are about 15 rooms, not all with balconies like ours. Spacious bathrooms, big bedrooms, good Wi-Fi connection. Crisp linen on good beds, and overall quite modern . A good 4 star property .Air con works well; Parking on site will cost , but its available. Driving is not for the feint hearted, so be warned.
Delightful staff, for ever helpful, breakfast was included, and by Italian standards , was excellent. ( great coffee, Latte style)
We did 3 nights, lots of good restaurants down in Amalfi, the trip to Ravello was worth it , (with a 90 minute walk back down to Amalfi. Capri, on another day, dissapointing and over rated. A morning trip to Positano was fun, .
Can reccomend Villa Maria highly. We loved it.

Room Tip: room 102 was wonderful If you want to see Capri, take the regular transfer, not the tour, so you ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    102
    41
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
26
100
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
MA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

My husband & I stayed here in May to celebrate our 20th anniversary. It couldn't have been a better choice. Our room, the entire place, was spotless! Gorgeous tile throughout, very large bathroom, spacious, comfortable room. The staff was so sweet and helpful -- never "in our face", but always there to help answer a question. And QUIET! We felt as if we were in our own private villa -- never heard another guest while in our room. However, as wonderful as it all is, the views from the balcony steal the show. We could step out either our front doors (almost our entire front and side walls were floor to ceiling glass doors!), or our side, and behold the Med -- absolutely gorgeous, romantic, peaceful. Ahh, wishing we could go back tomorrow, and hopefully will at some point. If in Amalfi, you can NOT go wrong with Villa Maria Luigia.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

I will first start with the positives of this beautiful inn..
The view from the rooms are unique, the staff are very helpful, affordable price for Amalfi, very good breakfast, and extremely clean..
However, it has a few flaws..
The closest restaurant is almost 2 km away (there's no restaurant on site, it would be nice to have at least a small menu there).. Parking on the street is almost impossible, and they charge you 18 euro a day to park your car..
One thing that did disappoint us was that they "offer a private beach" on their website. Unfortunately, even though the weather was great, we were told that the beach was close..

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amalfivillamaria, Amministratore unico at Villa Maria Luigia, responded to this review, May 17, 2012
We wish to thank the gentlemen for the kind words addressed to our structure.
In a friendly manner and for a more clarity to our customers, we like to make some observations.

We are located about 1.1 km from Piazza Duomo, the heart of the town; Amalfi is very small, so in a few hundred meters are located about all restaurants.
At about 200m from the villa there is a pizzeria and a snack bar. At 500m there is a 5 stars restaurant and a 600m a 4 stars restaurant; close to it there is also a family-run trattoria.

With regard to the beach, unfortunately, is open from June 1 to September 30 of each year; alternatively there are several public beaches in the town.
Anyway, take our cue from the report, trying to explain, where possible, all that informations on our website.

For parking, we understand the confusion of those not living our reality; what is normal and easy for other cities, it is not for us that live in Amalfi. Unfortunately, avaliables places on the road, are not even enough for us residents; so we suggest our customers to use the garage . In Amalfi, the 18 euro per day required, are the cost of at max 3 or 4 hours of parking.

We take this opportunity to thank again our guests, inviting them to come back during the summer, to enjoy one of the most beautiful and quiet beaches of our territory.
Thank you again.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

This hotel was well worth our money ! ! ! The staff was friendly and very helpful. The rooms were very clean (simple but ideal) and the location was perfectly romantic. We had a beautiful view from our room, overlooking the water and at night the moonlight was breath taking. Some guests have complained about the travel uphill to get to the hotel (15 minutes roughly), but at night it makes for a gorgeous walk ! ! ! And if you don't have the energy to walk up the hill, you can catch a bus ride outside the hotel that will take you into the main sqaure. Buses come regularly and the hotel has the times posted by the fron desk. You can walk down to the tiny/gorgeous beach in minutes (take the well hidden staircase down to sea level, don't pay for the fairy that you catch from the main square.) Get to the beach early - it gets packed early. You can have breakfast on the terrace and enjoy the view. Absoluetly romantic and beautiful !

Room Tip: Pay the little extra for the room with a balcony, worth it !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Petersburg
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

Great place, stunning view! The most romantic trip I've ever had =)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011 via mobile

My wife and I carefully selected this place to celebrate our 20th anniversary. With a balcony on a cliff overlooking the Mediterranean Sea, it could not have been more romantic. The room was very quaintly appointed and spotless. Valentina and Rafaella couldn't have been nicer to us. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the hotel in September 2011. The staff is excellent - very polite and helpful - you are treated like a king). You, in fact, feel like you are staying at your own private villa. It is quiet, relatively small and cozy. Though our room was not facing the sea, it was still a great experience - clean, nice and exactly what we needed. The only downside is the breakfast, which, if they improved it and threw in some fruit and cold cuts (which they could easily do), would make for a 5+ experience.
A very nice beach is right under the hotel. However, the hotel is on the large rock (like everything in this part of Italy). So you have to go down some 600 (or 500 steps) - if you want to climb up - beware, we are relatively young and in good shape, but we had to stop 3 times to catch our breath (and we would not recommend doing it more than once a day). Your option is to use the services of a nearby hotel, which allows you to use their elevator up and down unlimited number of times for 15 euro a day per person. You can have lunch at the beach, too. And get sunbeds with umbrellas for 15 euro a day per 2 people.
There's a boat stopping by the beach every half hour - you can go to Amalfi for 2 euro instead of climbing up the stairs.
In terms of walking to Amalfi by foot from the hotel. I was really surprised to read that it is a 15 or even 10 minute walk. Again, we are in good shape, but it is a good 20-25 minute walk - and you can't have dinner in the vicinity of Villa Maria Luigia - you'll have to look for another hotel or go down to Amalfi.
Taking a public bus, which stops every hour or so, from the hotel to Amalfi is an option, but it is about 2 euro per person per trip, which adds up.
Again, if you have arrived to Amalfi by bus - and you have heavy bags - I recommend taking a cab to the hotel (15 euro), ditto - when you leave the hotel.
Having said that, it was an excellent experience due to a wonderful beach, excellent and friendly service and nice rooms.

Room Tip: If you are mobility impaired or not fit - look for a closer hotel to Amalfi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Maria Luigia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Maria Luigia

Address: Mauro Comite, 48, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Maria Luigia, belonging to the Amendola family, is the result of a careful and refined renovation of an elegant villa dating back to the 900's. The villa, with its wonderful views, is situated just over than 1km from the center of Amalfi, away from the chaotic Piazza Duomo. Its position allows you to reach the historic centre quickly but offers peace and quiet when you want to relax. And it is with the same elegance, cordiality and experience and a touch of sobriety and Mediterranean modernity that "Villa Maria Luigia" is launched as the ideal destination for those wanting to stay in Divine Amalfi and to be pampered surrounded by comfort and cordiality. Admire the unique views of the Amalfi Coast and Cilentana with the giddy sensation of being suspended between the sky and the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Villa Maria Luigia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Maria Luigia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;