We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Il Teatro

Il Teatro
E. Marini 19, Amalfi, Italy
089/872473
Improve this listing
Ranked #52 of 94 Restaurants in Amalfi
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Friendly and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Friendly staff, good menu, great wine,
Some English speaking staff.
We had a lovely meal, happy night

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    45
    15
    13
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Well worth the effort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We had the best meal at Il Teatro. The ravioli and cannellonii dishes were superb. Likewise our meat dishes, chicken and veal, were excellent. The service was friendly and for the most part very efficient. We waited for our bill for some time, but we felt this was due to the large patronage at the time, as soon as a table was cleared another group of diners were seated. Il Teatro seemed to be a popular restaurant and is well worth the effort to locate..

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Quiet & tucked away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Another family run restaurant we stumbled upon. It was welcoming and the location away from the tourist path. Lovely oven baked gnocchi and seafood risotto, lasagna amalfitana and warm octopus salad with a potato salad, a lovely inexpensive lunch. Al Teatro worth seeking out!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Very friendly, good food and good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

It is up some steps off the main shopping street. Very friendly waiter who spoke good English. The food was good and not particularly expensive. Traditional menu but well cooked. I would really recommend this place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Hard to find but worth it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stumbled upon Il Teatro about 4pm looking for lunch. It's hidden away and we were the only people there other than the family that ran it. Don't think they were officially opened yet but they took good care of us. They didn't speak much English but were very nice. I had the best pasta dish I've had my entire trip there - eggplant in marinara (or red sauce) with a hand made, thick-ish short fresh pasta strips. It was the most amazing pasta - a bit chewy and flavorful with sauce of chunks of fresh, flavorful eggplant with the red sauce. Heavenly! We both had veal scaloppini - one with lemon sauce and the other with citrus sauce (lemon and orange). Saw our server/food prep pick up an orange and used that for juice and zest. Both veal dishes were excellent and we couldn't decide which we liked better. Restaurant is relatively large and casual. Will make it a destination to return to Il Teatro when we're back in Italy. I kept searching for similar food elsewhere in Italy but didn't find anything quite as good. Prices were very good too.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Teatro also viewed

 
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Il Teatro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Teatro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.