We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The food was so fresh and flavorful.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Il Tari

Il Tari
P. Capuano, Amalfi, Italy
089/871832
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 94 Restaurants in Amalfi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Lincoln, R.I.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The food was so fresh and flavorful.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

This was our first trip to Amalfi and we took a chance with this restaurant and it really was very good. During the dinner a roaming singing group and entertained us all with their fine singing. It was a memorable evening.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    182
    57
    25
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great seafood in Amalfi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

An excellent restaurant - well appointed, efficient service and great food. We had a very tasty and imaginative mixed seafood antipasti, mains of baked bluefin with eggplant cheese and tomato, and charcoal grilled squid, and a ricotta and pear cake - excellent. All very well done with thought and skill. A very nice suggestion for a small bottle of wine, all for a very reasonable price. A must do in Amalfi.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normandie
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We ended in this restaurant because the one we had choosen was closed on monday ! We has a nice meal, with fresh fish and seashells. We had a very funny conversation with the waiter who told us about the race hapening in Amalfi, a Regatta of the Ancient Maritime Republics !

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great food. Great value ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

One if the best priced restaurants we visited in Amalfi. Every plate was delicious including dessert. Definitely worth a visit!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waltham
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“What a little gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

This place is a little bit further up the main drag in Amalfi, and looks cute but can easily be passed by, but we are very glad we found it and decided to drop in for an excellent lunch. The menu is extensive but thoughtful and indicates quality. The buffalo mozzarella was the top 2 we had over 10 days throughout Italy. Best soup we had on our trip. Excellent pasta dishes. Very courteous service. Nice wine, at great prices. Walk past all the places lower down and head up to Il Tari for an authentic meal with welcoming service!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Tari also viewed

Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Il Tari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Tari, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.